Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 04:53:14 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking  (Read 144305 times)
mwarrior
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 10


https://eloncity.io/


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 06:33:02 AM
 #961

Oh well.

The network tries to produce one block per 10 minutes. It does this by automatically adjusting how difficult it is to produce blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713502394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713502394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713502394
Reply with quote  #2

1713502394
Report to moderator
merv77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 01:50:35 PM
 #962

Hi Padrino,

Is there somewhere I can get it now?  Or when do you think you'll have it on the web/server ready for downloading?

Thanks
merv77

Also sent you PM.
NilBit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 03:40:41 PM
Last edit: May 15, 2014, 04:03:54 PM by NilBit
 #963

I made a small bin file for those not sure how to apply oc setting via cgminer.sh.

The bin file is loaded via the upgrade tab in miner administration just like you would upload a firmware. On reboot the modification will be gone again and bin file will have to be uploaded again in order to apply oc setting.

The bin file contains a folder with two files:

runme.sh
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cp cgminer.sh /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh
echo "900MHz OC setting copied! Please go back to Miner Settings page and Restart Miner <b>without rebooting</b> by <a href=\"/miner_setting.html\">clicking here</a>."

cgminer.sh
Code:
#!/bin/sh

PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin

use_bfgminer=
if [ -f /config/miner.conf ]; then
. /config/miner.conf
fi
if [ "$use_bfgminer" = true ] ; then
DAEMON=/usr/bin/bfgminer
NAME=bfgminer
DESC="BFGMiner daemon"
EXTRA_OPT="-S knc:auto"
else
DAEMON=/usr/bin/cgminer
NAME=cgminer
DESC="Cgminer daemon"
EXTRA_OPT=
fi

set -e

test -x "$DAEMON" || exit 0

do_start() {
# Stop SPI poller
spi_ena=0
i2cset -y 2 0x71 2 $spi_ena

good_ports=""
bad_ports=""

# CLear faults in megadlynx's
for b in 3 4 5 6 7 8 ; do
for d in 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ; do
i2cset -y $b 0x1$d 3 >/dev/null 2>&1 || true
done
done

for p in 0 1 2 3 4 5 ; do
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
good_flag=0
ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,3,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
good_flag=1
fi
ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,2,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
good_flag=1
fi
ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,1,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
good_flag=1
fi
ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,0,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
good_flag=1
fi

if [ "$good_flag" = "1" ] ; then
good_ports=$good_ports" $p"
else
bad_ports=$bad_ports" $p"
fi
done

if [ -n "$good_ports" ] ; then
for p in $good_ports ; do

# Re-enable PLL START MOD FW 1.01
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
for c in 0 1 2 3 ; do
cmd=$(printf "0x84,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x01" $c)
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x11" $c)
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x21" $c)
cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x31" $c)
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x41" $c)
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x51" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
cmd=$(printf "0x85,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
done
# END MOD FW 1.01

# re-enable all cores
i=0
while [[ $i -lt 192 ]] ; do
i2cset -y 2 0x2$p $i 1
i=$((i+1))
done
spi_ena=$(( spi_ena | (1 << $p) ))
done
fi
if [ -n "$bad_ports" ] ; then
for p in $bad_ports ; do

# Disable PLL START MOD FW 1.01
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
for c in 0 1 2 3 ; do
cmd=$(printf "0x84,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
done
# END MOD FW 1.01

# disable all cores
i=0
while [[ $i -lt 192 ]] ; do
i2cset -y 2 0x2$p $i 0
i=$((i+1))
done
spi_ena=$(( spi_ena & ~(1 << $p) ))
done
fi

# Disable direct SPI
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 0

# Enable SPI poller
i2cset -y 2 0x71 2 $spi_ena

start-stop-daemon -b -S -x screen -- -S cgminer -t cgminer -m -d "$DAEMON" --api-listen -c /config/cgminer.conf $EXTRA_OPT
}

do_stop() {
killall -9 bfgminer cgminer 2>/dev/null || true
}
case "$1" in
  start)
        echo -n "Starting $DESC: "
do_start
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  stop)
        echo -n "Stopping $DESC: "
do_stop
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  restart|force-reload)
        echo -n "Restarting $DESC: "
        do_stop
        do_start
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  *)
        N=/etc/init.d/$NAME
        echo "Usage: $N {start|stop|restart|force-reload}" >&2
        exit 1
        ;;
esac

exit 0

runme.sh will copy a modified version of cgminer.sh set for 900MHz to /etc/init.d/ overwriting the original cgminer.sh

After uploading the bin file, you need to go to the mining tab in administration and pick Restart Miner in order to apply setting.

