Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 01:16:32 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Terminus R808 Miner Official Support Thread  (Read 16812 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
vh (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699
Merit: 666


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 02:00:59 AM
Last edit: September 15, 2018, 06:22:33 AM by vh
 #1

########################################
#GekkoScience Terminus R808 (BM1384) Miner Official Support Thread#
########################################


Meet the Terminus R808 **Release Announcement Link**


=================
=Thanks To The Community=
=================

Woot!  A big Thanks for the continued community support.  
These little miner's continued advancements forward can't happen without it.






--
What the port face looks like. We've got USB-A for 5V power out, and a mini USB for control. 12V can be drawn from either a PCIe 6-pin jack or a 2.1/5.5mm barrel jack (for running off a brick). The blue knob is used to adjust core voltage from about 0.63 to 0.80V chip-level, basically the same range as the 2Pac. It can be assembled with a vertical (pictured) or right-angle (front-facing) adjuster.

This guy has an onboard microcontroller that handles fan speed via PWM, detects "ZOMBIE" condition and resets the chips automatically, and will overtemp-shutdown at 80C (to restart mining below 70C).

It's a 100mm square sitting on rubber feet, but there are M3 screwholes at each corner for stacking or mounting in a case.

This miner is built with 8x BM1384 hashing chips. I will be using this form-factor as a standard going forward, so newer versions with better chips will be physically compatible.

For all you flashy-light enthusiasts, it's got a base blue LED and blinks white with returned shares.
--

=================
=How to Run=
=================

Same as the 2Pac.    Follow the build instruction to compile from source and run.

Run syntax:

*nix [if not root level privileges, see Q&A]
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x

Windows
cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x

OS X
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x


Linux cgminer build steps

    Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS new install.
    Default Install (+OpenSSH server)

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libudev-dev
    
mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2



    Debian 8.7.1 new install.
        Default Install (No desktop environment, + SSH Server)
        (*do not specify root password to enable sudo)
   
    or Raspbian - Kernel version: 4.4 (Raspberry Pi)

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev screen libtool automake pkg-config libjansson-dev

mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2



Mac OSX Compiling with Homebrew

    El Capitan (10.11.6)

Code:
/usr/bin/ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)"
brew doctor
brew tap vthoang/cgminer
brew install cgminer


Windows pre-compiled binary  (use 7zip, WinRAR, or WinZip to open the archive):

     Sept 14th @ abe37de - cgminer-4.11.1-windows-gekko-abe37de.7z
     Feb 27th @ 1fccd3d - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-1fccd3d.7z
     Feb 26th @ d5fba8e - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-d5fba8e.7z
     Feb 25th @ eb57c34 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-eb57c34.7z
     Feb 24th @ d245c0d - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-d245c0d.7z

Install the zadig generic WinUSB drivers from:

http://zadig.akeo.ie

If all is well, you can list and see the miner from cgminer.
Code:
cgminer.exe -n


=================
=FAQ=
=================
Todo: Place useful consolidated thread info here...


Q.  How do I get one?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1845307.msg32983042#msg32983042


Q.  I heard there is extra startup parameters for the Terminus?

The default should be fine, but to adjust the startup behavior these extra options are available:

--gekko-start-freq <arg>
Ramp start frequency MHz 25-500 (default: 100)

--gekko-step-freq <arg>
Ramp frequency step MHz 1-100 (default: 25)

--gekko-step-delay <arg>
Ramp step interval in seconds, range 1-600 (default: 15)


Q.  How fast do these things mine at?

With the default settings, this miner should produce 66Gh/s @150MHz.  more details




1713532592
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713532592

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713532592
Reply with quote  #2

1713532592
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
vh (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699
Merit: 666


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 02:01:15 AM
 #2

** Reserved **

jdesarro
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 06:27:22 AM
 #3

Apologies, totally jumping the gun here, super grateful to be in the early receivers group.

Connected my new Terminus to my Ubuntu PC controller as soon as I got it.  The PC was running with a COMPAC and a 2PAC in the stock USB 2.0 ports, 150MHz and 100MHz respectively.  CGMINER found the 808 right away, ran it at 100MHz, and CKPOOL started taking shares.  I saw this awesome threesome get up to a 5 min rate of around 110GH/s.

