Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2017, 06:56:01 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: The fastest HD 69xx miner. 250 BTC.  (Read 64093 times)
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 08, 2011, 04:19:29 AM
 #41

Currently, hdminer is not redistribuable, as specified by its license. However if a pool operator would have such special needs, I am willing to arrange a special deal.

It is true that hdminer's target market is not the individual with 1 or 2 GPUs. Many of my customers are, or at least appear to be large-scale miners. Of course, I cannot divulge any details.
1495522561
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495522561

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495522561
Reply with quote  #2

1495522561
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495522561
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495522561

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495522561
Reply with quote  #2

1495522561
Report to moderator
1495522561
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495522561

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495522561
Reply with quote  #2

1495522561
Report to moderator
1495522561
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495522561

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495522561
Reply with quote  #2

1495522561
Report to moderator
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 08, 2011, 04:27:29 AM
 #42

well, the pool operators do not seem interested, even at 400 BTC.

So far, about half the bitcoin hashrate is in pools. The people inside the pools are far from the 22Gh/s I mentionned earlier.

Even if all the solo miners had 22Gh/s, that would make 13 people who cold actually make money off of this

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 08, 2011, 05:01:09 AM
 #43

Yes, sounds about right. Except I started selling in January when the market of interested buyers was much larger.
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2011, 10:27:15 AM
 #44

I lowered the price from 400 BTC to 350 BTC.
hdminer is currently the fastest miner for the HD 6990 at 708 Mhash/s at stock 830 MHz clock, compared to Phoenix's 650 Mhash/s, a difference of 9%.

Future reply to the random guy who will reply "but I get 7xx Mhash/s with $MINER when overclocking" -> I said at stock clocks !
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
April 29, 2011, 12:19:27 PM
 #45

350 bitcoins !!! Cheesy Man that's a lot of money 1 btc = 1.20 sterling. So you think your miners worth £420 per license for an extra what 40MH/s lol !!! I think I'll stick to my regular free miners and donate. This is just plain greedy Cheesy Well my opinion anyway.
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2011, 12:22:06 PM
 #46

Fair enough  Wink

PS: 1 Bitcoin is 1.44 GBP  Tongue
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
April 29, 2011, 12:26:01 PM
 #47

Quote
PS: 1 Bitcoin is 1.44 GBP  Tongue

lol really I was just going by britcoins converter. Be honest how many people have bought hdminer Cheesy
Loader009
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
April 30, 2011, 12:18:34 AM
 #48

Why don't you make a donation-address and say "If I get about 1500 BTC on that, it will be open source"?
Yes it's much, but if more and more spends money on that, this program could be open source in a few months Tongue
Greetings
ghost
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
April 30, 2011, 02:33:09 AM
 #49

I lowered the price from 400 BTC to 350 BTC.
hdminer is currently the fastest miner for the HD 6990 at 708 Mhash/s at stock 830 MHz clock, compared to Phoenix's 650 Mhash/s, a difference of 9%.

Future reply to the random guy who will reply "but I get 7xx Mhash/s with $MINER when overclocking" -> I said at stock clocks !

Just for reference, I get 714 Mhash/s at 830 MHz clock running phoenix 1.3 with VECTORS=on AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT. At 900 MHz I get 774 Mhash/s.

EDIT - Actually, that is with the overclock switch turned on. Otherwise, at stock speeds, I only get 668 MHash/s. Could you post numbers for these other scenarios?
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 30, 2011, 11:22:02 AM
 #50

I lowered the price from 400 BTC to 350 BTC.
hdminer is currently the fastest miner for the HD 6990 at 708 Mhash/s at stock 830 MHz clock, compared to Phoenix's 650 Mhash/s, a difference of 9%.

Future reply to the random guy who will reply "but I get 7xx Mhash/s with $MINER when overclocking" -> I said at stock clocks !

Just for reference, I get 714 Mhash/s at 830 MHz clock running phoenix 1.3 with VECTORS=on AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT. At 900 MHz I get 774 Mhash/s.

EDIT - Actually, that is with the overclock switch turned on. Otherwise, at stock speeds, I only get 668 MHash/s. Could you post numbers for these other scenarios?

His "stock clock" is with 830 clock (ie: switch turned to Overclocked)

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2011, 07:56:59 PM
 #51

Just for reference, I get 714 Mhash/s at 830 MHz clock running phoenix 1.3 with VECTORS=on AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT. At 900 MHz I get 774 Mhash/s.

EDIT - Actually, that is with the overclock switch turned on. Otherwise, at stock speeds, I only get 668 MHash/s. Could you post numbers for these other scenarios?

