Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2018, 10:31:50 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [ASK] How to import private key from wallet blockchain.info to bitcoin core ?  (Read 97 times)
Dread Pirate Roberts
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 270


Graphic Design*


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 07:27:18 PM
 #1

Need help
Had problem with import private key from blockchain.info wallet to bitcoin core .
i do following thing in here https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Help:How_to_import_private_keys_in_Bitcoin_Core_0.7%2B
still not working ? give me notice "Null"

 Huh

Bitcoin Client Software and Version Number: Bitcoin Core  0.15.1
Operating System: Windows 8.1 64-bit
1540074710
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540074710

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540074710
Reply with quote  #2

1540074710
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540074710
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540074710

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540074710
Reply with quote  #2

1540074710
Report to moderator
1540074710
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540074710

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540074710
Reply with quote  #2

1540074710
Report to moderator
Royse777
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 715
Merit: 561


★ Only one,but a lion ★


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 07:40:49 PM
 #2

What format is your PK? I am not sure how blockchain.info exports the private keys but maybe the format is not supported?

«He who works all day,there is no time to make money.» John Rockefeller
Dread Pirate Roberts
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 270


Graphic Design*


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 07:51:41 PM
 #3

What format is your PK? I am not sure how blockchain.info exports the private keys but maybe the format is not supported?
on blokchain.info show me Private Key Format : WIF its supported or not ?
any recommendation wallet ? i try using electrum but in installation show me fatal error python35.dll   Huh Undecided
Royse777
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 715
Merit: 561


★ Only one,but a lion ★


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 08:36:40 PM
 #4

What format is your PK? I am not sure how blockchain.info exports the private keys but maybe the format is not supported?
on blokchain.info show me Private Key Format : WIF its supported or not ?
any recommendation wallet ? i try using electrum but in installation show me fatal error python35.dll   Huh Undecided

Where did you download Electrum?

WiF should be supported yes.

«He who works all day,there is no time to make money.» John Rockefeller
Xynerise
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 280

39twH4PSYgDSzU7sLnRoDfthR6gWYrrPoD


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 09:53:49 PM
 #5


on blokchain.info show me Private Key Format : WIF its supported or not ?
Blockchain.info is a BIP39-supprted HD wallet so I doubt it will give you a WIF key because a private key only corresponds to a particular address and a different address is used anytime you make or receive a payment.
It should give you a list of 12 or so words (called the seed/mnemonic phrase) that a wallet can interpret to generate all your used addresses.
A WIF private key is an alphanumeric string that starts with 5, K or L, eg
Code:
KwfNqMip1ZdgG2o6wYQUBXv8BqkMQ8VWWeScVU5TLPZp31M5EHeq
If your private key doesn't look like this then it's not a WIF private key.
Also, while Bitcoin Core is a HD wallet, you can't import BIP 39 seeds directly; you can only import WIF private keys so you either have to use another wallet where you can import the seed directly (eg Electrum), or get the private key of your address{es} that contain bitcoin from the seed using Ian Coleman's BIP39 tool.

Quote
any recommendation wallet ? i try using electrum but in installation show me fatal error python35.dll   Huh Undecided
If you have a "missing python35.dll" error then either your download was corrupt or your antivirus deleted the python35.dll file when the installer extracted it.
If you have an antivirus active disable it temporarily and retry.

Also, check the source where you downloaded Electrum, it should be electrum.org, and compare the signature of the downloaded file with the one on the website.
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 932

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 10:02:01 PM
 #6

still not working ? give me notice "Null"
No, that is EXACTLY what it should say if the import HAS worked! Wink

That is to say, "null" means the importprivkey has completed without an error. If you goto "File -> Receiving Addresses", you should be able to see the addresses related to the private keys you imported.

You should only be concerned if you get an "ERROR" output from importprivkey

Dread Pirate Roberts
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 270


Graphic Design*


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 02:00:16 AM
 #7

Quote
If you have a "missing python35.dll" error then either your download was corrupt or your antivirus deleted the python35.dll file when the installer extracted it.
If you have an antivirus active disable it temporarily and retry.