I checked my user account 20 mins later and the rate was down to the original 19GH/s.  The Terminus was continuously failing and restarting.  I took everything apart, pulled the latest VTOHANG fork of CGMINER, and recompiled.  I connected just the Terminus, started up CGMINER, using only pool switches, piping it to log.txt:
Code:
[2018-02-23 23:51:42.102] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-02-23 23:51:42.102] Loaded configuration file /home/jdesarro/.cgminer/cgminer.conf
 [2018-02-23 23:51:42.102] Fatal JSON error in configuration file.
 [2018-02-23 23:51:42.102] Configuration file could not be used.
 [2018-02-23 23:51:42.401] GSE 0: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
 [2018-02-23 23:51:42.711] Probing for an alive pool
 [2018-02-23 23:51:42.982] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-02-23 23:51:43.104] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4000
 [2018-02-23 23:51:43.177] Pool 0 message: Authorised, welcome to ckpool.org 1CPN5qhTcQsc62ZoFJPEsnseujmJcHLaBY!
 [2018-02-23 23:51:43.254] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 40
 [2018-02-23 23:51:43.254] Network diff set to 3.01T
 [2018-02-23 23:51:43.645] GSE 0: open cores @ 100.00MHz
cgminer version 4.10.0 - Started: [2018-02-23 23:51:43.711]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (1m):0.000 (5m):0.000 (15m):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s
 A:0  R:0  HW:0  WU:0.0/m
 Connected to pool.ckpool.org diff 4K with stratum as user 1CPN5qhTcQsc62ZoFJPEsnseujmJcHLaBY
 Block: 5299f960...  Diff:3.01T  Started: [23:51:43.254]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: GSE 10030035: COMPAC-8 200.00MHz HW:0 | 3.835G / 14.82Gh/s WU:0.0/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[2018-02-23 23:51:42.102] Started cgminer 4.10.0
[2018-02-23 23:51:42.102] Loaded configuration file /.../.cgminer/cgminer.conf
[2018-02-23 23:51:42.102] Fatal JSON error in configuration file.
[2018-02-23 23:51:42.102] Configuration file could not be used.
[2018-02-23 23:51:42.401] GSE 0: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:51:42.711] Probing for an alive pool
[2018-02-23 23:51:42.982] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:51:43.104] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4000
[2018-02-23 23:51:43.177] Pool 0 message: Authorised, welcome to ckpool.org 1CPN5qhTcQsc62ZoFJPEsnseujmJcHLaBY!
[2018-02-23 23:51:43.254] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 40
[2018-02-23 23:51:43.254] Network diff set to 3.01T
[2018-02-23 23:51:43.645] GSE 0: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:51:46.208] GSE 0 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:51:49.020] GSE 1: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:51:49.330] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 1
[2018-02-23 23:51:49.601] GSE 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:51:50.265] GSE 1: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:51:51.531] GSE 1 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:51:54.635] GSE 2: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:51:54.945] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 2
[2018-02-23 23:51:55.216] GSE 2: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:51:55.879] GSE 2: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:51:57.096] GSE 2 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:52:00.252] GSE 3: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:52:00.562] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 3
[2018-02-23 23:52:00.833] GSE 3: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:01.496] GSE 3: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:02.828] GSE 3 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:52:05.884] GSE 4: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:52:06.193] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 4
[2018-02-23 23:52:06.464] GSE 4: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:07.128] GSE 4: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:07.511] GSE 4 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:52:11.513] GSE 5: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:52:11.823] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 5
[2018-02-23 23:52:12.094] GSE 5: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:12.758] GSE 5: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:13.415] GSE 5 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:52:17.135] GSE 6: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:52:17.445] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 6
[2018-02-23 23:52:17.717] GSE 6: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:18.380] GSE 6: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:21.299] GSE 6 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:52:22.744] GSE 7: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:52:23.054] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 7
[2018-02-23 23:52:23.326] GSE 7: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:23.990] GSE 7: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:25.978] GSE 7 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:52:28.360] GSE 8: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:52:28.670] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 8
[2018-02-23 23:52:28.941] GSE 8: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:29.605] GSE 8: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:29.653] GSE 8 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:52:33.989] GSE 9: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030035)
[2018-02-23 23:52:34.299] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 9
[2018-02-23 23:52:34.570] GSE 9: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:35.234] GSE 9: open cores @ 100.00MHz
[2018-02-23 23:52:36.437] GSE 9 failure, disabling!
[2018-02-23 23:52:38.098] Shutdown signal received.
[2018-02-23 23:52:38.147]
Summary of runtime statistics:               
[2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Started at [2018-02-23 23:51:43.711]                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Pool: stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Runtime: 0 hrs : 0 mins : 54 secs                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Average hashrate: 2887.7 Mhash/s                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Solved blocks: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Best share difficulty: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Share submissions: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Accepted shares: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Rejected shares: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Accepted difficulty shares: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Rejected difficulty shares: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Hardware errors: 0 
[2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Utility (accepted shares / min): 0.00/min                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.147] Work Utility (diff1 shares solved / min): 0.00/min       
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] Unable to get work from server occasions: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] Work items generated locally: 30                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] New blocks detected on network: 1
[2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] Summary of per device statistics:
[2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 0 (5s):235.8M (avg):640.0Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 1 (5s):111.2M (avg):196.1Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 2 (5s):183.2M (avg):221.5Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 3 (5s):538.1M (avg):435.4Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 4 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 5 (5s):294.4M (avg):153.6Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 6 (5s):3.408G (avg):2.079Gh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 7 (5s):2.134G (avg):1.593Gh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 8 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148] GSE 9 (5s):1.521G (avg):2.317Gh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m                   
 [2018-02-23 23:52:38.148]                     