Content of bin file can be examined and modified using e.g. 7zip

Other oc settings are listed in the modified cgminer.sh like:

Code:
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x01" $c)
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x11" $c)
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x21" $c)
 cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x31" $c)
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x41" $c)
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x51" $c)

# are disabled settings

Active setting is 231 which corresponds to 900MHz:

Code:
cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x31" $c)

Lowest disabled setting is 201 which corresponds to 825MHz:

Code:
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x01" $c)

Highest disabled setting is 251 which corresponds to 950MHz:

Code:
# cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x51" $c)

If you wish to go beyond these ranges, then look up the list of settings posted in various threads here.

Applying any other setting than the active 231 setting require that you modify the cgminer.sh in the bin file.

I take no responsibility for any damage due to oc if such should occur. The 231 setting is quite safe if you have proper cooling, but you will probably need to adjust die voltages to match the higher asic frequency.

Any changes made to voltages in Advanced Settings, will reset frequency to stock default setting and you will have to pick Restart Miner in the Mining tab in order to reapply oc settings.

Download available here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8w4dacsp8r1u9eu/1.01.900MHz.bin

Thanks to all those who shared their findings in this great thread.
mwarrior
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 10


https://eloncity.io/


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 05:21:51 PM
 #964

I was running 0.99 Tune on my October 8 VRM and managed to get it up to 750 GH/s - 800 GH/s running stable.  I played with the tuning and the cgminer code quite a but to get there.  With the above mods it has taken me down to 550ish. I flashed with KNC's 1.01 and tried again as the code relates to bfgminer and see no improvement.  Am I missing something?


tlon19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 11:56:41 PM
 #965

https://www.dropbox.com/s/88morgn2qb9uglw/kncminer-1.01.custom.bin



tips?   

1JE5VxpMr22qzCFtdotE35aad3XeveipYA
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 1220



View Profile
May 16, 2014, 12:16:27 AM
 #966

https://www.dropbox.com/s/88morgn2qb9uglw/kncminer-1.01.custom.bin



tips?   

1JE5VxpMr22qzCFtdotE35aad3XeveipYA

Gotta sell it better Smiley

Mine @ pools that pay Tx fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
Should bitmain create LPM for all models?
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
wasubii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 16, 2014, 01:29:14 AM
 #967

https://www.dropbox.com/s/88morgn2qb9uglw/kncminer-1.01.custom.bin



tips?   

1JE5VxpMr22qzCFtdotE35aad3XeveipYA

Looks like standard 1.01 with bertmod applied

tlon19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 16, 2014, 02:12:21 AM
 #968

no actually if you got two advanced settings you can go past 1000mhz i am currently @ 940ghs with 1050 power supply.
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 1220



View Profile
May 16, 2014, 02:16:42 AM
 #969

no actually if you got two advanced settings you can go past 1000mhz i am currently @ 940ghs with 1050 power supply.

Is that a modified padrino?

Does it work on both November and October Jupiters?


Thanks

Mine @ pools that pay Tx fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
Should bitmain create LPM for all models?
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
nubien2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 16, 2014, 03:28:35 AM
 #970

tlon19
Newbie
*


Activity: 7


View Profile Personal Message (Offline)
Trust: 0: -0 / +0(0)
Ignore
   
   
Re: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking
May 15, 2014, 11:56:41 PM
   
Reply with quote  #984
https://www.dropbox.com/s/88morgn2qb9uglw/kncminer-1.01.custom.bin



tips?   

