Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2018, 08:50:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Desktop Client with "electrum restore <mpk>" incorrect balance issues  (Read 43 times)
JollyGood
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 10:17:13 PM
 #1

I am running Electrum on a Amazon Web Service server. I took the MPK from the desktop Electrum wallet and used it to create the Electrum wallet on the AWS server.

I tested it thoroughly and find it fantastic but there is one problem. At the moment my desktop Electrum wallet shows only the BTC balance for addresses generated from it. The AWS Electrum wallet shows the correct BTC balance which includes addresses generated from the desktop and server clients.

What is the best manner to ensure the desktop client always shows the ALL correct addresses and balances that were generated from itself and the server using "addrequest --force"

Can anyone help point me in the right direction please

1529873404
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529873404

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529873404
Reply with quote  #2

1529873404
Report to moderator
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529873404
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529873404

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529873404
Reply with quote  #2

1529873404
Report to moderator
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1071


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 10:27:45 PM
 #2

1. Check the server you're connecting to has the right number of blocks.
2. It should do it automatically (syncing) what OS version are you using)?
3. If you get really stuck, make a new wallet and recover it from the MPK.

Also, have you considered updating to using a seed as some stuff for the mpk might be slightly outdated/handled differently.

JollyGood
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 10:58:16 PM
 #3

Thank you jackg but the server is doing everything correctly and showing the correct balance (all addresses from the desktop and server --force including all balances).

The desktop wallet is showing only the addresses and balances associated with the desktop client so the issue is probably not with the server.

How do I get the desktop client to show balances and addresses generated by the server? I already reloaded the desktop client using the seed but it is still the same

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778
Merit: 1035



View Profile WWW
March 07, 2018, 11:16:46 PM
Merited by stevegee58 (1)
 #4

Increase the gap limit. See 1c here: https://bitcoinelectrum.com/frequently-asked-questions/#why-does-restoring-my-wallet-from-seed-lead-to-a-different-wallet

JollyGood
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 11:24:18 PM
 #5


Great, I increased it and ALL previous addresses with ALL associated funds showed up. Everything is perfect now, the server and desktop clients show the same information.

Thanks Abdussamad, nice handy information in the link you provided Smiley

JollyGood
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 08, 2018, 07:05:44 PM
 #6

Can I still send payments using the "sendto" command from the online server?

I thought using MPK to have read only addresses was supposed to stop that in case the server got hacked.

BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1025

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile
March 08, 2018, 09:31:10 PM
 #7

Can I still send payments using the "sendto" command from the online server?

I thought using MPK to have read only addresses was supposed to stop that in case the server got hacked.
If you use the MPK to recover your wallet in electrum you can't use the "sendto" command in a console because you are using a watch only wallet.

Unless if you recover your wallet with seeds (not watch-only wallet)

take note it's not really "sendto" command in the console command list in "help()" it should be "payto"

JollyGood
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 08, 2018, 09:49:54 PM
 #8

Can I still send payments using the "sendto" command from the online server?

I thought using MPK to have read only addresses was supposed to stop that in case the server got hacked.
If you use the MPK to recover your wallet in electrum you can't use the "sendto" command in a console because you are using a watch only wallet.

Unless if you recover your wallet with seeds (not watch-only wallet)

take note it's not really "sendto" command in the console command list in "help()" it should be "payto"

Yes sorry it is "payto" thank you for correcting. I made a test payment in Putty using the "payto" command and ended up with the following:

"complete": false,
"final": true,

The payment was not made to a different desktop wallet therefore the watch-only functionality of a server wallet is working great. I suppose "complete" means "transation completed" and in my case the watch-only wallet shows "false" whereas on a seeded wallet would show "true" and would send the payment.

The more I test and play with Electrum, the more I understand it and think it is awesome. Thanks


HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 823

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
March 09, 2018, 01:53:40 AM
 #9

"complete" is more related to whether the transaction has been "fully signed" and can be successfully broadcast.

In this instance, complete is "false" as the transaction is unsigned and cannot be broadcast (it will be rejected by the network).

Once the transaction is signed with the correct private key(s), it will show as complete = "true"

JollyGood
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 09, 2018, 03:01:46 AM
 #10

"complete" is more related to whether the transaction has been "fully signed" and can be successfully broadcast.

In this instance, complete is "false" as the transaction is unsigned and cannot be broadcast (it will be rejected by the network).

Once the transaction is signed with the correct private key(s), it will show as complete = "true"

I got it, thanks. In my case it is working great Smiley

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!