Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:33:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5830 Cards OC'd, GUI and Display Errors  (Read 830 times)
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:25:46 AM
 #1

I currently have two 5830s blazing at 980Mhz each and their heat has peaked at 76C on the hottest day of the summer thus far. Despite the relatively low heat, I am getting a number of GUI and Display errors while mining. The GUI errors involve skewed text/pics and random "bits" appearing on the screen while the display error tends to freeze my cursor and cause the screen to go black until I am informed that a driver error was resolved.

I'm wondering if I am pushing these cards too hard despite the low temps or whether this is simply the result of a faulty card or software error. I am in Win7 and this is not a dedicated rig, for the record.

Thanks in advance.
1481020433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481020433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481020433
Reply with quote  #2

1481020433
Report to moderator
1481020433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481020433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481020433
Reply with quote  #2

1481020433
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:37:16 AM
 #2

What miner are you using, and what flags with it?  My guess is it's the -f, aggression, or similar flag.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:42:16 AM
 #3

GUIMiner, OpenCL, flags: -v -w256 AGGRESSION = 0

Whenever I try Phoenix with phatk I can barely navigate my OS.
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:45:44 AM
 #4

Try taking out AGGRESSION = 0 and put in -f30, I think you may have the flag for the wrong type of miner in there.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:48:12 AM
 #5

Trying it out thanks. The mhash looks the same but we'll see about the errors.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:51:53 AM
 #6

Just got the display driver error again so I don't believe that was it.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:56:10 AM
 #7

And here's what it looks like for the record:



Very fun to read off of.
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:10:50 AM
 #8

What catalyst and app sdk versions are you using?
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:40:37 AM
 #9

I thought I had Catalyst 11.6B but it shows up as 11.7. SDK 2.4
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!