Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 03:58:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 [162] 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815975 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 02:46:13 PM
 #3221

I'm not using cgminer with any nvidia cards, but if it is supposed to support them, you might want to do this in your next update:
I have not tested Ufasoft or cgminer, but there's no problem with Phoenix.
(using Nvidia driver 285.62 with Win 7 64Bit)

Edit: Ufasoft 64Bit doesn't see the graphics card, 32Bit is working fine.
Fixed, please redownload Windows binary.

Really it seems a bug in CUDA. by some reason x64 CUDA incorrectly interprets following construct:
Code:
__constant uint L = 0x98c7e2a2;
Replaced to :
Code:
__constant uint L[1] = { 0x98c7e2a2 };
And it works now!
Note that a few pots up someone points out that that nvidia driver version breaks it in cgminer as well, implying that it is supposed to support them, and I don't know if this is Win only or not.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 07:27:33 PM
 #3222

 It's possible to set additional phatk2 commands like PLATFORM=1 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=12 FASTLOOP=False, etc? I lose performance without them , with Phoenix I've 223 mhash/s, with cgminer - 216 mhash/s.

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 07:31:07 PM
 #3223

Of course it is.
Add those to your config file:
Code:
"intensity" : "9,9,8,9",
"vectors" : "2",
"worksize" : "64",
Intensity is the same as Aggression in phoenix nomanclature. With cgminer you are use a per-card value as shown in the example code. Don't use values hight than 9 unless using a 7970 card.
You don't need to specify BFI_INT, it's on by default.

Also, RTFM - that info is in the readme file and in the very first post of this thread.
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 07:59:57 PM
 #3224

Of course it is.
Add those to your config file:
Code:
"intensity" : "9,9,8,9",
"vectors" : "2",
"worksize" : "64",
Intensity is the same as Aggression in phoenix nomanclature. With cgminer you are use a per-card value as shown in the example code. Don't use values hight than 9 unless using a 7970 card.
You don't need to specify BFI_INT, it's on by default.

Also, RTFM - that info is in the readme file and in the very first post of this thread.
Thanks, but how to change platform? I need 2.1 instead of 2.5 sdk (getting cpu bug with 2.5). 2.5 installed as platform=0 (used by cgminer by default), 2.1 at 1.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 09:31:57 PM
 #3225

Of course it is.
Add those to your config file:
Code:
"intensity" : "9,9,8,9",
"vectors" : "2",
"worksize" : "64",
Intensity is the same as Aggression in phoenix nomanclature. With cgminer you are use a per-card value as shown in the example code. Don't use values hight than 9 unless using a 7970 card.
You don't need to specify BFI_INT, it's on by default.

Also, RTFM - that info is in the readme file and in the very first post of this thread.
Thanks, but how to change platform? I need 2.1 instead of 2.5 sdk (getting cpu bug with 2.5). 2.5 installed as platform=0 (used by cgminer by default), 2.1 at 1.

I don't think you can.  Simple solution it to removed 2.5 SDK. Wink
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 09:36:54 PM
 #3226

No need to remove anything.
Just copy the 2.1 SDK libraries into cgminer's directory and you're done!
You need the following files:
Code:
amdocl.dll
amdoclcl.dll
OpenCL.dll

A reboot might be necessary if Windows doesn't want to unload the previously-used 2.5  SDK libraries from memory.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 09:38:33 PM
 #3227

Nice workaround but give how crappy 2.5 is I see no reason to keep it.  Likely time will go by user forgets, installs new copy of cgminer (or different miner) and doesn't realize it is now  re-using the worthless 2.5.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2012, 11:03:42 PM
 #3228

I'm not using cgminer with any nvidia cards, but if it is supposed to support them, you might want to do this in your next update:
I have not tested Ufasoft or cgminer, but there's no problem with Phoenix.
(using Nvidia driver 285.62 with Win 7 64Bit)

Edit: Ufasoft 64Bit doesn't see the graphics card, 32Bit is working fine.
Fixed, please redownload Windows binary.

Really it seems a bug in CUDA. by some reason x64 CUDA incorrectly interprets following construct:
Code:
__constant uint L = 0x98c7e2a2;
Replaced to :
Code:
__constant uint L[1] = { 0x98c7e2a2 };
And it works now!
Note that a few pots up someone points out that that nvidia driver version breaks it in cgminer as well, implying that it is supposed to support them, and I don't know if this is Win only or not.
Hmm thanks for the link, but that doesn't even appear in my code anywhere. Presumably that's ufa they're talking about. Meanwhile cgminer mines fine on my nvidia laptop so  Huh

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 11:18:45 PM
 #3229

Nice workaround but give how crappy 2.5 is I see no reason to keep it...
Dependency hell, DAT.
2.6 is extremely crappy but necessary for running 7xxx cards.
2.5 and 2.4 are less crappy and required for 69xx cards.
2.1 is the best SDK version unless you limnit yourself to VLIW5 architecture cards.