As the first post says: with the o/c switch at position 1 (880MHz) = 746 Mhash/s. This means hdminer is faster than Phoenix by 4.5% assuming you did not change anything else (PowerTune settings, memory clock, voltages, etc). Is it the case? Some resident o/c tools automatically changes the PowerTune settings for improved performance for example, even when running at "stock" clock.
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2011, 07:59:50 PM
 #52

His "stock clock" is with 830 clock (ie: switch turned to Overclocked)

No, 830 is not overclocked.
Overclocking with the switch brings it to 880 MHz.

Damn it. Why is it that 50% of the posters in this thread make mistake when comparing o/c vs non-o/c card? This is what I am saying, all comparisons should be done at stock clocks to prevent mistakes and misinterpretations Grin
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 02, 2011, 04:32:03 AM
 #53

how many bitcoins did he give you to say that hahaha Cheesy Only kidding Wink
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 09:05:34 AM
 #54

I'm willing to pay 35 BTC for HDminer , 350 no thanks Sad
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 02, 2011, 01:44:32 PM
 #55

I lowered the price from 400 BTC to 350 BTC.
hdminer is currently the fastest miner for the HD 6990 at 708 Mhash/s at stock 830 MHz clock, compared to Phoenix's 650 Mhash/s, a difference of 9%.

Future reply to the random guy who will reply "but I get 7xx Mhash/s with $MINER when overclocking" -> I said at stock clocks !

The numbers don't work for miners with a single 6990, or even four of them. With 10, it starts to look attractive. If I had 20 6990s, I'd buy without a second thought.

That said, your price severely limits your sales volume to those who are setting up large mining operations. As an example, I would venture to guess that at 35 BTC, you would sell far more than ten times as many copies since it would then be attractive to every AMD GPU user here mining with two or more cards, and to many of them with single cards. I'm sure you've already considered how to price your miner, though I'm not sure you considered it from your potential customers' perspective.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 03, 2011, 10:23:13 PM
 #56

I lowered the price from 400 BTC to 350 BTC.
hdminer is currently the fastest miner for the HD 6990 at 708 Mhash/s at stock 830 MHz clock, compared to Phoenix's 650 Mhash/s, a difference of 9%.

Future reply to the random guy who will reply "but I get 7xx Mhash/s with $MINER when overclocking" -> I said at stock clocks !

The numbers don't work for miners with a single 6990, or even four of them. With 10, it starts to look attractive. If I had 20 6990s, I'd buy without a second thought.

That said, your price severely limits your sales volume to those who are setting up large mining operations. As an example, I would venture to guess that at 35 BTC, you would sell far more than ten times as many copies since it would then be attractive to every AMD GPU user here mining with two or more cards, and to many of them with single cards. I'm sure you've already considered how to price your miner, though I'm not sure you considered it from your potential customers' perspective.

at that volume, it may get leaked pretty quick

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


View Profile
May 03, 2011, 11:19:40 PM
 #57

  • 708 Mhash/sec on a Radeon HD 6990 (stock clock 830MHz: BIOS switch at position 2) -- this speed has been measured with Catalyst 11.1. Catalyst 11.2 and 11.3 contain a performance regression that downgrades the speed to 683 Mhash/s. However because aticonfig in Catalyst 11.1 does not support the HD 6990, I advise users to install Catalyst 11.3 or later, run aticonfig to generate xorg.conf, then downgrade to 11.1 for operating hdminer.
Very interesting downgrading Catalyst. Using Catalyst 11.3 and Phoenix I get 670 Mhash/s vs. your 683 Mhash/s. Sounds to me that hdminer is only 2% faster, and that the bulk of your performance improvements are in system configuration, and not miner optimizations.

Buy & Hold
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2011, 02:16:40 AM
 #58

I am certaintly interested in the feedback that you guys give me about pricing, thanks. Predicting the demand curve for a given price is certainly not trivial. As nster said, pricing it too low may cause it to be leaked and pirated. I am not going to divulge how many buyers have purchased hdminer so far, but I do think that 350 BTC is a right balance at this moment.

Syke: it is the first time I hear 670 Mhahs/s at 830 MHz. Did you modify other hw settings such as memory clock, memory voltage, gpu voltage?
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 02:30:30 AM
 #59

I think I got 2 extra MH/s from downclocking the memory. Everything else is stock.

Buy & Hold
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 04, 2011, 03:43:20 AM
 #60

I am certaintly interested in the feedback that you guys give me about pricing, thanks. Predicting the demand curve for a given price is certainly not trivial. As nster said, pricing it too low may cause it to be leaked and pirated. I am not going to divulge how many buyers have purchased hdminer so far, but I do think that 350 BTC is a right balance at this moment.

Syke: it is the first time I hear 670 Mhahs/s at 830 MHz. Did you modify other hw settings such as memory clock, memory voltage, gpu voltage?


I do however think that the price adjustment was not enough... going from 320$ to over 1000$ is silly

I reasonable price would be anything between 100 and 200 BTC. I could see it working better at 150 BTC

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!