Bitcoin Forum
October 04, 2022, 09:08:35 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ASIC USB MINER QUESTION  (Read 1045 times)
BitCoinPokerBro (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 04:58:18 AM
Last edit: September 14, 2013, 05:29:13 AM by BitCoinPokerBro
 #1

Is it as easy as buying a bunch of 16 port usb hubs and connecting to one pc with say 128 ASIC USB's plugged in? Or much more complicated than that?

Yes I did try searching before posting! Most of what I found were people building custom units from special hardware all I want to do is plug a bunch of miners into a hub which is then plugged into a pc/laptop or whatever and run the mining software. A KISS method if it's possible.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1664917715
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664917715

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664917715
Reply with quote  #2

1664917715
Report to moderator
1664917715
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664917715

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664917715
Reply with quote  #2

1664917715
Report to moderator
Squeeky4711
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 05:02:16 AM
 #2

It is more complicated then using the search button  Wink

However it is rather easy, you just need to ensure you get the correct hubs.  Needs to have 500ma per usable port.  Also having a computer or raspberry pi to be on all the time.
BitCoinPokerBro (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 05:32:46 AM
 #3

It is more complicated then using the search button  Wink

However it is rather easy, you just need to ensure you get the correct hubs.  Needs to have 500ma per usable port.  Also having a computer or raspberry pi to be on all the time.


Correct me if I'm wrong. The only requirements are 1. hub needs to be compatible and 2. each port needs a minimum of 500ma?
Darktongue
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 07:34:00 AM
 #4

The hardware section has all you need to know.  He's spot on however.  A prime example is when this all started.  Folks had this idea Anker Hubs and Artic Breeze Fans where the only way to go.  Anker has a number of USB 2.0 Models out.  But what was found mostly was 3.0. They would work with a standard PC Desktop/Laptop but not the micro controllers such as the rasp pi.  Same go's for other makes of hubs as well. 

A list exists of hubs that work/suck.  I suggest searching for it. 


                                  ██▄▄              ▄▄██
                                   █████▄        ▄█████
      ▄▄▄▄▄        ▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄     █████▄      ▄█████      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
  ▄███████████▄    █████████████▄    █████▄    ▄█████   ▄▄███████████▄    █████     █████
 █████▀▀▀▀██████   ██████▀▀▀██████    █████▄  ▄█████   ▄█████▀▀▀▀▀█████▄   █████   █████
█████  ▄▄█████▀▀   █████     █████     █████▄▄█████    █████       █████    █████ █████
██████████▀▀       █████     █████      ██████████     █████       █████     █████████
 ██████▀ ▄▄▄█▄     █████     █████       ████████      ▀█████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀      ███████
  ▀████████████    █████     █████        █████        ▀▀███████████▀         █████
     ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀▀         ▀▀▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀           █████
                                                                             █████
                                                                            █████
                                                                           █████
.
                    ▄▄▄████▄
▀████▄▄▄          ▄██████████
 ▀███████▄       ▄██████████
  ▀████████      ██████████
   █████████    ██████████▀
    █████████  ▄█████████▀
     █████████ ██████████
      ██████████████████
      ▀████████████████
       ▀█████████████▀
        ▀████████████▀
         ▀██████████▀
           ▀███████▀
.
demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 08:32:19 AM
 #5

Do keep in mind even though the anker hubs are 3.0 it dont always play nice with bfgminer on 3.0. plug it into a 2.0 port and you will be running in no time.

OR maybe its just my issue.

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!