What miners should really do is organize their GPUs in groups by required SDK version.
Mixing VLIW4 and VLIW5 cards is a waste of hash rate, adding GCN to the bunch - a criminal waste Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2012, 11:19:31 PM
 #3230

The reorder branch has now been merged into the master git branch. Putting the finishing touches on the code, readme etc. to release the new version today.

WARNING
This means that the ordering of your cards will almost certainly change from here on with cgminer into the "correct" order based on physical bus ID location so if you have different settings for different GPUs, you will need to update all your configuration files accordingly.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 11:24:11 PM
 #3231

Acknowledged and thank you. Testing latest git version right now.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 02:20:47 AM
 #3232

Nice workaround but give how crappy 2.5 is I see no reason to keep it...
Dependency hell, DAT.
2.6 is extremely crappy but necessary for running 7xxx cards.
2.5 and 2.4 are less crappy and required for 69xx cards.
2.1 is the best SDK version unless you limnit yourself to VLIW5 architecture cards.

What miners should really do is organize their GPUs in groups by required SDK version.
Mixing VLIW4 and VLIW5 cards is a waste of hash rate, adding GCN to the bunch - a criminal waste Smiley
Um ... ?

2.4 for 69xx cards - where's it "crappy"?

(unless of course you mean the entire ATI 'crappy' - well you can't avoid that no matter what you do coz every version is from them)

How is 2.1 better than 2.4? (I have no idea myself - that's just an extra question thrown in that would be worth answering since you said it)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 02:23:31 AM
 #3233

How is 2.1 better than 2.4?

2.1 seems to be the "common wisdom" as best SDK for 5000 series but I don't see any difference between 2.4 and 2.1 w/ my 5970s.  

Actually the rig w/ 2.4 produced 0.7% more shares over last week but that likely is just variance.  Lets call it a tie.

Now 2.5 2.6 is garbage.  Super garbage.  If you have a 7000 series rig it should only have 7000 series because you need the crap 2.5 2.6.

I think what sometimes confuses people is driver is bundled w/ an SDK version.  So for example some of the drivers which were bundled w/ SDK after 2.1 had 100% CPU bug.  It had nothing to do w/ the SDK but that whole release gets dragged down.

Still AMD does need to work on their drivers & SDKs  
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 02:31:30 AM
 #3234

How is 2.1 better than 2.4?

2.1 seems to be the "common wisdom" as best SDK for 5000 series but I don't see any difference between 2.4 and 2.1 w/ my 5970s. 

Actually the rig w/ 2.4 produced 0.7% more shares over last week but that likely is just variance.  Lets call it a tie.

Now 2.5 is garbage.  Super garbage.  If you have a 7000 series rig it should only have 7000 series because you need the crap 2.5. 
I assume you mean 2.6 is garbage. 2.5 worked identically to 2.4 in my experience.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 02:32:34 AM
 #3235

Acknowledged and thank you. Testing latest git version right now.
Apologies, this order change did not benefit linux which usually showed the correct order, it only swapped the order around, so I'll be disabling it from linux and only using it on windows.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 02:45:56 AM
 #3236

I assume you mean 2.6 is garbage. 2.5 worked identically to 2.4 in my experience.

Yes.  Embarrassed

DOH.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 03:04:30 AM
 #3237

Anyone who's ever coded crossplatform will have to laugh at this, so I just had to share it.

Code:
+#ifdef WIN32
                        if (adapters[j].iBusNumber < adapters[i].iBusNumber)
+#else
+                       if (adapters[j].iBusNumber > adapters[i].iBusNumber)
+#endif

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 03:21:35 AM
 #3238

New release: Version 2.2.0

NOTE: GPU Device order may change with this release with ATI GPUs as cgminer
now can enumerate them according to their Bus ID which means the values should
now correlate with their physical position on the motherboard.


Links in top post as always.

Given the number of changes in this version, I have a human readable summary of user-visible changes first. CPU mining binaries will no longer be distributed by myself:

New features:
Bitforce FPGA support
Net Delay option to not overload slow routers
Socks proxy support.
More RPC API interfaces
Preliminary GCN support
Linking of fan speed and control on dual GPU cards.

