Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:14:54 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: No block solved in the last 3 hours?  (Read 2088 times)
darkwon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 09:07:50 PM
 #1

Is this really true? Blockexplorer and my own client are at least telling me this..

I'm getting a bit nervous, has this happened before?

Sign up for new Bitcoin Exchanges:

|| TradeHill || or || Bitcoin7 ||

(Using these links will give you a lifetime rebate on all fees)
1481228094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228094
Reply with quote  #2

1481228094
Report to moderator
1481228094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228094
Reply with quote  #2

1481228094
Report to moderator
1481228094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228094
Reply with quote  #2

1481228094
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 09:10:33 PM
 #2

I see the latest block is 136778, and it means nothing.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
darkwon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 09:11:19 PM
 #3

Yea i see that too and that block was 3 hours ago, right? I mean is this normal behavior, because there should be 6 blocks per hour normally if i'm correct, and this would be a major statistical unlikeliness, something like 0,00001% chance for this to happen.

Sign up for new Bitcoin Exchanges:

|| TradeHill || or || Bitcoin7 ||

(Using these links will give you a lifetime rebate on all fees)
opticbit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 677


PGP: 6EBEBCE1E0507C38


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 09:25:41 PM
 #4

with the high difficulty levels, I think its more likely to see high variations in time it take to find a block.

Is there a reason why the difficulty is not set to start dropping if a block is not found for 20min or an hr?  The method of increasing difficulty makes sense,  and if all blocks take 20 min it will take a while to drop the difficulty but will happen.  However if it starts taking days to find a block we could be waiting for the next genration of gpu, or quantum computer (dWave is not powerful enough from what i've heard).

Set up the same thing..
http://bit.ly/btcrefs
Get more bitcoins.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 09:26:11 PM
 #5

Look, a new block! Smiley

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
darkwon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 09:32:18 PM
 #6

Ok now my client shows block 779 to be solved, but it doesn't show up in blockexplorer and my transaction is still unconfirmed?

Sign up for new Bitcoin Exchanges:

|| TradeHill || or || Bitcoin7 ||

(Using these links will give you a lifetime rebate on all fees)
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 09:38:34 PM
 #7

Ok now my client shows block 779 to be solved, but it doesn't show up in blockexplorer and my transaction is still unconfirmed?

Oh, NOW you tell us. Why didn't you say so before? Tongue

Looks like blockexplorer is down, or having some issues.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
darkwon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 09:47:28 PM
 #8

Well, seems like blocks are solved again and showing up in blockexplorer (779 was big, over 260k BTC transferred). But still my transaction was not confirmed in 779, 780 and 781, is this something to worry about or will it be confirmed in future blocks?

Sign up for new Bitcoin Exchanges:

|| TradeHill || or || Bitcoin7 ||

(Using these links will give you a lifetime rebate on all fees)
natman3400
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98

firstbits: 1nathana


View Profile
July 17, 2011, 10:07:51 PM
 #9

Well, seems like blocks are solved again and showing up in blockexplorer (779 was big, over 260k BTC transferred). But still my transaction was not confirmed in 779, 780 and 781, is this something to worry about or will it be confirmed in future blocks?
This can happen sometimes, it just means who ever found those blocks decided not to include those transactions, it will most likely be in the next few blocks.

Support the BitClip project:
http://bit.ly/vghQFK
Donate to bitclip: 1BCincd4sHM1ou5QcxZ4vc4hKzsxXCpQT
Dontate to me: 1NathanAubdutd4kW4VwfcEXEWvgkqEq7V
PGP key 1: http://goo.gl/TUIWe
PGP key 2: http://goo.gl/jrfaI
Proof both keys belong to me: http://goo.gl/dQSHl
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 10:26:10 PM
 #10

Well, seems like blocks are solved again and showing up in blockexplorer (779 was big, over 260k BTC transferred). But still my transaction was not confirmed in 779, 780 and 781, is this something to worry about or will it be confirmed in future blocks?

So you still see 0/unconfirmed in the bitcoin client?

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
July 17, 2011, 10:38:46 PM
 #11

Yea i see that too and that block was 3 hours ago, right? I mean is this normal behavior, because there should be 6 blocks per hour normally if i'm correct, and this would be a major statistical unlikeliness, something like 0,00001% chance for this to happen.

The gap between blocks was around 59 minutes.  Not sure where you're getting 3 hours from.

TeraPool
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 12:22:51 AM
 #12

Yea i see that too and that block was 3 hours ago, right? I mean is this normal behavior, because there should be 6 blocks per hour normally if i'm correct, and this would be a major statistical unlikeliness, something like 0,00001% chance for this to happen.

The gap between blocks was around 59 minutes.  Not sure where you're getting 3 hours from.

That's still quite a gap.

borgfish
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 12:27:05 AM
 #13

did you see that ?

13.07 15:25:36   0h 00m     0    1390     None
13.07 15:25:33   0h 03m     24    228594     0.00509200

3 seconds for a block at deepbit.

there should be more 1h gaps ...
myhoho
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 12:30:44 AM
 #14

 Something is happening... I can't see some transactions sent to me which I can find in blockexplorer. Deepbit is cheating? Mass panic, panic sell  Wink?
jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 10:54:50 PM
 #15

darkwon, is your transaction still 0/unconfirmed?

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
July 24, 2011, 11:48:35 PM
 #16

This can happen sometimes, it just means who ever found those blocks decided not to include those transactions, it will most likely be in the next few blocks.

I keep reading this over and over...

Now, million bitcoin question: How the hell do they decide which transactions to include?

Or does this question need another thread? Tongue



notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 12:14:19 AM
 #17

This can happen sometimes, it just means who ever found those blocks decided not to include those transactions, it will most likely be in the next few blocks.

I keep reading this over and over...

Now, million bitcoin question: How the hell do they decide which transactions to include?

Or does this question need another thread? Tongue





Priority is calculated from the size of the transaction (in kb) and the length of time the sending account has been idle.  This is necessary to prevent transaction spam.  If your transaction is low priority, the client should suggest a fee Be included.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 12:32:25 AM
 #18

This can happen sometimes, it just means who ever found those blocks decided not to include those transactions, it will most likely be in the next few blocks.

I keep reading this over and over...

Now, million bitcoin question: How the hell do they decide which transactions to include?

Or does this question need another thread? Tongue


Priority is calculated from the size of the transaction (in kb) and the length of time the sending account has been idle.  This is necessary to prevent transaction spam.  If your transaction is low priority, the client should suggest a fee Be included.

If it's an algorithm that calculates the transaction priority and decides if it's included in the block or not, people should stop saying that whoever finds the block is the one to decide to include transactions(or not).
If it's like you say, miners don't decide s***. The software does, without any input from them.

kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 04:26:15 AM
 #19

This can happen sometimes, it just means who ever found those blocks decided not to include those transactions, it will most likely be in the next few blocks.

I keep reading this over and over...

Now, million bitcoin question: How the hell do they decide which transactions to include?

Or does this question need another thread? Tongue


Priority is calculated from the size of the transaction (in kb) and the length of time the sending account has been idle.  This is necessary to prevent transaction spam.  If your transaction is low priority, the client should suggest a fee Be included.

If it's an algorithm that calculates the transaction priority and decides if it's included in the block or not, people should stop saying that whoever finds the block is the one to decide to include transactions(or not).
If it's like you say, miners don't decide s***. The software does, without any input from them.

The big pools actually do customize their rules.  BTC Guild never pays fees on their own payouts, for example, because their node software will always accept them, even if other pools do not.  And I think that slush will automatically accept any and all transactions without regard to fees paid, but don't quote me on that.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!