Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2017, 10:44:23 PM *
News: The warning which may be displayed by Bitcoin Core about unknown versions is related to BIP91, and can be safely ignored.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6990 causing 650W PSU to crash?  (Read 2391 times)
Acejam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 286


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 06:05:55 PM
 #1

Hi all,

I have (5) 6990's. Three of them are in a dedicated rig. Card #4 is in my main desktop rig, and card #5 will be going into another dedicated rig. I'm having an issue with card #5.

I have the following hardware:

Chieftec Dragon Case
650W Antec Earthwatts PSU
Sapphire 6990
Asus P5B-E
E6600 Dual Core CPU
6 GB RAM
60 GB OCZ SSD

Important:

My PSU only has 1 PCI-E power cable. Therefore, I bought a converter cable that turns (2) Molex connectors into 2 PCI-E power connectors. Perhaps this cable can't handle the load? I'm using this only, and NOT the PSU's own PCI-E power cable: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198022&Tpk=CABLE-MPCIE4628



I have Ubuntu running with all my scripts and everything setup to run at boot time. But whenever the machine starts up, it immediately powers off, then automatically reboots. (as if someone pulled the power plug)

This occurs when the 6990 card is both in BIOS position #1 and #2. Is it possible that the 650W PSU isn't enough for (1) 6990? My plan was to run the 5th card with the extra hardware that I had lying around, which is what I'm trying to do now. From what I've read, a 6990 will use 375W in position #1 and 450W in positon #2. Surely I should have enough power for a small SSD and MOBO/CPU left over, even @ 375W.
1500590663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500590663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500590663
Reply with quote  #2

1500590663
Report to moderator
1500590663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500590663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500590663
Reply with quote  #2

1500590663
Report to moderator
1500590663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500590663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500590663
Reply with quote  #2

1500590663
Report to moderator
Decentralized search
Search for products or services and get paid for it
pre-sale Token CAT
25 July 50% discount
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500590663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500590663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500590663
Reply with quote  #2

1500590663
Report to moderator
1500590663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500590663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500590663
Reply with quote  #2

1500590663
Report to moderator
1500590663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500590663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500590663
Reply with quote  #2

1500590663
Report to moderator
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
July 14, 2011, 07:39:51 PM
 #2

The Antec Earthwatts 650 psu should have 2 6+2 pin pci-e connectors. Modify scripts so nothing runs at bootup and see if the problem persists.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:11:04 PM
 #3

The PSU can handle a 6990 even in switch mode 2 incl. your processor and other peripherals, it's the molex converter cable which can't supply that much extra wattage.

Your best shot is leaving the switch in default position and using two separate Athena cables, if your PSU has 4 molex connectors.

The cable is designed for 6pin+8 pin cards like the 6970. There is a very high likelihood it has not been even properly tested for 8+8 pin cards which are very unorthodox
(not counting custom made ones and the ARES/MARS cards, there are only two mass produced GPUs that use that amount of power from PCI-e connectors, the nvidia gtx 590 and amd radeon 6990)

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
Acejam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 286


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:42:33 PM
 #4

The Antec Earthwatts 650 psu should have 2 6+2 pin pci-e connectors. Modify scripts so nothing runs at bootup and see if the problem persists.

You sure about that?

"1 x 6-Pin, 1 x 6+2-Pin"


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371015
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!