Also, check the source where you downloaded Electrum, it should be electrum.org, and compare the signature of the downloaded file with the one on the website.

yes i download i from electrum.org i try 3 installer windows from it . standalone . installer and signature all same give error python35.dll
i try again later with all av off . its include windows defender ?


still not working ? give me notice "Null"
No, that is EXACTLY what it should say if the import HAS worked! Wink

That is to say, "null" means the importprivkey has completed without an error. If you goto "File -> Receiving Addresses", you should be able to see the addresses related to the private keys you imported.

You should only be concerned if you get an "ERROR" output from importprivkey

aaah i see . i can see my address there . thankyou! .
to be able see total coin in my address should wait sync time finish ?
from here notice me Estimate time left until sync " 4 weeks "  Shocked

edit :  Estimate time left until sync " 12 Days "  it will always decrese at the time ?
TryNinja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 780


ChipMixer's Badge of Honor


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 02:25:35 AM
 #8

yes i download i from electrum.org i try 3 installer windows from it . standalone . installer and signature all same give error python35.dll
i try again later with all av off . its include windows defender ?
Try to update your Windows to the latest version and/or install Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015.

to be able see total coin in my address should wait sync time finish ?
Yes.

HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 932

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 04:55:39 AM
 #9

yes i download i from electrum.org i try 3 installer windows from it . standalone . installer and signature all same give error python35.dll
i try again later with all av off . its include windows defender ?
No... it's not your antivirus blocking anything. It is a "quirk" with the newer versions of Electrum and older versions of Windows (ie. Win 7/8). Windows 10 does not have this problem. So, as TryNinja suggested, you need to either upgrade to Win10 or try the "fix" by installing the VC++ redist, which should fix the issue...


Quote
aaah i see . i can see my address there . thankyou! .
to be able see total coin in my address should wait sync time finish ?
from here notice me Estimate time left until sync " 4 weeks "  Shocked

edit :  Estimate time left until sync " 12 Days "  it will always decrese at the time ?
You won't see ALL your coins, until you have synced to at least the block that your last transaction was included in.

As for the estimated time, it'll jump around a bit based on various factors... there are 3 things that affect the sync time of Bitcoin Core...

1. Internet Connection:
You're downloading 170+Gigs of blockchain... it takes a while Tongue

2. CPU power:
You're having to validate 170+Gigs worth of bitcoin blocks... that takes a bit of CPU processing power!

3. Storage speed:
Reading and writing 170+Gigs worth of blockchain data while storing and validating blocks requires decent storage speed. Mechanical HDD's are SLOW... SSD's are FAST...

If any of these three items is "slow", then the full sync can easily take days...


If you're in a hurry, your best bet is to try and get Electrum going... otherwise, just let Bitcoin Core sync up.

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 605



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2018, 03:02:40 PM
 #10

Had problem with import private key from blockchain.info wallet to bitcoin core .

I want to add that its not recommended to import a private key from blockchain.info to a personal (desktop-) wallet.
This private key should be regarded as compromised, since it already has been in the possession of someone else (not you).

Security-wise it would be much more recommended to simply send your funds to your new core wallet.
Since the mempool is kind of empty at the moment and your TX will get confirmed within the next 1-3 blocks with a fee of 5-10 sat/B thats the best option IMO.
Additionally to the benefit of having a private key which hasn't been (and still is) owned by another company, which reduces a big risk..
you also get the chance to consolidate your UTXO's. This will make your next TX being smaller in size (and therefore cheaper to transfer when the mempool (fee) rises again)

Dread Pirate Roberts
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 270


Graphic Design*


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 11:11:05 PM
 #11

Try to update your Windows to the latest version and/or install Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015.


No... it's not your antivirus blocking anything. It is a "quirk" with the newer versions of Electrum and older versions of Windows (ie. Win 7/8). Windows 10 does not have this problem. So, as TryNinja suggested, you need to either upgrade to Win10 or try the "fix" by installing the VC++ redist, which should fix the issue...


Solved :

when strict to install Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015 . its giving another error
what i do :
Code:
-update microsoft software from windows update from here https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge/api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0-dll-missing-error-solved/#way1
-then install Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015
-it works when iam uninstall electrum first, and then install again .

Ty !  tryninja , HCP
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!