Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:10:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining w/ two 5830s reboots system  (Read 2208 times)
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 05:34:13 PM
 #1

I have a Win 7 rig with two 5830s. If I mine them at the same time, it works for a random period of time and then reboots. I'm OC'ing with Trixx, heat is not an issue. 600W PSU. One card in a 16x slot one in a 1x with the cablesarus riser cable with the Molex.

I've tried different gui miners to no avail. Upgraded the drivers to 11.6b. Doesn't seem to help.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
1481249430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249430
Reply with quote  #2

1481249430
Report to moderator
1481249430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249430
Reply with quote  #2

1481249430
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 05:41:30 PM
 #2

When you say it reboots do you mean it blue screens then reboots? If thats the case look at the minidump file.
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2011, 05:58:50 PM
 #3

Make sure you selected "Disable ULPS" Also, set your far up higher if you see temps above 74+. Any more help needed, pm me. I have time today.

The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:12:59 PM
 #4

I had this same issue only difference was I was using a 700W. You might be OCing to high. Some people can go over 1000 on the 5830 with stock voltage some can't. I am stable at 980 at the moment.

FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:16:40 PM
 #5

It didnt seem to matter how much OC'ing I was doing but I will try it again now at a lower setting.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:25:51 PM
 #6

Found the disable ULPS in the Trixx settings + set my system to not restart on failure. Will try that and then will try lowering the OC.

Thanks for the replies.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
dewon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55

COMM: CfZgYSWunroL5FcZ2cx1wCkayEa8Gsx35h


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:53:58 PM
 #7

I had similar issues with 11.6b and also couldnt OC as high as with 11.6. Try 11.6 if that works better for you.

ShareCoin Free and Fair Distribution. Sauf5B5bDWYW8nPg2ZG8EvP92fdDswxXnD
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 08:05:09 PM
 #8

Well things seem to be stable for now... I had a duplicate worker name configured for one of these cards with my other rig. Would that cause this reboot issue? That would make sense as I don't think this was a BSOD crash.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 08:31:34 PM
 #9

Spoke too soon. It is not BSOD'ing that much is confirmed. Trying again with slightly lower OC settings.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 08:40:18 PM
 #10

Spoke too soon. It is not BSOD'ing that much is confirmed. Trying again with slightly lower OC settings.
Have you tried running them without the overclock? maybe it's not the overclock.
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 08:48:00 PM
 #11

Spoke too soon. It is not BSOD'ing that much is confirmed. Trying again with slightly lower OC settings.

You might want to try installing GPU-Z and use the logging to file function. And see if it's overheating or it's some other instability such as malfunctioning PSU, what brand/model is it anyway?

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 11:12:23 PM
 #12

Spoke too soon. It is not BSOD'ing that much is confirmed. Trying again with slightly lower OC settings.

I have been successful at 980mhz for about 48hrs now. Just a heads up.

FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 03:25:43 AM
 #13

At 950 and it is good for about 12hrs before it reboots. It is capable of 1010 when only a single card. Sad

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 03:33:09 AM
 #14

At 950 and it is good for about 12hrs before it reboots. It is capable of 1010 when only a single card. Sad


Sounds like a heat or power issue. Since a 5830 that overclocked would draw close to 200, two of them plus your base system could be pushing the output stability of your system. To verify it isn't a heat issue, try moving the riser mounted card as far away as possible and blow some extra fan at them. Cheesy

Another possibility is, did you manage 1010 on the PCIe riser?

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 04:13:17 AM
 #15

I doubt its a heat issue these 5830's run soooo cool (low 60s) for me.

FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 03:23:35 PM
 #16

I did the log file thing overnight with GPU-Z they didn't break 66 and 64.

After I found it rebooted this morning, I dropped the OC another 5 so now at 945/350mem on stock voltage. (I went back to stock voltage & 980 on previous attempts)  Getting 301 Mh/s

If this is good for 24hrs I think I'm going to try to OC only the card in the 1x slot just to cover that base.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 05:31:32 PM
 #17

I did the log file thing overnight with GPU-Z they didn't break 66 and 64.

After I found it rebooted this morning, I dropped the OC another 5 so now at 945/350mem on stock voltage. (I went back to stock voltage & 980 on previous attempts)  Getting 301 Mh/s

If this is good for 24hrs I think I'm going to try to OC only the card in the 1x slot just to cover that base.

What was the brand/model of your PSU again?

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 01:42:48 AM
 #18

I will have to look it up again. I noticed the CPU is getting pegged to 100% by two phoenix process approx 50% each. Found this thread at first glance doesn't seem like there is a solution. http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28392.0

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 02:20:51 AM
 #19

Well the PSU is only 500 not 600 my mistake, Its a SilverStone (silverstonetek.com) ATX 12V 2.3
High Efficiency with 80Plus certification. Model No. SST-ST50F-ES

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 03:21:14 AM
 #20

Well the PSU is only 500 not 600 my mistake, Its a SilverStone (silverstonetek.com) ATX 12V 2.3
High Efficiency with 80Plus certification. Model No. SST-ST50F-ES

I think that might be your problem. The ST-50EF-ES is an entry level PSU (Silverstone markets it as such) with only 408W of +12V capacity. The 5830 has similar power consumption as the 5830 and at those clocks, it's likely pushing around 180W ~ 200W per card. Add in the power required by the CPU and other components, it's looking like the PSU is the one crapping out due to the high load and thermal derating.

You could try to verify this by clocking up only ONE card to where it is fails within an hour or so, and not mining with the other card. After you've established a max clock for the card where you can last about 2hr, try it with both card running. If it's the PSU, your system should  reboot again in about half or less amount of time. Don't try for shorter test times because if it's the PSU overloading, you'll don't want the load to overshot too much too quickly in order to be safe.



186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!