Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2017, 12:23:44 PM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 331Mh/s or: Why I Love My 5830  (Read 3530 times)
Dimsum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 02:20:02 AM
 #41


I just ordered my second one last night. Not sure where you got yours from, but they're still up on Newegg.

UK i'm afraid! Is it possible to crossfire say a 5830 with a 5850/70 or must they be the same? I'm thinking of getting a new setup with 2 6990s since a friend wants to buy the current setup i have with my 5830, hmm .. decisions decisions!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493382224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493382224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493382224
Reply with quote  #2

1493382224
Report to moderator
1493382224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493382224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493382224
Reply with quote  #2

1493382224
Report to moderator
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 02:35:21 AM
 #42


I just ordered my second one last night. Not sure where you got yours from, but they're still up on Newegg.

UK i'm afraid! Is it possible to crossfire say a 5830 with a 5850/70 or must they be the same? I'm thinking of getting a new setup with 2 6990s since a friend wants to buy the current setup i have with my 5830, hmm .. decisions decisions!

Just saw they're sold out here as well! I figured they wouldn't last long. You can crossfire any cards with the same 'thousand' and 'hundred' digits, so a 5830 can go with any 58xx card.

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 02:53:32 AM
 #43


I just ordered my second one last night. Not sure where you got yours from, but they're still up on Newegg.

UK i'm afraid! Is it possible to crossfire say a 5830 with a 5850/70 or must they be the same? I'm thinking of getting a new setup with 2 6990s since a friend wants to buy the current setup i have with my 5830, hmm .. decisions decisions!

If it is for mining you do not need to crossfire.  You can always set up a dummy plug and/or supposedly the new catalyst (have not tried this option).

wallet.dat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 05:59:33 AM
 #44

Smiley ordered 8X6990  Smiley
Rape time
Where did you find your 6990s?

"MOOOOOOOM! THE MEATLOAF!!! F**K!"
shaun5000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 06:28:07 AM
 #45

Try www.bitcoinclassifieds.net
leeloulee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 09:24:17 PM
 #46

im getting 310 mhash at 990/300 72c

SGT longdong
2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 06:25:06 PM
 #47

312 MHash/s
Stock Voltage
Core 1000 MHz
Memory 300MHz

With Clocktweak
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
August 06, 2011, 01:07:00 AM
 #48

If you're using the phatk kernel, it was just updated within the last few days and adds a nice ~13Mh/s performance boost. Make sure you update yours!

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
DiamondPlus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 09:58:41 AM
 #49

Man you guys make me want to crank it up on my 5830. I get 225 on stock and 270 when I push it to 900Mhz via CCC. Tried MSi AfterBurner but what annoyed me about that is you need to keep moving the slider down and then saving then repeating that step to get the memory down to 300Mhz. It also gave me my first set of blue screens even though I never pushed it so much. TRIXX is way better as I can move the sliders in one go to all the extremes and then revert back when i am using the system for regular stuff (but still mining at stock!) Now all I need is the courage to do it!


I've two 5830's (Sapphire Xtreme) togethter with two 5870 all on stock voltages

It is a bit strange becaues I can run the first card (Device0) only at about 970 core and 300mhz Memory but the Second one on over 1020 Core 300Memory stable

Im using Ubuntu 11.04 and all over ssh, when a card fails mostly phoenix hangs up but the other card continue hashing

i've tried setting aggression on device 0 lower ( but it didnt help much

When i set aggression over 10 on any card and want to stop hashing (by killing the screen sessions for that gpu) it freezes the whole machine sometimes.

my best worksize settings have been for windows 128 and for linux 256

When i get to the machine the next time i will change the positions of the two 5830 to find out if I have the problem with Device0 or with the Card itself

But all Cards together are hashing at about 1600mhashes wich is fine for me rigth now  (first 5830 @ 315 (970,300) second @ 335 (1020,300) and the 5870's @ ~460 (990,300)

-DiamondPlus
sn0w420
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 05:28:58 PM
 #50

5830's are great cards... mine's running 296MH/s at 950/300 right now... still tweaking
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
August 22, 2011, 05:18:03 AM
 #51

I've two 5830's (Sapphire Xtreme) togethter with two 5870 all on stock voltages

My two xtremes really overclock well. I don't think I got lucky with them either, because most of what I've heard from other owners goes along the same lines. I get 330mh/s from each regularly and recently maxed out one of them @ 1055mhz doing 345mh/s rock steady at full voltage (1.195v). While I won't be keeping it there, I continue to be impressed with the potential these cards hold. You should run them wide open and see what they give you. I find 1.180v to be the highest I'm comfortable leaving my cards 24/7, and this gets me well above 330mh/s with each, but ymmv.


If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
leeloulee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 11:39:20 AM
 #52

mine crash after 1000 mhz

SGT longdong
Canen
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 12:33:05 PM
 #53

I can get mine up to 1020 and anything past that gets unstable.  I am getting 324mh though.  If i could get one that would hit over 1050 I would be thrilled!
tumik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 04:45:57 PM
 #54

I have a nvidia card.. Sad *sad*
fibus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 05:00:37 PM
 #55

Yeah these cards seem to be hit or miss with what you can push them to.  I can only push my card to 975mhz/300 memory before it starts crashing but my friend can push his card to 1030mhz/300 memory.
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
August 22, 2011, 09:07:05 PM
 #56

You three who mention your card's instability haven't said whether or not you experienced a crash at stock voltage or with your GPU overvolted. My GPU tops out around 1015mhz stable at stock volts, but as I mentioned, 1.180v gets me up to 1040mhz and maxing out at 1.195v is 1055mhz. Give your cards a little extra juice and see how much improvement you get in terms of max stable GPU clock.

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!