Bitcoin Forum
March 19, 2024, 10:32:01 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 [154] 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805147 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1011

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 06:58:58 PM
 #3061

Sadly, that always happens to me. Haven't debugged but worked around it. Open configure.ac, remove the pkg_config check for libcurl, open Makefile.am, and replace @LIBCURL_FLAGS@ or whatever the keyword is with direct paths to the library directory where libcurl.a resides and add -lcurl then.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1710844321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710844321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1710844321
Reply with quote  #2

1710844321
Report to moderator
1710844321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710844321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1710844321
Reply with quote  #2

1710844321
Report to moderator
Queelis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 08:05:31 PM
 #3062

Avast fail: it report cgminer as a virus. And i don't find a way to tell it to ignore it. Avast double fail.

Code:
Real-time Shields -> File System Shield -> Expert Settings -> Exclusions
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 08:19:41 PM
 #3063

Problem with Fan < 400 RPM

I've noticed on a 5870 with Accelero Cooler that as soon as it drops under 400 RPM cgminer shows really funny values:

http://www.imagebanana.com/view/52o8lhqs/Bildschirmfoto20120121um16.56.18.png

Its probably just a cosmetic issue as it keeps running, as soon as the fan goes over 400 RPM everything is ok again.

I had this happen quite some time ago with some Gigabyte 6870 non-reference boards.  The PCB had 3 fans and the fan controller did some sort of averaging between the fans to send the fan speed to the driver.  If one of the fans stalled (I had a cable sitting in it once) or if one of the fans spun at a much slower speed, the card would report an insane value for the fan speed.  It's not a fault of CGMiner, it's what the ATI API is reporting back for the speed of the fan.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 916
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 08:20:21 PM
 #3064

Sadly, that always happens to me. Haven't debugged but worked around it. Open configure.ac, remove the pkg_config check for libcurl, open Makefile.am, and replace @LIBCURL_FLAGS@ or whatever the keyword is with direct paths to the library directory where libcurl.a resides and add -lcurl then.

OK, gotcha.  I actually found after fooling around some that if you comment the lines thus:

#PKG_CHECK_MODULES([LIBCURL], [libcurl >= 7.15.6], [AC_DEFINE([CURL_HAS_SOCKOPT], [1], [Defined if version of curl supports sockopts.])],
#[PKG_CHECK_MODULES([LIBCURL], [libcurl >= 7.10.1], ,[AC_MSG_ERROR([Missing required libcurl dev >= 7.10.1])])])
#AC_SUBST(LIBCURL_LIBS)

and add the line:

LIBCURL_LIBS=-lcurl

you don't have to change Makefile.am

Of course now it's bitching about include files in the Platform SDK.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1008


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 08:56:53 PM
 #3065

Avast fail: it report cgminer as a virus. And i don't find a way to tell it to ignore it. Avast double fail.

Code:
Real-time Shields -> File System Shield -> Expert Settings -> Exclusions
Thank you!
I was looking for that but i didn't know where to find it... cause there was nothing in Settings.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4438
Merit: 1794


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 10:25:23 PM
 #3066

Sadly, that always happens to me. Haven't debugged but worked around it. Open configure.ac, remove the pkg_config check for libcurl, open Makefile.am, and replace @LIBCURL_FLAGS@ or whatever the keyword is with direct paths to the library directory where libcurl.a resides and add -lcurl then.

OK, gotcha.  I actually found after fooling around some that if you comment the lines thus:

#PKG_CHECK_MODULES([LIBCURL], [libcurl >= 7.15.6], [AC_DEFINE([CURL_HAS_SOCKOPT], [1], [Defined if version of curl supports sockopts.])],
#[PKG_CHECK_MODULES([LIBCURL], [libcurl >= 7.10.1], ,[AC_MSG_ERROR([Missing required libcurl dev >= 7.10.1])])])
#AC_SUBST(LIBCURL_LIBS)

and add the line:

LIBCURL_LIBS=-lcurl

you don't have to change Makefile.am

Of course now it's bitching about include files in the Platform SDK.
I spent MANY hours to get my api.c additions to compile under mingw32 (in a linux VirtualBox VM) - a lot of the time was spent messing with configure.ac and the generated Makefile
I can't even tell you exactly what I had to do to fix it coz I just kept hacking at the configure and Makefile until it worked.
Then, oddly, it worked fine so I kept that configure.ac file and have done the same change to it every time needed.
Running a diff now it looks like the ONLY thing I did was comment out the first two lines you listed (not the 3rd) and all was OK after that.
Hard to tell if there was anything special in the Makefile, but Makefile's aren't that difficult to mess with, whereas I knew very little about a configure.ac when I started down the path to hell known as mingw32

