Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:01:33 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: How to disable the demand for OpenCL in Gminer for CPU mining
Interesting - 0 (0%)
Useful - 0 (0%)
Irrelevant - 0 (0%)
Total Voters: 0

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OpenCL in Gminer for CPU  (Read 2645 times)
Baruch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:29:05 PM
 #1

Have tried to install CGminer to try it for CPU mining only. My system (i5 2500k, integrated GPU, Win7 - 64) doesn't support OpenGL. Installation demands OpenGL, although CPU mining does not use it.
Any idea about avoiding this problem?
Thanks  
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284893
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284893

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284893
Reply with quote  #2

1481284893
Report to moderator
Niann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 684



View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:31:49 PM
 #2

Try another miner, there are several around =)
But, seriously, CPU mining is not worth it, you spend more money on
energy than you get BTC.

Peace.
Baruch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 06:48:02 PM
 #3

I know that GPU mining can be about 100 times faster than CPU, but my system, i5 2500k, doesn't need a separate video card, and I am not yet into serious mining to add one. I am just experimenting.
Ufasoft CPU miner used to work quite well (about 8 Mhash/sec for 2 threads), but it recently stopped working with the deepbit pool.
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 07:21:18 PM
 #4

Have tried to install CGminer to try it for CPU mining only. My system (i5 2500k, integrated GPU, Win7 - 64) doesn't support OpenGL. Installation demands OpenGL, although CPU mining does not use it.
Any idea about avoiding this problem?
Thanks  

I'm confused as your title says it needs OpenCL but here you says it needs OpenGL.

Either way, Intel provides openGL drivers for the GPU so theoretically it should work. And they also have an openCL SDK available, although I doubt it would be any good from my own experience of getting barely 1/6 the normal ufasoft mhash.

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 07:44:25 PM
 #5

More confusion, I just downloaded CGMiner to take a look... it doesn't need to be installed from what I could see. Just extract, then run in command line. So I'm not sure why you're seeing an error message.


186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
Baruch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 07:56:17 PM
 #6

No confusion here, just a problem with the CGminer installation for CPU use only, as in my case of no separate GPU card and no OpenGL. It seems that the present installation is mainly for GPU mining with the CPU mining just on option, provided CGminer found the OpenGL first, to enable it to install.
I know that OpenGL could be installed separately, but at this moment, a much simpler solution of disabling the need of detecting the OpenGL at CGminer installation for CPU mining only, looks much more elegant.
Baruch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 08:06:49 PM
 #7

OK, here is what I get when I try running my bat file that opens the CGminer exe, and links it to my pool:

System error: The program can't start because OpenGl.dll is missing from your computer

Indeed, it is better to call it an initiation problem, rather than install problem.
Baruch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 08:48:34 PM
 #8

To avoid more confusion:
Again, my system is i5 2500K with GPU integrated with CPU, not running OpenGL. No separate video card is present, hence - only a CPU mining is possible.
So, why should I install an OpenGL if I can't use it in the first place?
I would have expected the following logic by cgminer: if no OpenGL is found - enable CPU mining only. If it is found - follow the input script parameters to enable either GPU or CPU mining.
No rocket science here.
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 09:28:25 PM
 #9

Looks like a confirmed case that it doesn't work without a discrete GPU.
I just tried it on my laptop with the Intel openCL installed, so while I don't get an openCL or openGL error, it was unable to get a device number.

Somebody asked about this in the cgminer thread as well but got no resolution so I'd suggest maybe you want to try using ufasoft's instead?

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
Baruch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 05:53:35 AM
 #10

As I wrote above, Ufasoft CPU miner used to work quite well (about 8 Mhash/sec for 2 threads) with the deepbit pool, but it recently stopped working (while I have changed nothing). This is a known, acknowledged issue. The error code: 80190191. So, I am now experimenting with other CPU miners, not many of them left.
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 06:30:01 AM
 #11

As I wrote above, Ufasoft CPU miner used to work quite well (about 8 Mhash/sec for 2 threads) with the deepbit pool, but it recently stopped working (while I have changed nothing). This is a known, acknowledged issue. The error code: 80190191. So, I am now experimenting with other CPU miners, not many of them left.

Missed out where you mentioned that. Good luck finding one that works well, sorry couldn't be of more help here Sad

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
Baruch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 06:59:56 AM
 #12

Thanks Xephan, will try - it is just a toy for me.
P.S. have mentioned Ufasoft in my #3 post here.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!