Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 07:10:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer s9 and slushpool hashrate drops off  (Read 118 times)
kaoscoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 03:12:57 PM
 #1

Hi

All started ok with slushpool and Antminer S9 but after getting monitoring e-mails I can see there are issues of keeping continuous mining
all around the clock impossible.
Miner status seems to be ok but I have to reboot miner again daily to get it up and running. Is this software error?
Is there some kind of built-in malware affecting my miner?

Please see image https://aijaa.com/img/b/00811/14533184.jpg



(Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove inline image tags.)
1534533010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534533010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534533010
Reply with quote  #2

1534533010
Report to moderator
1534533010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534533010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534533010
Reply with quote  #2

1534533010
Report to moderator
1534533010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534533010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534533010
Reply with quote  #2

1534533010
Report to moderator
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534533010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534533010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534533010
Reply with quote  #2

1534533010
Report to moderator
1534533010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534533010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534533010
Reply with quote  #2

1534533010
Report to moderator
the_electronrancher
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 4


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 05:52:14 PM
 #2

Post a kernel log from the device, that will help with debug.

One guess would be a router problem
Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 33

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2018, 07:34:14 PM
 #3

All started ok with slushpool and Antminer S9 but after getting monitoring e-mails I can see there are issues of keeping continuous mining
all around the clock impossible.
Miner status seems to be ok but I have to reboot miner again daily to get it up and running. Is this software error?
Is there some kind of built-in malware affecting my miner?

I get quite frequent alerts from Slushpool that my hashrate is low. **But** do not simply go off their alerting, it's pretty common. When you get the alert go to your miner's status page and check current hashrate and average, most of the time you'll find your miner is fine and it's just an issue on the pool end. I also use AwesomeMiner and use the performance history, that way I know for sure how the temp and hashrate of the miner is doing over time.



(Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to trim the quote from kaoscoin.)

kaoscoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 08:15:24 PM
 #4

I might as well turn the reporting off  Roll Eyes
In antminer settings hashrate is always at least 14Gh/s so it´s more like in pools end.

If there´s any good solo mining pools which might be easier for beginners like
me to get constant hashrate and don´t have to worry about mining with pool consensus.
I also mine litecoins with L3+ and get constant payments.Solo mining with L3+ is almost
automatic when compared to mining bitcoins with s9.

Did you mean this? http://www.awesomeminer.com/
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1292


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 08:35:01 PM
 #5

Try a different pool for a day

Also consider higher quality Ethernet cables.

A long cable run of cat 5 will drop out once in a while.

Also if you WiFi mine it could be dropouts.

I fixed an issue for one miner by sending a good cat 7 cable to replace his old cat 5

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
kaoscoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 08:38:56 PM
 #6

Try a different pool for a day

Also consider higher quality Ethernet cables.

A long cable run of cat 5 will drop out once in a while.

Also if you WiFi mine it could be dropouts.

I fixed an issue for one miner by sending a good cat 7 cable to replace his old cat 5
it´s a new cable but it´s very long and connected to 4G Wifi modem. I think it´s 20 metres long.
Do you think shorter cable or a router would fix it?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1292


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 11:00:22 PM
 #7

Try a different pool for a day

Also consider higher quality Ethernet cables.

A long cable run of cat 5 will drop out once in a while.

Also if you WiFi mine it could be dropouts.

I fixed an issue for one miner by sending a good cat 7 cable to replace his old cat 5
it´s a new cable but it´s very long and connected to 4G Wifi modem. I think it´s 20 metres long.
Do you think shorter cable or a router would fix it?

A router with a 10 meter cable to a ethernet switch to a 10 meter cable would work


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 33

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
March 05, 2018, 12:35:55 AM
 #8

Try a different pool for a day

Also consider higher quality Ethernet cables.

A long cable run of cat 5 will drop out once in a while.

Also if you WiFi mine it could be dropouts.

I fixed an issue for one miner by sending a good cat 7 cable to replace his old cat 5
it´s a new cable but it´s very long and connected to 4G Wifi modem. I think it´s 20 metres long.
Do you think shorter cable or a router would fix it?

Will the connection still ultimately go through the 4G Wifi modem?

If so then you are going to have to accept that depending on signal strength you will not always the best connection. Bottom line, if that's the best Internet connection you have then let it run and don't sweat the alerts from the pool. I'd also look at the Daily hashrate that Slush shows. That's a better average to gauge what's going on.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1292


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 03:43:52 AM
 #9

Will the connection still ultimately go through the 4G Wifi modem?

If so then you are going to have to accept that depending on signal strength you will not always the best connection. Bottom line, if that's the best Internet connection you have then let it run and don't sweat the alerts from the pool. I'd also look at the Daily hashrate that Slush shows. That's a better average to gauge what's going on.

20 meters is a long run 10 meters to a switch to ten meters will help.

as for wifi it is hard to tell .  where I am wifi drops out constantly as I am near a large military base with plenty of planes.  They cause a  lot of drop outs.

he has 1 issue for sure a 20 meter / 60 ft run is not that relaible and he is most likely compounding it with the wifi modem.


two of these
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ELMYN4Q/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

with this in-between  https://www.amazon.com/D-Link-Gigabit-Unmanaged-Desktop-DGS-108/dp/B000BCC0LO/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?

would assure  a solid signal to the wifi which could still drop out.

I like to keep wires at 30 feet or 10 meters and use low-cost switches to help boost signal.

router ---10 meter cable-- switch--- 10 meter cable--- switch---  lots of short cheap cables to the miners

If I do a really long run I use boosters like this

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002CLKFTG/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


this is in a 350 foot run  between 2 buildings and it stopped the dropouts.



(Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove multiple nested quotes.)

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
kaoscoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 10:11:51 AM
 #10

I have working cable connection setup running smoothly already on my other miner.  There is a small RJ45 Ethernet cable (coupler) connector for 2 shorter cables for Antminer L3+ without dropping off problems. I hastily bought cheap 20 metres cable and rushed the cable though the room to the basement. There´s no problem with wifi but it´s that damn cheap cable.

https://www.amazon.com/Ethernet-cable-connector-Almond-color/dp/B000BSLW8U



(Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove multiple nested quotes.)
SGMPhil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 12

01010011 01000111 01001101


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 12:37:21 PM
 #11

When it comes to cabling, pay attention to the basics. Max cable length for Ethernet is 100 meters (326 ft). Use good quality cable, especially on longer runs. Just my $0.02 worth.

The Sergeant Major

3KHzidSnPjzrzM4HPetpWaFR4J8FVUdbmj
fyoung55
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 130
Merit: 12


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 03:54:22 AM
 #12

Try a different pool for a day

Also consider higher quality Ethernet cables.

A long cable run of cat 5 will drop out once in a while.

Also if you WiFi mine it could be dropouts.

I fixed an issue for one miner by sending a good cat 7 cable to replace his old cat 5

Yes he did.  Who knew old cat 5 would lead to sketchy mining!
kaoscoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 11:29:44 AM
 #13

Try a different pool for a day

Also consider higher quality Ethernet cables.

A long cable run of cat 5 will drop out once in a while.

Also if you WiFi mine it could be dropouts.

I fixed an issue for one miner by sending a good cat 7 cable to replace his old cat 5

Yes he did.  Who knew old cat 5 would lead to sketchy mining!

Well I just have to get cat6 type cable to get reliable data transfers.
Thanks guys for help, appreciate!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!