I tried a couple different pot positions/voltage levels, starting clock rate switches (75, 100, 150) in the startup command,  to no noticed change.  I put it back to the "5:00"/max voltage/min resistance setting (where it was when I got the 808).

After this I unplugged the Terminus, plugged in my 1 and 2 chip USB sticks, and came back up normally.

So a couple questions:  Does the Terminus require a Pi controller?  Thoughts on what I should try next?

Thanks
vh (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699
Merit: 666


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 09:33:03 AM
 #4

I just moved the latest stable terminus changes onto the master branch.   
Do another pull and rebuild.

A better start and restart codeset for the Terminus is there.

vh (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699
Merit: 666


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 11:06:51 AM
 #5

Code build : ba94edb  (follow-up to last post)

Terminus updates.  Important for R808 owners.

windows build:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-ba94edb.7z


notes:

clean up terminus startup / restart.

expose ramp up options:

starting frequency / step up frequency / step up delay

--gekko-start-freq <arg> Ramp start frequency MHz 25-500 (default: 100)
--gekko-step-freq <arg> Ramp frequency step MHz 1-100 (default: 25)
--gekko-step-delay <arg> Ramp step interval range 1-600 (default: 15)


installation:

rename folder -> checkout (see first post) -> autogen -> make
or
pull -> autogen -> make

* if you have trouble... report it here.


DM2008
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 01:54:10 PM
 #6

The start frequency is obvious, but how do the step and delay settings work?  Where does it stop?

Thanks!
vh (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699
Merit: 666


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 02:32:17 PM
Last edit: February 24, 2018, 02:55:50 PM by vh
 #7

Checked in a small update to remove some additional test item that leaked over.
Pull and build if you are following along.  

windows build:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-d245c0d.7z

Updates may be happening frequently the next 2-4 weeks so check back and do a pull while I iron out any reported anomalies.


The frequency defaults to 150Mhz.   You can change that by requesting a new frequecy using

--gekko-terminus-freq <arg> Set GekkoScience Terminus BM1384 frequency in MHz, range 6.25-500 (default: 150.0)

The previously mentioned options are ramping values.
default: start at 100MHz, increment by 25MHz (step) every 15 (delay) seconds.



(edit)

So with the config save available and working, make sure you edit there if you've saved out a config file.  

It takes precedence over any command line options.  

Just a reminder in case you're in a situation where command line options are not applying.  

Adjust or remove the default config file [~/.cgminer/cgminer.conf] if it exists from a previous config save.

