Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 03:26:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon R9 280X - new Mantle API - higher performance ?  (Read 15717 times)
Queegeh
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile
October 15, 2013, 07:45:51 AM
 #41

An R9 280X has been added to the hardware comparison page. With OpenGL, it's either as good as the original 7970s or better. At this point, it seems to be way better than the 7970s. It looks like whatever they changed has fixed the original 7970 issues.

https://litecoin.info/Mining_hardware_comparison

I get 750 kh/s with my Sapphire 7970s (w/ default firmware, 1080 engine, 1500 mem, I 13)

They're getting 740 kh/s on the 280x at 1100/1500. Obviously the same chip...so I wouldn't expect much different I suppose...but still a bit disappointing.

The driver is in beta still, so you can say it's a fail yet. HD 7970 is a mature product and the R9 280X is still in it infancy. The price is the same as any other HD 7970 and will eventually drop over time.

The driver is not in beta, the driver released for review testing and BF4 is a beta. The R9 280x IS a 7970, they are XT2 boards and have nothing other than a flashed bios and a different cooler. To think you will see any increased performance over a 7970 is crap and there is nothing at all infant about the R9 280x.

ALL 7970s (R9 280x) can push over 720Kh/s - The main difference between cards ignoring gpu/mem clocks is the configuration of 3 key miner settings:

--gpu-threads
--thread-concurrency
--Intensity

Some 7970's especially older ones do best on a single gpu thread with a high thread-concurrency and intensity. eg, "--gpu-threads 1 --thread-concurrency 24000 --intensity 19"

A lot of newer boards (GHz editions) including the rebranded R9 280x do best with two gpu threads and a lower thread-concurrency and intensity eg, "--gpu-threads 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --intensity 13" (have also found an odd thread concurrency such as 8191 give even better results)

I have personally tested this on several 7970 boards and even 7950s are affected the same way. No BIOS flashing or modding has ever been needed just a correct miner configuration and the right gpu/mem clock ratio which I have found to be very different on some cards simply because of the type of ram used and the different timings some memory chips run at which is why some users get lucky with low mem frequencies and others simply do not.

Bear in mind also that the R9 280 (non x variant) if and when its released will be a re-branded 7950 so could turn out to be a very good bang for buck card. Avoid the R9 270x as this is just a re-branded 7870, again the non x variant will be a rebrand of the 7850.

Do enjoy your AMD re-branded kit while we wait to see if the real news here the R9 290x will be a mining king.  Wink

BTC: 1BbRCLr1w2AVRwtsMUo7ARenD9wCn9xvF6
LTC: LP9uwPkdSdQHf87UUbbPtgH83pE9SmCTxg
1508772371
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772371

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772371
Reply with quote  #2

1508772371
Report to moderator
1508772371
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772371

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772371
Reply with quote  #2

1508772371
Report to moderator
1508772371
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772371

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772371
Reply with quote  #2

1508772371
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508772371
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772371

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772371
Reply with quote  #2

1508772371
Report to moderator
1508772371
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772371

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772371
Reply with quote  #2

1508772371
Report to moderator
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722


Miner Developer


View Profile
October 15, 2013, 08:07:42 AM
 #42

Well i have free power so... depends i guess.

Hope your not stealing it....Are you getting solar power? Or you at a college dorm that includes utilities? Or at a company using mining as a way to test hardware?
What is wrong with stealing power if you can?  Roll Eyes

It's a felony and imprisonment plus fines....

Illegal != Wrong.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
October 15, 2013, 10:16:01 AM
 #43

7970 giga,sapphire,powercolor,his,asus..all of them can run with I13..and with edited bios Smiley)

How did you edit it? I couldn't figure out how to improve mining speeds on my giga cards.
Using the tpu editor right? WHat values?
Which bios version do you have

I don't have it anymore but it was a rev 1.0 unlocked Gigabyte Windforce OC 7970...and before I had a HIS IceQ X2 7950 without boost.
Tried many bios flashes and it never got better.
Never tried 8191 for tc, always used 8192 or higher xD, and got hw or lower perf when doing more than i 13 (despite the high tc and available system ram ->8gb ddr3)
hulk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
October 15, 2013, 02:50:53 PM
 #44

Anybody manage to give R9 270x a try? any better then the old HD 7950?

B.T.Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
October 15, 2013, 04:05:07 PM
 #45

Anybody manage to give R9 270x a try? any better then the old HD 7950?

The R9 270X is NOT a rebranded 7950 but it is a rebranded 7870.
I haven't tested it myself but I guess it's safe to say it will not perform as good as a 7950.

A fine is a tax you pay for something you did wrong.
A tax is a fine you pay for something you did right.
Queegeh
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile
October 15, 2013, 04:09:17 PM
 #46

7970 giga,sapphire,powercolor,his,asus..all of them can run with I13..and with edited bios Smiley)

How did you edit it? I couldn't figure out how to improve mining speeds on my giga cards.
Using the tpu editor right? WHat values?
Which bios version do you have

I don't have it anymore but it was a rev 1.0 unlocked Gigabyte Windforce OC 7970...and before I had a HIS IceQ X2 7950 without boost.
Tried many bios flashes and it never got better.
Never tried 8191 for tc, always used 8192 or higher xD, and got hw or lower perf when doing more than i 13 (despite the high tc and available system ram ->8gb ddr3)

If you use -g 2 (gpu-threads 2) then anything over intensity of 13 will HW error. If you want to use higher intensities of 18-20 use 1 gpu thread and a high thread concurrency.

