Bitcoin Forum
November 13, 2018, 07:52:05 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: First post for a newbie, need to stop lurking.  (Read 613 times)
cyberwarrior
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 28, 2013, 07:19:32 PM
 #1

So I have been lurking for a while now and want to come out of the shadows.

 So I have questions and hope someone can help, I'm using Bitcoin-Qt for my wallet and curious thing in that after I get the full blockchain downloaded and it says that I'm up to date, two days later I try to open my wallet and I get a corrupt database message and it wants to download the blockchain all over again.  Fortunately I made a backup and just did a restore but its not the first time this has happened to me, can someone clue in a newbie as to why this is happening.

Thanks!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542095525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542095525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542095525
Reply with quote  #2

1542095525
Report to moderator
1542095525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542095525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542095525
Reply with quote  #2

1542095525
Report to moderator
1542095525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542095525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542095525
Reply with quote  #2

1542095525
Report to moderator
cyberwarrior
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 28, 2013, 07:34:27 PM
 #2

Thanks I will have to check them out.
Anon135246
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 28, 2013, 07:44:10 PM
 #3

Welcome to the forums, also a very happy inputs.io user Smiley
xypos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 28, 2013, 08:31:01 PM
 #4

Welcome.

You can also use blockchain.info with 2FA and you should not have any problems (to get hacked, or the hassle to download the whole chain).














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
marcovaldo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 28, 2013, 08:37:49 PM
 #5

Welcome on board

BITEX
            ███     ███     ███
              ███     ███     ███
                ███     ███     ███
                  ███     ███     ███
                    ███     ███     ███
                      ███     ███     ███
                        ███     ███     ███
                          ███     ███     ███
                            ███     ███     ███
                              ███     ███     ███
                            ███     ███     ███
                          ███     ███     ███
                        ███     ███     ███
                      ███     ███     ███
                    ███     ███     ███
                  ███     ███     ███
                ███     ███     ███
              ███     ███     ███
            ███     ███     ███

The First Locally-Embedded, Yet Global, Crypto-Bank
TELEGRAM    FACEBOOK   TWITTER    YOUTUBE    LINE

                  ███     ███     ███
                ███     ███     ███
              ███     ███     ███
            ███     ███     ███
          ███     ███     ███
        ███     ███     ███
      ███     ███     ███
    ███     ███     ███
  ███     ███     ███
███     ███     ███
  ███     ███     ███
    ███     ███     ███
      ███     ███     ███
        ███     ███     ███
          ███     ███     ███
            ███     ███     ███
              ███     ███     ███
               ███     ███     ███
                 ███     ███     ███

WHITEPAPER | ANN
JOIN WHITELIST NOW!
pacojones
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 28, 2013, 08:38:25 PM
 #6

I've been using blockchain.info and armory for a while with NO issues - love them both - but to answer your question please provide some details about your operating system, antivirus, etc.  It's hard to troubleshoot a software corruption issue without these details.

Open4lies
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 501
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 28, 2013, 08:38:38 PM
 #7

How often and many times it happened?
For a start do full scandisk of your HDD, including sectors. You may also check S.M.A.R.T. values from your HDD

cyberwarrior
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 28, 2013, 09:02:16 PM
 #8

Thank you for all your help I decided to go with blockchain.info, fortunately I only had 1 bitcoin so I transferred it over and it was very easy.

Open4lies, I will do a full scandisk of my hard drive and see what that tells me, thanks

pacojones, I am using Win7 64 bit with Windows Security Essentials.  I am going to check the hard drive and do a scandisk and I usually like to wipe my hard drive once a year I think I will do that today it's been a while, I know you guys may think I am crazy but it's something to do.
Argwai96
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Thug for life!


View Profile
September 29, 2013, 01:12:02 AM
 #9

i am still too much of a newb to understand the qt client very well, im just using blockchain online wallet right now myself  Smiley
b!z
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1006



View Profile
September 29, 2013, 05:18:52 AM
 #10

Thank you for all your help I decided to go with blockchain.info, fortunately I only had 1 bitcoin so I transferred it over and it was very easy.

Open4lies, I will do a full scandisk of my hard drive and see what that tells me, thanks

pacojones, I am using Win7 64 bit with Windows Security Essentials.  I am going to check the hard drive and do a scandisk and I usually like to wipe my hard drive once a year I think I will do that today it's been a while, I know you guys may think I am crazy but it's something to do.


make sure to use 2FA on your blockchain.info wallet.
nahtnam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1000


nahtnam.com


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2013, 06:07:16 AM
 #11

Welcome to the forums! Sorry in don't know the answer to your question Sad

tautvilis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 01, 2013, 01:16:17 PM
 #12

First, Hi and welcome Smiley
Second, maybe use inputs.io for starting, for more btc use blockchain.info or coinbase.com
uk1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2013, 02:44:37 PM
 #13

welcome to the forum

b!z
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1006



View Profile
October 02, 2013, 02:11:03 PM
 #14

First, Hi and welcome Smiley
Second, maybe use inputs.io for starting, for more btc use blockchain.info or coinbase.com

Or even better, use an offline wallet.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!