419mining
Copper Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190
Merit: 111

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2018, 03:14:15 PM
 #8

Hey VH/Sidehack. Super excited for this release. For the barrel jack connector, i saw on the announcement release, it uses about 4.5 amps at 12V.
So based on that, a standard LED strip light power pack should work. something like this? http://amzn.to/2FsOMP1

100MHz (44GH) 660mV/node 2.64V total; 12V 1.4A for 16.8W/0.38J/GH
125MHz (55GH) 660mV/node 2.64V total; 12V 1.7A for 20.4W/0.37J/GH
150MHz (66GH) 660mV/node 2.64V total; 12V 2.0A for 24.0W/0.36J/GH
175MHz (77GH) 693mV/node 2.77V total; 12V 2.5A for 30.0W/0.39J/GH
200MHz (88GH) 715mV/node 2.86V total; 12V 3.1A for 37.2W/0.42J/GH
225MHz (99GH) 755mV/node 3.02V total; 12V 3.8A for 45.6W/0.46J/GH
250MHz (110GH) 770mV/node 3.08V total; 12V 4.4A for 52.8W/0.48J/GH
275MHz (121GH) 770mV/node 3.08V total; 12V 4.9A for 58.8W/0.49J/GH


*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 4102
Merit: 7722


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2018, 03:21:59 PM
Last edit: February 24, 2018, 03:50:54 PM by philipma1957
 #9

Hey VH/Sidehack. Super excited for this release. For the barrel jack connector, i saw on the announcement release, it uses about 4.5 amps at 12V.
So based on that, a standard LED strip light power pack should work. something like this? http://amzn.to/2FsOMP1

100MHz (44GH) 660mV/node 2.64V total; 12V 1.4A for 16.8W/0.38J/GH
125MHz (55GH) 660mV/node 2.64V total; 12V 1.7A for 20.4W/0.37J/GH
150MHz (66GH) 660mV/node 2.64V total; 12V 2.0A for 24.0W/0.36J/GH
175MHz (77GH) 693mV/node 2.77V total; 12V 2.5A for 30.0W/0.39J/GH
200MHz (88GH) 715mV/node 2.86V total; 12V 3.1A for 37.2W/0.42J/GH
225MHz (99GH) 755mV/node 3.02V total; 12V 3.8A for 45.6W/0.46J/GH
250MHz (110GH) 770mV/node 3.08V total; 12V 4.4A for 52.8W/0.48J/GH
275MHz (121GH) 770mV/node 3.08V total; 12V 4.9A for 58.8W/0.49J/GH



that is junk  I will get you a better link

this will do 3 units

https://www.trcelectronics.com/ecomm/pdf/hrp200.pdf
https://www.trcelectronics.com/View/Mean-Well/HRP-200-12.shtml

88% efficient


use with these  as they are 22 ga not 24 or 26   just cut off the end that does not fit.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/10-Pack-of-36-22AWG-DC-Power-Cable-Male-to-Male-5-5mm-X-2-1mm-Barrel-Plugs/192150513189?


better yet buy these

https://www.ebay.com/itm/5-5mm-x-2-5mm-5-5-2-5-DC-Power-Barrel-Jack-Screw-terminal-Pack-of-2/381843414717?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/50-Speaker-Wire-18-AWG-Ga-Gauge-High-Quality-Car-or-Home-Audio-Guage/361647935149?


and cut to length 

3 rigs per psu  88% efficient

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 05:16:06 PM
 #10

You can also use a power supply from a computer like I did:



I had a spare one laying around.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 4102
Merit: 7722


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2018, 05:58:55 PM
 #11

You can also use a power supply from a computer like I did:



I had a spare one laying around.

that works well .  just as long as he does not use those bricks he linked

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 11:27:11 PM
 #12

Guess I'll be the first one with a problem  Huh  I had 2 of them go zombie and didn't look like they were coming back.
I power cycled one/ unplugged the usb after ejecting it, plugged it back on to Nothing.
Not sure what I am doing wrong....Help pls  Grin



vh (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699
Merit: 666


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 12:06:59 AM
 #13

Guess I'll be the first one with a problem  Huh  I had 2 of them go zombie and didn't look like they were coming back.
I power cycled one/ unplugged the usb after ejecting it, plugged it back on to Nothing.
Not sure what I am doing wrong....Help pls  Grin


Start with the latest code build available in the opening post.   
Looks like you are a couple of builds behind.

goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 12:26:04 AM
 #14

will give that a try and reboot my computer just in case, thx
kipper01
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214
Merit: 100

1KippERXwH1PdBxKNt1ksgqh89WBv6CtWQ


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 01:03:03 AM
 #15

Not sure what this is....Duplicate Nonce?

