Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:08:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Silverstone Strider 1500W vs Corsair AX1200  (Read 2604 times)
noogai93
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 11:52:13 AM
 #1

I'm looking to build a new triple 6990 rig and I'm wondering if anyone can help me with a choice of power supplies.

I know that a lot of you in the community use the AX1200 which here in Australia is more expensive then the Strider 1500W.

So I'm not sure which one to choose; the AX has a single +12v rail where as the Strider has 8 +12V rails but has a higher wattage.

1481263726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263726
Reply with quote  #2

1481263726
Report to moderator
1481263726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263726
Reply with quote  #2

1481263726
Report to moderator
1481263726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263726
Reply with quote  #2

1481263726
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263726
Reply with quote  #2

1481263726
Report to moderator
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 11:57:30 AM
 #2

I'm looking to build a new triple 6990 rig and I'm wondering if anyone can help me with a choice of power supplies.

I know that a lot of you in the community use the AX1200 which here in Australia is more expensive then the Strider 1500W.

So I'm not sure which one to choose; the AX has a single +12v rail where as the Strider has 8 +12V rails but has a higher wattage.




Strider. Also drop by #bitcoin-aus when you have a chance Smiley
The Script
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
July 14, 2011, 01:05:01 AM
 #3

Wow, I was just about to create a thread asking this same question.  I need to power two 5970's and was wondering which of these two PSUs to choose.  I'm worried that the 1200 W Corsair will not be able to handle both the 5970's.  SomeoneWeird, you would say Strider, why is that?
dalamchops
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 01:33:53 AM
 #4

Wow, I was just about to create a thread asking this same question.  I need to power two 5970's and was wondering which of these two PSUs to choose.  I'm worried that the 1200 W Corsair will not be able to handle both the 5970's.  SomeoneWeird, you would say Strider, why is that?

u'll be able to handle 3 5970s with an AX1200
syllogyst
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 04:34:10 AM
 #5

I'm looking to build a new triple 6990 rig and I'm wondering if anyone can help me with a choice of power supplies.

I know that a lot of you in the community use the AX1200 which here in Australia is more expensive then the Strider 1500W.

So I'm not sure which one to choose; the AX has a single +12v rail where as the Strider has 8 +12V rails but has a higher wattage.



I own the 1200W Corsair and run dual 6990s and a 6970 with no problems.  I've seen pictures of 3 6990s powered under the 1200W Corsair, so I would say it's possible.  It's a great power supply, and comes packaged very nicely to boot.  I would venture to guess it's more expensive because of the brand name.  You'd probably have no problems with either of them, though.

“The first lesson of economics is scarcity: There is never enough of anything to satisfy all those who want it.” -Thomas Sowell
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:59:28 AM
 #6

Wow, I was just about to create a thread asking this same question.  I need to power two 5970's and was wondering which of these two PSUs to choose.  I'm worried that the 1200 W Corsair will not be able to handle both the 5970's.  SomeoneWeird, you would say Strider, why is that?

1200 is DEFS enough for 2 gpu's. You could probably power 5 off it...
kloinko1n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:24:40 PM
 #7

Wow, I was just about to create a thread asking this same question.  I need to power two 5970's and was wondering which of these two PSUs to choose.  I'm worried that the 1200 W Corsair will not be able to handle both the 5970's.  SomeoneWeird, you would say Strider, why is that?

1200 is DEFS enough for 2 gpu's. You could probably power 5 off it...
Could the Corsair 1200 W power 3 6990's and a Phenom II  core 1090T?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:27:06 PM
 #8

Wow, I was just about to create a thread asking this same question.  I need to power two 5970's and was wondering which of these two PSUs to choose.  I'm worried that the 1200 W Corsair will not be able to handle both the 5970's.  SomeoneWeird, you would say Strider, why is that?

1200 is DEFS enough for 2 gpu's. You could probably power 5 off it...
Could the Corsair 1200 W power 3 6990's and a Phenom II  core 1090T?

Doubt it.
The Script
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
July 15, 2011, 01:50:33 AM
 #9

Thanks for the advice everyone.  I purchased the AX1200.  I plan to overclock my two 5970s and possibly add a 6990.  Shouldn't be a problem, correct?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!