BTC: 1BbRCLr1w2AVRwtsMUo7ARenD9wCn9xvF6
LTC: LP9uwPkdSdQHf87UUbbPtgH83pE9SmCTxg
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
October 15, 2013, 07:28:04 PM
 #47

7970 giga,sapphire,powercolor,his,asus..all of them can run with I13..and with edited bios Smiley)

How did you edit it? I couldn't figure out how to improve mining speeds on my giga cards.
Using the tpu editor right? WHat values?
Which bios version do you have

I don't have it anymore but it was a rev 1.0 unlocked Gigabyte Windforce OC 7970...and before I had a HIS IceQ X2 7950 without boost.
Tried many bios flashes and it never got better.
Never tried 8191 for tc, always used 8192 or higher xD, and got hw or lower perf when doing more than i 13 (despite the high tc and available system ram ->8gb ddr3)

If you use -g 2 (gpu-threads 2) then anything over intensity of 13 will HW error. If you want to use higher intensities of 18-20 use 1 gpu thread and a high thread concurrency.

I know, I've tried both, and understand the process...but don't get why that card sucked so bad at mining scrypt.
akipfer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile WWW
October 24, 2013, 12:54:37 PM
 #48

I might be wrong but Mandle seems a replacement for direct3d/opengl and not opencl(/cuda) as one usually need for GPGPU stuff like coin hashing. If so it would be like using 3d gfx api for mining. So I doubt Mantle will change much.
we don't need to use OpenCL for hashinh, any language can do the job, at least most of them...

mantle has way, way 'less loss' in in cycles, memory bandwitdh and tons of other stuffs that other apis still have today.
so yest, it is possible to use new mantle, but as he sayd, some one need to write down a miner that uses that, as when is finished, we should get the 'is it better or not for mining bitcoin/altcoins' but i think will be for sure...

Sorry for long quote!

BTC 1LDZwmLNULuEKPANry5DTbH5seLKwph8ua         | [WebSite off] coopersite.com.br | Aceitaremos Moedas como pgto | Procurando franqueados!
LTC  LYMQwZbBHK2kdD7SJnxCnn8NcwbiFAmgnV        | [Twitter] https://twitter.com/allankipfer
[M.B.] Rules - [M.B.]-[Mercado Bitcoin] Esta da hora!   | [Facebook] http://www.facebook.com/allan.kipfer.tbo
exnom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
October 24, 2013, 07:28:17 PM
 #49


If it's like the HD 7970, it can do I=18, even I=20....But on average, most single GPU cards can do at least I=18...I do I=80 on my 2x HD 5870's and HD 5850...

I=80!?

Want to trade Altcoins? Come give https://cryptsy.com a try.
cowandtea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 12:57:17 AM
 #50


If it's like the HD 7970, it can do I=18, even I=20....But on average, most single GPU cards can do at least I=18...I do I=80 on my 2x HD 5870's and HD 5850...

I=80!?
He's a failed troll.
You can't go beyond 20, as stated in cgminer.

You can, just need to do some modification..

pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 01:01:45 AM
 #51

Managed to get 750Kh/s from a pair of Sapphire R9 280x rather easily, 1085/1500 so there might be more left.

Mostly just for fun, not strictly for hashing  Grin

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
B.T.Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 11:12:30 PM
 #52

In case anybody is interested, here I found some testing results for the mining performance of the R9 290X
http://www.extremetech.com/gaming/169402-to-slay-a-titan-amds-radeon-r9-290x-piledrives-nvidias-high-end-product-line/3

A fine is a tax you pay for something you did wrong.
A tax is a fine you pay for something you did right.
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
November 29, 2013, 04:10:52 PM
 #53

An R9 280X has been added to the hardware comparison page. With OpenGL, it's either as good as the original 7970s or better. At this point, it seems to be way better than the 7970s. It looks like whatever they changed has fixed the original 7970 issues.

https://litecoin.info/Mining_hardware_comparison

I get 750 kh/s with my Sapphire 7970s (w/ default firmware, 1080 engine, 1500 mem, I 13)

They're getting 740 kh/s on the 280x at 1100/1500. Obviously the same chip...so I wouldn't expect much different I suppose...but still a bit disappointing.

The driver is in beta still, so you can say it's a fail yet. HD 7970 is a mature product and the R9 280X is still in it infancy. The price is the same as any other HD 7970 and will eventually drop over time.

The driver is not in beta, the driver released for review testing and BF4 is a beta. The R9 280x IS a 7970, they are XT2 boards and have nothing other than a flashed bios and a different cooler. To think you will see any increased performance over a 7970 is crap and there is nothing at all infant about the R9 280x.

ALL 7970s (R9 280x) can push over 720Kh/s - The main difference between cards ignoring gpu/mem clocks is the configuration of 3 key miner settings:

--gpu-threads
--thread-concurrency
--Intensity

Some 7970's especially older ones do best on a single gpu thread with a high thread-concurrency and intensity. eg, "--gpu-threads 1 --thread-concurrency 24000 --intensity 19"

A lot of newer boards (GHz editions) including the rebranded R9 280x do best with two gpu threads and a lower thread-concurrency and intensity eg, "--gpu-threads 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --intensity 13" (have also found an odd thread concurrency such as 8191 give even better results)

I have personally tested this on several 7970 boards and even 7950s are affected the same way. No BIOS flashing or modding has ever been needed just a correct miner configuration and the right gpu/mem clock ratio which I have found to be very different on some cards simply because of the type of ram used and the different timings some memory chips run at which is why some users get lucky with low mem frequencies and others simply do not.

Bear in mind also that the R9 280 (non x variant) if and when its released will be a re-branded 7950 so could turn out to be a very good bang for buck card. Avoid the R9 270x as this is just a re-branded 7870, again the non x variant will be a rebrand of the 7850.

Do enjoy your AMD re-branded kit while we wait to see if the real news here the R9 290x will be a mining king.  Wink

i confirm this with my 7950, better have gpu to 2 and I to 13
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!