1JE5VxpMr22qzCFtdotE35aad3XeveipYA
   Report to moderator


now its for free   Grin
wasubii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 16, 2014, 03:53:48 AM
 #971

no actually if you got two advanced settings you can go past 1000mhz i am currently @ 940ghs with 1050 power supply.

Nice - just seen it.

Thanks for this, very useful
merv77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
May 16, 2014, 09:26:46 AM
Last edit: May 16, 2014, 02:25:31 PM by merv77
 #972


I uploaded your firmware via web ui and didn't change anything, still previous firmware version 1.00 and still standard advanced settings

 Huh Huh Huh

edit.  that's no tip from me

edit2.  I cannot seem to upload any firmware, current version 1.00
         after I select firmware in web UI then click upload, it just waits for file to upload but nothing happens

         any ideas?

edit3. figured it out, it was a network hub giving me problems. changed for newer switch and so far seemed to work.
         I'll post again with more results
merv77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
May 16, 2014, 02:47:25 PM
 #973

https://www.dropbox.com/s/88morgn2qb9uglw/kncminer-1.01.custom.bin



tips?   

1JE5VxpMr22qzCFtdotE35aad3XeveipYA

I got it working and it's version 1.01.1-padrino firmware

shifty tlon19 is trying to get tips for padrino's work, naughty boy...
Searing
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1464


Clueless!


View Profile
May 16, 2014, 04:22:33 PM
 #974

https://www.dropbox.com/s/88morgn2qb9uglw/kncminer-1.01.custom.bin



tips?   

1JE5VxpMr22qzCFtdotE35aad3XeveipYA

I got it working and it's version 1.01.1-padrino firmware

shifty tlon19 is trying to get tips for padrino's work, naughty boy...

it this the stuff that was being sold on ebay for 75 bucks...to tell you the truth....i downloaded it ..if it is legit..i'll send the guy
on ebay the 75 bucks after i'm brave enough to try it (if ever).but is this the same guy as the author or is the above just a different
1.0.1 "flavor"

trying not to be scammed but hey if it is legit and holds water ....and enough on here vouch for me trying it ..i'll give it a shot

if it works i'll pay (hold me to it) but saw the ebay auction and right or wrong the 'scam flag' pop'd up

Searing

Old Style Legacy Plug & Play BBS System. Get it from www.synchro.net. Updated 1/1/2021. It also works with Windows 10 and likely 11 and allows 16 bit DOS game doors on the same Win 10 Machine in Multi-Node! Five Minute Install! Look it over it uninstalls just as fast, if you simply want to look it over. Freeware! Full BBS System! It is a frigging hoot!:)
merv77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
May 16, 2014, 04:34:26 PM
 #975

https://www.dropbox.com/s/88morgn2qb9uglw/kncminer-1.01.custom.bin



tips?   

1JE5VxpMr22qzCFtdotE35aad3XeveipYA

I got it working and it's version 1.01.1-padrino firmware

shifty tlon19 is trying to get tips for padrino's work, naughty boy...

it this the stuff that was being sold on ebay for 75 bucks...to tell you the truth....i downloaded it ..if it is legit..i'll send the guy
on ebay the 75 bucks after i'm brave enough to try it (if ever).but is this the same guy as the author or is the above just a different
1.0.1 "flavor"

trying not to be scammed but hey if it is legit and holds water ....and enough on here vouch for me trying it ..i'll give it a shot

if it works i'll pay (hold me to it) but saw the ebay auction and right or wrong the 'scam flag' pop'd up

Searing


why pay for it?  have you bought it already from eBay?

this file download above 'kncminer-1.01.custom.bin' is padrino's custom firmware

when I uploaded/upgraded this firmware in web UI it's listed as 1.001.1-padrino, I think they've just renamed the bin file.

download the above file and in the Advanced setting there's guidance setting info to go by.
I've set it for October jupiter setting and now hashing at 660GH/s from before upgrade was at 560GH/s, and only just over 1% HW errors and rejects combined.
Searing
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1464


Clueless!


