Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2018, 02:21:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Brand new rig fails to properly utilize it's two HD6950  (Read 1029 times)
sodapop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 09:53:17 PM
 #1

The hardware:

MB: P8P67M Pro Newest bios
CPU: I3-2100
GPU: Asus 6950 1GB Factory bios, no overclocking
SSD, 6gb ram.

The problem:

When I run any miner (hashkill, phoenix, diablominer), or any combination of miners, I either get around 50-75% utilization of both cards, OR, I get 99% utilization of one card.

Basically, I either get sub-optimal performance from both cards, or I get expected performance from one card while the other is entirely starved. This happens at random. If I do get a stable 75%/75% from both cards, it will eventually (maybe after hours) turn into either 99%/0% or 0%/99%.

I am running 64-bit ubuntu, 11.04 and Stream SDK 2.4. The two PCIe slots the cards are connected to has x8 speeds according to the motherboard manual. I have installed one crossfire bridge (otherwise I can't use the 2nd card in linux). The temperatures are fine. My CPU utilization is almost nothing. Both cards easily do more than 300MH by themselves. I do not understand where the bottleneck is.

Any help with this would be highly appreciated. I'll gladly give 0.1-1btc tips to information that makes a difference.
1529504497
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529504497

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529504497
Reply with quote  #2

1529504497
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529504497
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529504497

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529504497
Reply with quote  #2

1529504497
Report to moderator
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 11:28:52 PM
 #2

Could you post your Xorg.conf? You can find it at /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
sodapop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 07:14:30 AM
 #3

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load  "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
DefaultDepth     24
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 02:51:15 PM
 #4

Looks like you only have one card set up - not 2.
Try running:
Code:
aticonfig --initial=dual-head
and restarting.

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
Sideways
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 08:12:27 AM
 #5

simple things first, are you pointing your miners at different cards? ie, when you run just polcbm it will tell you that you have to give it a device, usually 0 and 1. You then have to start each miner with a -d0 and a -d1 to use the second card. I like to open a separate terminal for each miner so I can watch them, and usually have 1 or 2 more open to watch temps, etc.
Also, if it's a dedicated miner (not a part time gamer) take out the xfire bridge, it doesn't help ( maybe even hinders.. ) mining.

edit:
now that I've thought about it and come back, I'm thinkin it is the xfire setup.. I'd start there by taking it out.
Oldminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:00:48 AM
 #6

Check that your not running 1 of the cards @ PCI-Ex 1 x in the BIOS

If you like my post please feel free to give me some positive rep https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=trust;u=18639
Tip me BTC: 1FBmoYijXVizfYk25CpiN8Eds9J6YiRDaX
sodapop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 02:58:52 PM
 #7

I can't say what the problem was, but I am now running the exact same setup on Kubuntu, and I get 99% load on both cards and a decent 650MH with no overclocking.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!