Bitcoin Forum
December 01, 2020, 09:41:28 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A PCIe extender on my ASUS Prime Z270-A  (Read 70 times)
Amstellodamois
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 05, 2018, 02:12:26 PM
 #1

Assuming you had no space constraint, where would you plug your PCIe extender?

https://dlcdnimgs.asus.com/websites/global/products/raDdHADFSa42GEuM/images/mb/mb.png

Better to use a 16x slot? Which one?
1606815688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606815688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606815688
Reply with quote  #2

1606815688
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1606815688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606815688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606815688
Reply with quote  #2

1606815688
Report to moderator
1606815688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606815688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606815688
Reply with quote  #2

1606815688
Report to moderator
Vann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 589


View Profile
February 05, 2018, 02:34:03 PM
 #2

I've had the best luck putting it in the last PCI-E slot. Angry Chicken did an 11 card RX 580 build on that board and used the 8x slot and 4x slot for the PCI-E expansion cards.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMEXK-ty3mE&feature=youtu.be&t=855
Amstellodamois
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 05, 2018, 03:08:27 PM
 #3

I've had the best luck putting it in the last PCI-E slot. Angry Chicken did an 11 card RX 580 build on that board and used the 8x slot and 4x slot for the PCI-E expansion cards.
So, the answer is "try it and see for yourself, it might work pretty much anywhere"  Smiley

Quote
Do I see burnt wood   Huh
nsummy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 117


View Profile
February 05, 2018, 03:32:16 PM
 #4

Top slot, that way you don't have any graphics cards blowing heat on it.
Amstellodamois
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 05, 2018, 06:57:33 PM
 #5

Well, it would get the heat from the 16x port, then.

All the cards are blower-style, I'm not too worried about the heat anyway.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!