Changes:
Reordering of devices where possible to match PCI order.
Intensity support up to 14
Better damping of fanspeed with auto-fan
GPU temperature of 2nd GPU in dual GPU  cards affects fanspeed
CPU mining being deprecated and off by default
Parsing of configuration files copes much better with problems
Less false positives for network delays.

Bugfixes:
Much less likely to fail to build binaries on first startup. (completely fixed?)
Fixed potential for false positive of a dead pool.

New bugs:
Unknown  Roll Eyes

Full changelog:
- Default to poclbm kernel on Tahiti (7970) since phatk does not work, even
though performance is sub-standard so that at least it will mine successfully by
defau
- Retain cl program after every possible place we might build the program.
- Update ADL SDK URL.
- Fix potential overflow.
- Map GPU devices to virtual devices in their true physical order based on
BusNumber.
- Change the warning that comes with failure to init cl on a device to be more
generic and accurate.
- Advertise longpoll support in X-Mining-Extensions
- Detect dual GPU cards by iterating through all GPUs, finding ones without
fanspeed and matching twins with fanspeed one bus ID apart.
- Do not attempt to build the program that becomes the kernel twice. This could
have been leading to failures on initialising cl.
- Some opencl compilers have issues with no spaces after -D in the compiler
options.
- Allow intensity up to 14.
- Use calloced stack memory for CompilerOptions to ensure sprintf writes to the
beginning of the char.
- Whitelist 79x0 cards to prefer no vectors as they perform better without.
- Adjust fan speed gently while in the optimal range when temperature is
drifting to minimise overshoot in either direction.
- Detect dual GPU cards via the indirect information of - 1st card has a fan
controller. 2nd card does not have a fan controller, cards share the same device
name
- Instead of using the BFI_INT patching hack on any device reporting
cl_amd_media_ops, create a whitelist of devices that need it. This should enable
GCN architec
- Fixed API compiling issue on OS X
- Add more explanation of JSON format and the 'save' command
- Return an error if using ADL API commands when it's not available
- Read off lpThermalControllerInfo from each ADL device.
- Add ADL_Overdrive5_ThermalDevices_Enum interface.
- Add API commands: config, switchpool, gpu settings, save
- Implement socks4 proxy support.
- Fix send() for JSON strings
- Introduce a --net-delay option which guarantees at least 250ms between any
networking requests to not overload slow routers.
- Generalise locking init code.
- Allow invalid values to be in the configuration file, just skipping over them
provided the rest of the file is valid JSON. This will allow older configurat
- Allow CPU mining explicitly enable only if other mining support is built in.
- BitForce FPGA support
- Configure out building and support of all CPU mining code unless
--enable-cpumining is enabled.
- Allow parsed values to be zero which will allow 0 values in the config file to
work.
- Advertise that we can make our own midstate, so the pool can skip generating
it for us
- Refactor the CPU scanhash_* functions to use a common API. Fixes bugs.
- Don't consider a pool lagging if a request has only just been filed. This
should decrease the false positives for "pool not providing work fast enough".
- Invalidating work after longpoll made hash_pop return no work giving a false
positive for dead pool. Rework hash_pop to retry while finds no staged work u
- Remove TCP_NODELAY from curl options as many small packets may be contributing
to network overload, when --net-delay is enabled.
- Refactor miner_thread to be common code for any kind of device
- Simplify submit_nonce loop and avoid potentially missing FOUND - 1 entry.
Reported by Luke-Jr.
- Micro-optimisation in sha256_sse2 code courtesy of Guido Ascioti
- Refactor to abstract device-specific code

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 03:23:51 AM
 #3239

How is 2.1 better than 2.4?

2.1 seems to be the "common wisdom" as best SDK for 5000 series but I don't see any difference between 2.4 and 2.1 w/ my 5970s. 

Actually the rig w/ 2.4 produced 0.7% more shares over last week but that likely is just variance.  Lets call it a tie.

Now 2.5 is garbage.  Super garbage.  If you have a 7000 series rig it should only have 7000 series because you need the crap 2.5. 
I assume you mean 2.6 is garbage. 2.5 worked identically to 2.4 in my experience.

awesome!

Since this topic is hot right now - let me pop this question

Which SDK is best for 5xxx and which SDK is best for 6xxx

can we get a point of reference here? Thanks!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 03:25:17 AM
 #3240

A totally monster update.  Kudos.
Donation heading your way as soon as I earn some coins. 

BTW:  BAMT + cgminer (w/ RPC) = hashing farm wonderland. Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 [162] 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!