Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2018, 08:37:02 AM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: solo memecoin mining  (Read 776 times)
EzCheese
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 05:45:18 AM
 #1

Has anyone tried solo mining for memecoins with guiminer? 

I'm pretty sure I'm doing everything right via this how-to:  https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/399-newbie-proof-scrypt-gpu-mining-the-easy-way-windows-7/

Anyone else out there have success? 

Also, I can't find a solid yes or no answer, can I solo mine with my memecoin wallet encrypted?

Thanks
EZ
1516264622
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516264622

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516264622
Reply with quote  #2

1516264622
Report to moderator
1516264622
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516264622

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516264622
Reply with quote  #2

1516264622
Report to moderator
Satoshi is no god. He did not come down from the mountain with 10 golden rules engraved in stone for no one to question.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516264622
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516264622

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516264622
Reply with quote  #2

1516264622
Report to moderator
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 12:14:26 PM
 #2

If you are using this tut, it says right in it that its for pool mining, and to not even bother with solo mining.  So, what did you change in your setup to alter this?  If you followed this step by step, then it set you up for pool mining, not solo mining (i.e. you are not accessing a pool, but rather you are trying to find and solve a block on your own).

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
EzCheese
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
September 08, 2013, 11:24:17 PM
 #3

Look a little further below and it will go over solo mining and how to run it with guiminer.  I'm shooting for a lower difficulty coin instead of litecoin in which he says to avoid solo mining.

I've added the .conf file to the proper location, I've specified the qt client and the data directory but gui miner keeps telling me "No servers could be used."  I think the one portion I don't understand is where they are getting an rpc login/password.  Can this be any login/password or do I have to make an account some where similar to a pool worker? 

Thanks
muddafudda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
September 09, 2013, 01:30:21 AM
 #4

At the current network hash rate its not worth solo mining. 368.93 MH/sec

                ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄                
          ▄▄█▓▓▓▓▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▓▓▓█▄▄          
        █▓▓▀                ▀▓▓█▄       
     ▄█▓▓            ▄▄▄▄      ▀▓▓▄     
    █▓▓            ▄▓▓ ▓▓▓       ▀▓▓▄   
   ▓▓▀             ▓▓▌             ▓▓▄  
  ▓▓▌           ▄█▓▓▓▓▓█▄           ▓▓  
 ▐▓▓          █▓▓▀ ▓▓▌ ▀▓           ▐▓▓ 
 ▓▓▌         █▓▓   ▓▓▌               ▓▓ 
 ▓▓▌         ▓▓▓   ▓▓▌               ▓▓ 
 ▐▓▌          ▓▓█  ▓▓▌  ▄            ▓▓ 
  ▓▓           ▀▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▓▀          ▓▓▌ 
   ▓▓             ▐▓▓▓             █▓▓  
    ▓▓▄       ▄██ ▐▓▓             █▓▓   
     ▀▓█▄      ▀▓█▓▀            █▓▓     
       ▀▓▓▄▄                 ▄█▓▓       
          ▀▓▓██▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄█▓▓▓          
               ▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀▀              

CREDITS
[
Whitepaper    |    Linked In
FACEBOOK TWITTER ANN BOUNTY TELEGRAM
][ ]
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 11:52:00 AM
 #5

Look a little further below and it will go over solo mining and how to run it with guiminer.  I'm shooting for a lower difficulty coin instead of litecoin in which he says to avoid solo mining.

I've added the .conf file to the proper location, I've specified the qt client and the data directory but gui miner keeps telling me "No servers could be used."  I think the one portion I don't understand is where they are getting an rpc login/password.  Can this be any login/password or do I have to make an account some where similar to a pool worker? 

Thanks

Is the coin you are trying to mine scrypt?  And if so, do you have the right version of guiminer?  The old version didnt do scrypt.  There was an "updated" version that someone hacked together to allow it to do scrypt.

As for the rpc login and password, I think that can be anything.  It is the login and password that your miner app would use to log into.  You point your miner (in this case, guiminer) to your local host system.  Its running the QT client which turns your system into a "pool" essentially, and then the address in that config file tell it where to connect to on the network to begin mining.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!