Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:45:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining pool - help needed  (Read 2209 times)
HolyCow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 10:33:41 AM
 #1

Hi,

I am setting up my private mining server so I don't depend on public mining services. I tried Deepbit but was DDoSed so I switched to BTC Guild and then he got DDoSed so now I decided to build my own mining pool.

#1 What would be server requirements to setup mining pool that could handle for start 100 GH/s - 300 GH/s, and what would be server requirements for running it up to 1 TH/s?

My old VPS specifications are
Quote
    Processor 2 dedicated cores
    RAM 1536 MB (dedicated) +512 MB of SWAP
    Disk 48 GB SAS with RAID 60
    Bandwidth 30 Mbps
    (about 9.3 TB of data transfer)

My current server specifications are
Quote
    Intel® Core™ i7-920 Quadcore
    incl. Hyper-Threading Technology
    RAM 12 GB DDR3 RAM
    Hard discs 2 x 1500 GB SATA-II HDD
    (Software-RAID 1)
    NIC 1 GBit OnBoard
    connected at 100 MBit
    Backup Space 100 GB
    Traffic Unlimited*
I am currently using push pool 0.5.1. but it breaks at 70 GH/s+. I am not sure is that because of too many connections or what... On old VPS it was also breaking at 70GH/s+

When pool hits 70GH/s server doesn't shut down or get restarted. Almost nothing happens on server side, apache works, MySQL works, but no new work is accepted. Then slowly if I keep it that way pushpool would crash totally and processor use would jump up to 97%. I need to stop the pushpool from SSH and start it again and then all works normally till it hits 70 GH/s...

When pushpool hit 70 GH/s I run miner from my computer and I got this error

Quote
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EE2:  The operation timed out
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EFD:  A connection with the server could not be established 
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EFD:  A connection with the server could not be established
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EFD:  A connection with the server could not be established

#2 Is there any hosting company you ppl recommend?
#3 What does cause most stress to server when doing pool mining?
#4 Do you guys have any tips for setting up a pool mine (what problems do usually occur)?
#5 What is currently best miner for CPU mining?
#6 What is currently best miner for GPU mining?
#7 Why is SDK needed for GPU mining?
#8 Does Ufasoft miner need SDK for working with GPUs?
#9 Does Ufasoft miner automaticly use GPU mining if SDK are installed and there is GPU avaiable?
#10 How does Ufasoft miner work actually with GPU mining?
#11 Why doesn't push pool use all cores? It uses only one on my dedi. How to set it to use all cores?

I am willing to pay 10 - 20 BTC for ppl that can fix me my issue and stabilize my mining pool.

Regards,
Alisa

Ya mishka Gumi Byear (Я мишка ГуммиБер)
Vkusnyushchi Gumi Byear (Вкуснющий ГуммиБер)
Ya marmeladnyii vkusnyii puhlyi mishka Gumi Byear (Я мармеладный вкусный пухлый мишка ГуммиБер)
1481114721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481114721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481114721
Reply with quote  #2

1481114721
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481114721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481114721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481114721
Reply with quote  #2

1481114721
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 12:04:27 PM
 #2

I don't know the details about pushpoold - I wrote my own pool backend.

But it might be worth checking whether you are running out of file descriptors. If you didn't raise the max number of FDs for the pushpoold process then you probably should anyway, even if that's not the problem you are having now.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
HolyCow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 12:32:41 PM
 #3

I don't know the details about pushpoold - I wrote my own pool backend.

But it might be worth checking whether you are running out of file descriptors. If you didn't raise the max number of FDs for the pushpoold process then you probably should anyway, even if that's not the problem you are having now.

My partner set that already
Quote
# cat /proc/sys/fs/file-max
10000000

All suggestions are welcomed =D

Best Regards,
Alisa

Ya mishka Gumi Byear (Я мишка ГуммиБер)
Vkusnyushchi Gumi Byear (Вкуснющий ГуммиБер)
Ya marmeladnyii vkusnyii puhlyi mishka Gumi Byear (Я мармеладный вкусный пухлый мишка ГуммиБер)
HolyCow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
July 18, 2011, 09:38:12 AM
 #4

Can someone explain me wth is pushpool using 96% of CPU and almost all memory if there is 0 GH/s on pushpool for last two days? I redirected traffic to other pool and server is still overloaded with 0 traffic and 0 GH/s :/

http://i53.tinypic.com/23tii9z.png

Best Regards,
Alisa

Ya mishka Gumi Byear (Я мишка ГуммиБер)
Vkusnyushchi Gumi Byear (Вкуснющий ГуммиБер)
Ya marmeladnyii vkusnyii puhlyi mishka Gumi Byear (Я мармеладный вкусный пухлый мишка ГуммиБер)
TheMalon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 11:20:47 AM
 #5

Hi,

When pushpool hit 70 GH/s I run miner from my computer and I got this error

Quote
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EE2:  The operation timed out
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EFD:  A connection with the server could not be established 
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EFD:  A connection with the server could not be established
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EFD:  A connection with the server could not be established


How many miners/connections did you had in that moment?
HolyCow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 05:29:51 PM
 #6

While mining pool is open and working idk, ~ from 50k - 80k+. These days when mining pool is closed about 0 connections and still get 99% CPU use (checked with atop), on what? :S

All the best,
Alisa

Ya mishka Gumi Byear (Я мишка ГуммиБер)
Vkusnyushchi Gumi Byear (Вкуснющий ГуммиБер)
Ya marmeladnyii vkusnyii puhlyi mishka Gumi Byear (Я мармеладный вкусный пухлый мишка ГуммиБер)
TheMalon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 07:39:00 AM
 #7

While mining pool is open and working idk, ~ from 50k - 80k+. These days when mining pool is closed about 0 connections and still get 99% CPU use (checked with atop), on what? :S

All the best,
Alisa

If there are  80K opened connections that will explain the "A connection with the server could not be established" error ... (which is mainly generated by timeout, no route to server or the inability of the server to create new sockets for you.)
If there are 80K connections for 70Gh i suspect that your primary user is a botnet! A botnet will consume MORE (in terms of hardware) that they will produce (GH). BTGuild, for example, get 2.500 GH with 8K miners (that means something like 10K opened connections).
If you don't wanna feed a botnet i suggest:
  • drop non LP connection after 5 sec.
  • set LP connection to do something after 10 min.(drop or respond ... read the LP documentation)
  • limit the number of LP connections

Ciao
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!