Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:55:21 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 [289] 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825907 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 10:16:53 PM
 #5761

Try a different pool then.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=14085.0
and see if that makes a difference.
I'm liking MaxBTC a bit more right now. Lower ping for me and I just like supporting smaller pools. I am sending half of my Namecoins to Ozcoin though. Smiley

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
1481352921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481352921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481352921
Reply with quote  #2

1481352921
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481352921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481352921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481352921
Reply with quote  #2

1481352921
Report to moderator
1481352921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481352921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481352921
Reply with quote  #2

1481352921
Report to moderator
dave3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 07:30:47 AM
 #5762

Do you know how long the primary pool has to be down before cgminer will switch to the backup pool in failover-only mode?  And is there a setting somewhere to adjust it?

Thanks.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 07:42:29 AM
 #5763

Can someone please help with cgminer and 4 BFLs in windows?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=87116
Thank you Smiley

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 08:14:20 AM
 #5764

I have a pull request up to tidy this up and maybe fix your problem:
 https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/215
If you come to FreeNode IRC #cgminer I'll give you a windows executable compiled with that pull request
My IRC name is kanoi (and I'm one of the two ops in #cgminer - ckolivas (aka conman) is the other of course)
.. and we can see if it sorts it out for you Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 11:09:52 AM
 #5765

Can someone please help with cgminer and 4 BFLs in windows?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=87116
Thank you Smiley

I would verify that the BFL's are seen in device manager under ports and note what COM they are listed under.

This is what is working for me with Win7 x64, cgminer 2.4.2, (1) 5870, & (4) BFL Singles.

Code:
cgminer.exe -u worker -p pass -o site:8332 -S bitforce://./COM4 -S bitforce://./COM5 -S bitforce://./COM6 -S bitforce://./COM7 --intensity 9 --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 875 --gpu-memclock 500
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 11:13:51 AM
 #5766

Just pulled code into the cgminer git tree that adds support for the modminer FPGA.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=79637.0

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 11:20:22 AM
 #5767

BitMinerN8, that wont work for me until kanoi gave me a special patch. are you by chance using 32 bit?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 11:27:01 AM
 #5768

BitMinerN8, that wont work for me until kanoi gave me a special patch. are you by chance using 32 bit?

I am running Win 7 x64.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 11:29:14 AM
 #5769

kanoi, why does his work?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 12:34:11 PM
 #5770

kanoi, why does his work?
My guess is the problem depends on different 32bit implementations on the 64bit windows versions and the bug that I guess might be in different Windows 64bit->32bit Serial/USB code.

e.g. in Win7-64bit there is a limit of 8 USB devices when running 32 bit (XP) mode
(according to http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-windows_programs/windows-7-xp-mode-usb-limit/ff50b790-6e6e-47e4-8f48-5727896f5aeb )
xDGDZEx had the problem when he hit 7 or 8 BFL's (not 9)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=80852.0
The first problem there actually suggests it may even be opening and closing valid devices multiple times (but it also happens on invalid devices)

The only change relevant to FPGA in the versions he compared was that Icarus opened the devices first (and failed) then BFL opened the devices but ran out before it got to 8 devices.
The previous version worked where it did the BFL code first so the BFL's all opened successfully

I came to the uncertain conclusion that the problem was that the open code in windows seems to sometimes identify bitforce:\\.\COMn as a USB name and allocated some resource to it but then failed to open it (as expected) but returned an error without always releasing the resource
I was hoping for xDGDZEx to test the change but I've not seen him in IRC since I last PM'd him.

The code change was to not attempt to open the invalid device names (and hopefully solve the problem if it is a windows bug)

That same code change worked for you bitpop so again I'm guessing it's related to a USB count issue in your different version of windows.

Either way, the change isn't a problem in any way (it simply stops doing the "expected to fail" opens) and if that solves the problems for some people - good Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 12:35:17 PM
 #5771

Ok Thank you Smiley

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 04:14:45 PM
 #5772

Is the mod miner included in the build script yet?
Nothing in the readme about the build option for the modminer, nor in ./configure --help.

Edit: Ah, needed to do a re-autogen.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 04:44:54 PM
 #5773

MMQ isn't showing up in supported devices.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 09:55:18 PM
 #5774

MMQ isn't showing up in supported devices.
At the top of the output, "cgminer -h" will tell you that when you compile in ModMiner (MMQ) support.
e.g. for me on linux:
 cgminer 2.4.2b
 Built with GPU bitforce icarus mining support.
but the git version would say
 cgminer 2.4.2
 Built with GPU bitforce icarus modminer ztex mining support.
If you compile in ModMiner and ZTex also (like the binary releases will have)

If you mean the API - yeah I'll do that tonight.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 11:04:45 PM
 #5775

The api... I suspected that was still todo after I posted Smiley
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 12:46:26 AM
 #5776

I recently reinstalled my windows 7 64bit, I have Catalyst 12.4 official and SDK 2.7 installed.

When I doubleclik cgminer.exe nothing happens, did I miss a step needed to install properly cgminer, it did work before reinstalling windows 7 but not anymore.
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2012, 12:54:29 AM
 #5777

When I doubleclik cgminer.exe nothing happens, did I miss a step needed to install properly cgminer, it did work before reinstalling windows 7 but not anymore.

Well, you could try executing cgminer from a command line window and see whether there is any useful output...
Anyhow, there is no "installation" of cgminer, you just need to unzip the archive somewhere...

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
June 13, 2012, 12:57:46 AM
 #5778

Is there a way that you could make the threads per GPU definable with a comma separated value? It seems like that could fix my problem; my display GPU looks like it's still trying to run 2 threads even though it's supposed to be dynamic.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2012, 01:01:04 AM
 #5779

Is there a way that you could make the threads per GPU definable with a comma separated value? It seems like that could fix my problem; my display GPU looks like it's still trying to run 2 threads even though it's supposed to be dynamic.
Sounds like you want me to fix a possible bug by adding a feature instead?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
June 13, 2012, 01:03:08 AM
 #5780

Sounds like you want me to fix a possible bug by adding a feature instead?
Just throwing ideas out there since nobody seems to be in a hurry to try and figure it out. Undecided

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Pages: « 1 ... 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 [289] 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!