Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2018, 08:32:08 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Not enough hash rate with my USB block erupters. Power problem or Pool problem?  (Read 843 times)
divyanthj
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 12, 2013, 11:28:54 PM
 #1

I have about 8 ASIC USB Block erupters which I ordered from BTC guild over time. I have a plugable USB powered 10-port Hub to which I've hooked up these 8 ASICs. I'm mining bitcoins from Slush's pool, but it shows that I only have a hash rate of 1370 MH/s instead of the expected 2640 MH/s.

The power ratings on my hub's adapter are as follows.

Code:
Input 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz 0.5 A
Output 5V, 2.5 A
I'm not sure if this will help, but these are the parameters I use with BFG Miner.

Code:
-G -S all --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100


All devices' LEDs are blinking as they should and all 8 devices are recognized by BFGminer. All 8 devices show the hashrate they should, on BFG miner.

So, does the problem lie with my devices or the pool? Am I mining the right amount of bitcoins?
1542616328
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616328

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616328
Reply with quote  #2

1542616328
Report to moderator
1542616328
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616328

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616328
Reply with quote  #2

1542616328
Report to moderator
1542616328
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616328

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616328
Reply with quote  #2

1542616328
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 08:45:50 AM
 #2

2.5A is only enough to power 5 BE's, If you want to run the rest your going to need another HUB.
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 11:56:13 AM
 #3

What version of bfgminer are you using?

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 03:11:54 PM
 #4

How long did you wait before you decided the hash rate was too low on the pool? it takes about and hour to catch up.
kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 01:08:56 PM
 #5

Instead of getting another hub, you could simply get a power supply with the same plug (and polarity) but with a higher current capacity.  I got some cheap 10 port USB2.0 hubs, replaced the original (2A) power supply with a 4A units (this should be capable of supporting 8 BE's per hub, but currently only have 6 on a hub). Note that if you run a USB powered fan(s), that uses power too that needs to be accommodated by the hub's power capacity. The hubs USB data connection are daisy-chained (one hub feeds into another, which then connects to a single port on the PC), this works fine with BFGMiner.  The latest BFGMiner version (3.2.0) has a significantly lower HW error rate than earlier versions.

Cheers
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!