Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 04:15:02 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Withdrawing bitcoin from Britcoin  (Read 1196 times)
BitMofo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 06:56:38 PM
 #1

Hey all,

I withdrew 0.5 bitcoins from the Britcoin exchange about an hour ago. On the site it says it has been validated and finished. However my bitcoin account is still not credited... How long should I expect it to take?
I have checked the address and it was entered correctly.

Thanks!

1HNffyHktcD2iB6WJhPxKbALJdg4dwerTG
1481256902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256902
Reply with quote  #2

1481256902
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481256902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256902
Reply with quote  #2

1481256902
Report to moderator
ableorange
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100

All things bitcoin


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 08:22:52 PM
 #2

In your client make sure the network (block chain) is up to date. Sometimes can take some time I think the current block chain is 136603 once you teach that it should clear.
spruce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 08:25:50 PM
 #3

http://blockexplorer.com/address/1GDGhnQFFzCQ2CvtKr4pDRW4J5Wo3yk9Xp

And you can see the transaction in block explorer. Just replace the address at the end with your own.
spruce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 05:36:45 PM
 #4

If I try to send bitcoins to an invalid public address (for example, changing one character from upper case to lower case) using the client, it tells me it's an invalid address. This is good.

What happens if I enter an invalid address at Britcoin on the withdraw screen? Will it act similarly, i.e. refuse the transaction and tell me it's invalid? I don't want to experiment because the withdraw amount has to be at least .5 BTC, I believe, and I'm not willing to risk it. Smiley
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 10:33:36 PM
 #5

If I try to send bitcoins to an invalid public address (for example, changing one character from upper case to lower case) using the client, it tells me it's an invalid address. This is good.

What happens if I enter an invalid address at Britcoin on the withdraw screen? Will it act similarly, i.e. refuse the transaction and tell me it's invalid? I don't want to experiment because the withdraw amount has to be at least .5 BTC, I believe, and I'm not willing to risk it. Smiley

britcoin talks to a bitcoind to actually talk to the network.  If britcoin attempts to construct a transaction to an address that is invalid (i.e. the checksum doesn't match) then it will get an error back from bitcoind and should pass this error onto the user.

You can check this by looking at the britcoin source (since it's open source).

in the meantime, check out the FAQ.

Will

spruce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
August 03, 2011, 12:16:03 PM
 #6

If I try to send bitcoins to an invalid public address (for example, changing one character from upper case to lower case) using the client, it tells me it's an invalid address. This is good.

What happens if I enter an invalid address at Britcoin on the withdraw screen? Will it act similarly, i.e. refuse the transaction and tell me it's invalid? I don't want to experiment because the withdraw amount has to be at least .5 BTC, I believe, and I'm not willing to risk it. Smiley

britcoin talks to a bitcoind to actually talk to the network.  If britcoin attempts to construct a transaction to an address that is invalid (i.e. the checksum doesn't match) then it will get an error back from bitcoind and should pass this error onto the user.

You can check this by looking at the britcoin source (since it's open source).

in the meantime, check out the FAQ.

Will

Thanks very much, Will.

I'm not a coder, but this is pretty straightforward in terms of answering my question:

Code:
function bitcoin_withdraw($uid, $amount, $curr_type)
{
    $addy = post('address');
    $bitcoin = connect_bitcoin();
    $validaddy = $bitcoin->validateaddress($addy);
    if (!$validaddy['isvalid'])
        throw new Problem('Bitcoin says no', 'That address you supplied was invalid.');
    syslog(LOG_NOTICE, "address=$addy");
    endlog();

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!