Bitcoin Forum
March 01, 2017, 06:04:27 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5830 Cards OC'd, GUI and Display Errors  (Read 846 times)
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:25:46 AM
 #1

I currently have two 5830s blazing at 980Mhz each and their heat has peaked at 76C on the hottest day of the summer thus far. Despite the relatively low heat, I am getting a number of GUI and Display errors while mining. The GUI errors involve skewed text/pics and random "bits" appearing on the screen while the display error tends to freeze my cursor and cause the screen to go black until I am informed that a driver error was resolved.

I'm wondering if I am pushing these cards too hard despite the low temps or whether this is simply the result of a faulty card or software error. I am in Win7 and this is not a dedicated rig, for the record.

Thanks in advance.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1488391467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488391467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488391467
Reply with quote  #2

1488391467
Report to moderator
1488391467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488391467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488391467
Reply with quote  #2

1488391467
Report to moderator
1488391467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488391467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488391467
Reply with quote  #2

1488391467
Report to moderator
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:37:16 AM
 #2

What miner are you using, and what flags with it?  My guess is it's the -f, aggression, or similar flag.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:42:16 AM
 #3

GUIMiner, OpenCL, flags: -v -w256 AGGRESSION = 0

Whenever I try Phoenix with phatk I can barely navigate my OS.
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:45:44 AM
 #4

Try taking out AGGRESSION = 0 and put in -f30, I think you may have the flag for the wrong type of miner in there.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:48:12 AM
 #5

Trying it out thanks. The mhash looks the same but we'll see about the errors.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:51:53 AM
 #6

Just got the display driver error again so I don't believe that was it.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:56:10 AM
 #7

And here's what it looks like for the record:



Very fun to read off of.
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:10:50 AM
 #8

What catalyst and app sdk versions are you using?
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:40:37 AM
 #9

I thought I had Catalyst 11.6B but it shows up as 11.7. SDK 2.4
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!