 [2018-02-24 19:59:20.939] GSE 0: Duplicate Nonce : 03c760ca @ 04 [03 c7 60 ca 84 00 00]
 [2018-02-24 19:59:22.952] GSE 0: Duplicate Nonce : 05a0d226 @ 1b [05 a0 d2 26 9b 00 00]
 [2018-02-24 19:59:26.234] GSE 0: Duplicate Nonce : 187de424 @ 15 [18 7d e4 24 95 00 00]

vh (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699
Merit: 666


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 01:15:12 AM
 #16

Not sure what this is....Duplicate Nonce?

 [2018-02-24 19:59:20.939] GSE 0: Duplicate Nonce : 03c760ca @ 04 [03 c7 60 ca 84 00 00]
 [2018-02-24 19:59:22.952] GSE 0: Duplicate Nonce : 05a0d226 @ 1b [05 a0 d2 26 9b 00 00]
 [2018-02-24 19:59:26.234] GSE 0: Duplicate Nonce : 187de424 @ 15 [18 7d e4 24 95 00 00]

debugging that is left on...

it's normal for it to appear for a brief moment when the frequency or chip state changes.

i'll move it to a different log level on the next build.

minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 02:49:01 AM
 #17

So I got my four shiny Termini in the mail today... and I can't get them functioning. Anyone willing to help out?

I am using the included power supply with the build kit sidehack included for each one.

My controller is an old laptop I have lying around running WindowsXP.

I downloaded VH's build for windows posted above. I can get the things mining but I am running into problems:

1) The laptop has 3 usb ports. I, in my eagerness, ordered 4 units. I was thinking I would just plug two of them into a USB hub and then the hub into the controller - when I do that cgminer recognizes all 4 miners but all 4 function at a horrible hashrate of 10-20ghash. If I pull off the splitter and use only three miners the average is around 60ghash each. What is going on? The power supply is separate for each of these and not supplied through the USB splitter, so I don't know why it would drop the hashrates of all the miners, even the ones not connected to the splitter...

2) When I get three of them up and running, within less than 3 minutes or so, one of them invariably gets a failure warning and resets. CGminer then assigns it a new miner number and the process with the ramp up starts over again. Withing 20 minutes I start out with miners 0, 1, and 2, and end up with something like 1, 12, 11 from frequent failures. Occasionally the failure causes CGminer to crash and I either have to restart the system or unplug the miners and restart GGminer to get it working again.

I'm not a tech guy - I work on humans not computers - so please help me in your most dumbed-down language possible Smiley

Thanks in advance!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3304
Merit: 1842

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 03:08:06 AM
 #18

What frequency are you trying to run at? Does your old laptop also have old USB (like 1.1 vs 2.0)? It's incredibly unlikely that power is costing you hashrate. Power's sort of an all-or-nothing deal. What could be costing you is trying to run too high a frequency for the voltage setting and the string trips out and resets, or your USB throughput sucks and they're not getting enough work to stay busy.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 03:51:10 AM
 #19

What frequency are you trying to run at? Does your old laptop also have old USB (like 1.1 vs 2.0)? It's incredibly unlikely that power is costing you hashrate. Power's sort of an all-or-nothing deal. What could be costing you is trying to run too high a frequency for the voltage setting and the string trips out and resets, or your USB throughput sucks and they're not getting enough work to stay busy.

Hey! Sidehack! Just wanted to say personally how awesome these are, despite my incompetence...

I'm pretty sure I've got USB 2.0, I'll look into that.

Interestingly, I moved these into another room and probably mixed up which miner was plugged into which USB hub - now I'm no longer getting the failure error or CGminer crashing - but before when it ramped up it would eventually reach the default max of 200mHz before things started failing. Now its not going above 150 and I changed nothing except which miner was plugged in where. Odd. Even so, at 150 my hash rate is only 30-40 per miner which is below the anticipated 66 from the specs above, so I still have some work to do.

I suspect it may indeed be the voltage setting. How do I adjust that? These didn't come with an instruction manual so I want to make sure I do this properly without potentially damaging the units...
vh (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699
Merit: 666


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 06:51:24 AM
 #20

New build is available (eb57c34).  Git pull and build on *unix for latest.

- force continue on partial usb write failure.
  ^ better resume path in a very specific reset scenario.
- moved duplicate nonce from log_warning to log_info.

windows binary:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-eb57c34.7z



Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!