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 10:43:08 PM
 #3067

When everything is installed properly, you shouldn't need to be hacking configure or makefile scripts for it to build on mingw32. On the other hand, I never build it from git or autoreconf. I always grab a tarball (make dist-bzip2) and use that to build the windows version from.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 916
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 10:49:43 PM
 #3068

When everything is installed properly, you shouldn't need to be hacking configure or makefile scripts for it to build on mingw32. On the other hand, I never build it from git or autoreconf. I always grab a tarball (make dist-bzip2) and use that to build the windows version from.

So when you build for Windows do you build under Linux or Windows?

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 10:58:36 PM
 #3069

So when you build for Windows do you build under Linux or Windows?
In a windows virtual machine running XP.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tynt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 11:13:29 PM
 #3070

Hashrate of all my cards (5830, 5870, 5970, 6870) and rigs are exacly 10% slower after version 2.0.8. So, is the hashrate really lower or hashrate calculation has been fixed?

5830 mining for life
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 11:22:13 PM
 #3071

Hashrate of all my cards (5830, 5870, 5970, 6870) and rigs are exacly 10% slower after version 2.0.8. So, is the hashrate really lower or hashrate calculation has been fixed?
Cgminer's hashrate is unchanged. You upgraded your drivers. It is sheer coincidence. See all the discussions about SDK 2.6...

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 916
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 11:24:39 PM
 #3072

So when you build for Windows do you build under Linux or Windows?
In a windows virtual machine running XP.

Do I have to add anything for the build to find the Windows Platform SDK?

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2012, 12:33:59 AM
 #3073

No doubt building on windows is nothing short of a pain. I can't even remember any more what I had to install manually but I'm pretty sure what's listed in the README covers all the essentials. Both binaries and dev libraries need to be installed and I had to manually shift some header files into the include directory to get everything recognised. I think installing pkg-config was the most troublesome, but even that I'm not sure of any more since I just kept randomly installing shit till the mother worked.

In short, windows is very much the 2nd class citizen for cgminer. The fact I can provide binaries for it at all is a miracle and I'd rather do without it myself.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 916
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 01:44:51 AM
 #3074

No doubt building on windows is nothing short of a pain. I can't even remember any more what I had to install manually but I'm pretty sure what's listed in the README covers all the essentials. Both binaries and dev libraries need to be installed and I had to manually shift some header files into the include directory to get everything recognised. I think installing pkg-config was the most troublesome, but even that I'm not sure of any more since I just kept randomly installing shit till the mother worked.

In short, windows is very much the 2nd class citizen for cgminer. The fact I can provide binaries for it at all is a miracle and I'd rather do without it myself.

Having done this sort of drudgery in the past I appreciate what you went through to get it working in Windows.  It shows true devotion to your project.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2012, 01:49:15 AM
 #3075

Having done this sort of drudgery in the past I appreciate what you went through to get it working in Windows.  It shows true devotion to your project.
Not at all the response I was expecting, thanks!

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4438
Merit: 1794


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:04:06 AM
 #3076




But yeah - state exactly what you want with those 2 commands and once the CPU changes happen I'll put those 2 on first priority (for 5 BTC Smiley


I would like to add V to the list.  the more i read about undervolting, the more I want to try it.  especially with summer approaching.
Also, since reconfiguring a bunch of rigs will be easy to do from this interface, would be nice to be able to write the config to a file.


Kano,  I am willing to up the anti to get this stuff in....  10btc? anyone else willing to contribute?



1. ability to switch pools (i think setting a pools priority to 0 would work?)
2.  setting the following, for gpus's:
  • "intensity" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-engine" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-vddc" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-memclock" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-fan":      "newValue",  ex(50-85)
3. ability to write current config to text file:   {command writeConfig,  param filename) (please fix the volt config bug)



I think Kano main objection to modification now is the code base will be changed significantly when cpu mining is removed.  He would rather wait until cpu mining is complete, finalized, and then work off that version for more PRC enhancements.