View Profile
May 16, 2014, 04:39:11 PM
 #976


I got it working and it's version 1.01.1-padrino firmware

shifty tlon19 is trying to get tips for padrino's work, naughty boy...

it this the stuff that was being sold on ebay for 75 bucks...to tell you the truth....i downloaded it ..if it is legit..i'll send the guy
on ebay the 75 bucks after i'm brave enough to try it (if ever).but is this the same guy as the author or is the above just a different
1.0.1 "flavor"

trying not to be scammed but hey if it is legit and holds water ....and enough on here vouch for me trying it ..i'll give it a shot

if it works i'll pay (hold me to it) but saw the ebay auction and right or wrong the 'scam flag' pop'd up

Searing


why pay for it?  have you bought it already from eBay?

this file download above 'kncminer-1.01.custom.bin' is padrino's custom firmware

when I uploaded/upgraded this firmware in web UI it's listed as 1.001.1-padrino, I think they've just renamed the bin file.

download the above file and in the Advanced setting there's guidance setting info to go by.
I've set it for October jupiter setting and now hashing at 660GH/s from before upgrade was at 560GH/s, and only just over 1% HW errors and rejects combined.

sorry unclear i bought nothing from the guy on ebay just wondering if this pandrino's version above was the same guy...if so then I would pay him if it works

but getting with 1.01 560 out of my miner....after all versions from .90 to .99 only got 555 (was a constant little beastie) so ....not sure how much i wanna mess with

it (it arrived in a soggy box held together by hand full of rain water...me and the miner have an agreement ...you keep working and i'll give you your space ...i treat

it like an electronic cat.....)

whatever...got to get up the nerve to upgrade to the regular knc version 1.01 first maybe

Searing


ack just re-read above..ack 660...my fear seems to be slipping away....what do you have to do to keep it cool like hang 3 fans above it and 2 on the side?

jeez 660 hmmm....will summon courage this weekend perhaps....when i did the message above i thought i read 560 like mine

wow


Old Style Legacy Plug & Play BBS System. Get it from www.synchro.net. Updated 1/1/2021. It also works with Windows 10 and likely 11 and allows 16 bit DOS game doors on the same Win 10 Machine in Multi-Node! Five Minute Install! Look it over it uninstalls just as fast, if you simply want to look it over. Freeware! Full BBS System! It is a frigging hoot!:)
merv77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
May 16, 2014, 05:10:26 PM
 #977

ack just re-read above..ack 660...my fear seems to be slipping away....what do you have to do to keep it cool like hang 3 fans above it and 2 on the side?

jeez 660 hmmm....will summon courage this weekend perhaps....when i did the message above i thought i read 560 like mine

wow

I've done nothing to keep it cool, it's stock standard.

temps are running from ASIC Slot #1 45.5C, ASIC Slot #3 63.5C, ASIC Slot #4 58.5C, ASIC Slot #5 53.5C Which are perfectly fine for these.
(btw, I had these running well over 75C during our hot summer without any problems, currently we're in autumn and room temp around 25C)

don't fear it, after you upgrade to the above firmware then go to 'Advanced' tab and you'll see guidance for settings as I did.

I set it as described, October: -0.0879 V and 0x231 MHz for all dies, then click 'apply changes' button.

If doesn't go well you can click 'Reset to Factory Defaults' button and goes back to normal.
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 16, 2014, 09:56:24 PM
 #978

So , what the highest hashing achieved for Nov units?

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 504


Dream become broken often


View Profile
May 17, 2014, 02:19:57 AM
Last edit: May 17, 2014, 08:25:59 PM by crashoveride54902
 #979

tryed pad new fw...getting the same gh/s as i was before...but it's nice not having to ssh into it and reset the clocks n vrm all the time Smiley thxs padrino for your hard work

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2014, 04:11:45 PM
 #980

tryed pad new fw...getting the same gh/s as i was before...but it's nice not having to ssh into it and reset the clocks n vrm all the time Smiley thxs pad for your hard work

Thanks for the note..

I sent it to maybe 10 folks as a favor to them and I have seen no less then three of them trying to sell it on ebay, direct, or otherwise.. It's a sad look at how a number of people in the community try and exploit someone else's work..

There is a small minority of stand up guys but they are definitely a minority..

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!