Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 06:11:17 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 [64] 65 66 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking  (Read 143233 times)
CryptKeeper
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


Byteball Community Manager


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2014, 12:48:08 PM
 #1261

Can i downclock KNC november Jupiter ?

what would be the best settings  1GH/s=1W or less

See this post: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=313978.msg5796532%23msg5796532

Follow me on twitter for the latest news on bitcoin and altcoins and I'll follow you back the same day!
Byteball - Smart payments made simple
1513145477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513145477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513145477
Reply with quote  #2

1513145477
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513145477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513145477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513145477
Reply with quote  #2

1513145477
Report to moderator
1513145477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513145477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513145477
Reply with quote  #2

1513145477
Report to moderator
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
February 18, 2015, 12:08:55 AM
 #1262

Just picked up one of these babies.

Since I bought it used, is there anyway to figure out which batch my KNC Jupiter was built in? Doesn't say November or October anywhere on the boards.



FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
5 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
February 18, 2015, 12:29:41 AM
 #1263

Just picked up one of these babies.

Since I bought it used, is there anyway to figure out which batch my KNC Jupiter was built in? Doesn't say November or October anywhere on the boards.




silver vrms oct

black sqaure with yeller sticker nov

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
February 18, 2015, 12:40:40 AM
 #1264

Just picked up one of these babies.

Since I bought it used, is there anyway to figure out which batch my KNC Jupiter was built in? Doesn't say November or October anywhere on the boards.




silver vrms oct

black sqaure with yeller sticker nov

Ahh I see. I see 4 silver vrms.

I checked online and some have 8 silver vrms? Any idea why I only have 4?

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
5 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
February 18, 2015, 12:45:58 AM
 #1265

Just picked up one of these babies.

Since I bought it used, is there anyway to figure out which batch my KNC Jupiter was built in? Doesn't say November or October anywhere on the boards.




silver vrms oct

black sqaure with yeller sticker nov

Ahh I see. I see 4 silver vrms.

I checked online and some have 8 silver vrms? Any idea why I only have 4?

cheap bastards...and i think they ran outta parts...who knows...its knc...be lucky the darn thing still works hehe

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
February 18, 2015, 02:43:01 AM
 #1266

So I think I have the Oct 4VRM Build. Just wondering what the most stable OC are without frying this board.

Also anyone know why im getting FAULT 17 in one of my VRM settings?






FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
5 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
February 18, 2015, 07:35:07 PM
 #1267

Also is there anyway to monitor the DC/DC VRM Temperature. In my ADVANCED tab they are all 0

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
5 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2015, 08:00:28 PM
 #1268

Also is there anyway to monitor the DC/DC VRM Temperature. In my ADVANCED tab they are all 0

The VRM temps are only available on the November boards, best you can get out of the 4 VRM October boards is maybe 180Gh/s per board if you are really pushing it and you have swapped the fan out for a better one..

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
lowbander80
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2015, 12:07:04 PM
 #1269

I have a Nov KNC with 6 modules @ 1037 ghs so must be around 1000w needed power
In order to keep it,  is there a way to lower the power per Ghs
dont mind the Ghs being lower  as long as the power per Ghs goes down...
No SSH knowledge here If there is something that can be done with the settings
only please
lowbander80
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2015, 08:07:39 PM
 #1270

anybody???
at least if someone knows if it can be done or not
xhomerx10
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 02:50:59 AM
 #1271

anybody???
at least if someone knows if it can be done or not


  Install the unified 1.01 firmware, select a lower clock rate on the advanced tab and then lower the voltages on each die for each ASIC.
A watt meter would be useful to see where you are saving power.

Don't let sidehack fade away...【ツ】Buy him a burger!   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 05, 2015, 04:43:36 PM
 #1272

Hey all, sorry to bring this thread back from the dead but, question ... whats needed to impliment overclocked settings of the source code?
I see max frequency limits specified in waas code on github, is it really just that easy to change the field or is it more complex then that?
I couldnt easily search / find the info in this thread and wasnt sure if it evolved beyond the initial findings in first few pages.
Thanks

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 05:28:04 PM
 #1273

Ask padrino

He had make the custom firmware for Jupiter

Is super
Ask him


With overclocking option of course
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 05, 2015, 06:02:47 PM
 #1274

Sadly, I cant find that script anywhere on titan, so...
Im not about to mess w/ SPI commands directly w/o knowing exactly what Im doing, dont wanna damage my hardware =(
So, 350mhz may be outta the question unless someone knows what to modify ...

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 06:07:40 PM
 #1275

No

Ask padrino

He will help you
He want also to make custom firmware for titan


Did you ask him?Huh?.
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 06:09:10 PM
 #1276

These was first method for overcloked Jupiter

After that method


Padrino

Make the best version for Jupiter so he know the way



https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=313978.1020
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 05, 2015, 06:42:09 PM
 #1277

These was first method for overcloked Jupiter

After that method


Padrino

Make the best version for Jupiter so he know the way



https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=313978.1020

There is absolutely no hint of how to do this on a titan  in that thread.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 06:59:57 PM
 #1278

Basically I had the October Jupiter for a while and basically overclocking is a horrible idea because it has very bad cooling. The cooling is good in an air conditioned room at stock speeds, but if you keep overclocking it, the temps keeps rising and rising.

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
5 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1053



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 08:35:45 PM
 #1279

Basically I had the October Jupiter for a while and basically overclocking is a horrible idea because it has very bad cooling. The cooling is good in an air conditioned room at stock speeds, but if you keep overclocking it, the temps keeps rising and rising.

The October one's were slower to begin with so the margin to overclock was less but I still got decent results with mine, I just added some cheap ram heat sinks to the VRM's and pointed a big fan at them, the november ones were much better though.  Padrino's excellent firmware is very useful for tweaking them too.

Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


Tips for help? 1BzbfMHCrTeLjc7eCGrYVhH3QXSRodSuke


View Profile
August 06, 2015, 06:09:55 AM
 #1280

Sadly, I cant find that script anywhere on titan, so...
Im not about to mess w/ SPI commands directly w/o knowing exactly what Im doing, dont wanna damage my hardware =(
So, 350mhz may be outta the question unless someone knows what to modify ...

according to this you can't overclock a titan it seems

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=170332.msg12066180#msg12066180

remember originally the titan was only supposed to do 250mh or some such thus this seems to be a limitation


       ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
      ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
CoinPayments
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
Pages: « 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 [64] 65 66 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!