Thanks DAT.

while making the webmonitor. I cannot report what the pool strategy is from the rpc request. can we add the pool strategy? here is a sample of a pool get that is currently in load balance mode.:

...
This is all now in ckolivas' git (and in the README)
It will be part of cgminer 2.2.0 when it's ready or you can get it from the git directly as usual
I updated the API version to "1.0"

A few differences in names (see the README) ... also of course you need to specify the GPU number for GPU commands ... and one difference in functionality for gpufan: just a single value.
If you want 'fan' to also work like some of the cgminer options, then specify what you want using the cgminer option names
(I've made it like the screen interface but can change it of course)

While I also think the new "switchpool", "config", "gpuintensity" and "save" are useful, I will say, however, that changing the GPU/fan values doesn't really make a lot of sense.
If you have auto-fan and auto-gpu on, then changing them wont work very well (cgminer will change them back soon enough)
Also if you have an external program looking after them, same issue.
If you don't have auto-fan and auto-gpu on (or something checking them) then you better make sure your API program pays good attention to the settings and adjusts them well.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 06:27:26 PM
 #3077

Yaaaaaaaaaaay! i blew a fan totally by my own fault of using cgminers "rapingly powerful fan control"
Time for me to not use that!, xD had my fan running at 100% for three days without knowing it xD Now it turns at 1/5th the RPM.

Lol, Never believed it before, BUT FANS ARE NOT MEANT TO RUN AT 100%!!!!

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
January 22, 2012, 06:37:18 PM
 #3078

Why do people keep torturing themselves with windows? Just use plain old debian and save yourself tons of time and headaches.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 07:47:16 PM
 #3079




But yeah - state exactly what you want with those 2 commands and once the CPU changes happen I'll put those 2 on first priority (for 5 BTC Smiley


I would like to add V to the list.  the more i read about undervolting, the more I want to try it.  especially with summer approaching.
Also, since reconfiguring a bunch of rigs will be easy to do from this interface, would be nice to be able to write the config to a file.


Kano,  I am willing to up the anti to get this stuff in....  10btc? anyone else willing to contribute?



1. ability to switch pools (i think setting a pools priority to 0 would work?)
2.  setting the following, for gpus's:
  • "intensity" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-engine" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-vddc" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-memclock" : "newValue",
  • "gpu-fan":      "newValue",  ex(50-85)
3. ability to write current config to text file:   {command writeConfig,  param filename) (please fix the volt config bug)



I think Kano main objection to modification now is the code base will be changed significantly when cpu mining is removed.  He would rather wait until cpu mining is complete, finalized, and then work off that version for more PRC enhancements.

Thanks DAT.

while making the webmonitor. I cannot report what the pool strategy is from the rpc request. can we add the pool strategy? here is a sample of a pool get that is currently in load balance mode.:

...
This is all now in ckolivas' git (and in the README)
It will be part of cgminer 2.2.0 when it's ready or you can get it from the git directly as usual
I updated the API version to "1.0"

A few differences in names (see the README) ... also of course you need to specify the GPU number for GPU commands ... and one difference in functionality for gpufan: just a single value.
If you want 'fan' to also work like some of the cgminer options, then specify what you want using the cgminer option names
(I've made it like the screen interface but can change it of course)

While I also think the new "switchpool", "config", "gpuintensity" and "save" are useful, I will say, however, that changing the GPU/fan values doesn't really make a lot of sense.
If you have auto-fan and auto-gpu on, then changing them wont work very well (cgminer will change them back soon enough)
Also if you have an external program looking after them, same issue.
If you don't have auto-fan and auto-gpu on (or something checking them) then you better make sure your API program pays good attention to the settings and adjusts them well.

Kano,
  Thank you very much. will be sending five btc's your way.
glanced at the readme.  my only comment at this point is when switching pools, setting a pools priority to 0 will 'switch pools' only when the strategy is failover, yes?  or is it possible to change the strategy?

JIm

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:15:41 PM
 #3080

Why do people keep torturing themselves with windows? Just use plain old debian and save yourself tons of time and headaches.

Because on some cards you can not down clock the memory far enough on Linux (6970). On Windows my rigs that have 6970's, the mem can be down clocked to 300, on Linux they cannot!

When Cgminer finds an exploit in the AMD's driver that will allow for lower mem clock on all my rigs  then they all will run Linux. MSI Afterburner on Windows uses an exploit and it works. The exploit I am talking about was left open in the windows driver for backward compatibility for one of ATI/AMD's OC utilities. There is no exploit/hole in the Linux driver. If you want everyone on Linux then start bugging AMD to allow for settings below and over bios limits for all their drivers.

This Linux is way better than Windows diatribe is getting really old. I use both Linux and Windows as do many people that use Cgminer. We also donate.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
Pages: « 1 ... 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 [154] 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!