Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2019, 10:42:43 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: One hashboard working only on 606 freq. Could be this the reason that..  (Read 121 times)
mamacoin5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 19, 2018, 04:47:53 PM
 #1

..the other board is working much higher freq and at some point is stop hashing ?

Please see below the screenshots. For the past 10days 4 times second board is stopping and the asic need to be powered off so it can start hashing with all 3 boards. Do you this that reset the miner or installing different firmware will help ( i am with the latest one, Nov 2017)
https://ibb.co/kbVTpc
https://ibb.co/f7D3Nx
https://ibb.co/bLHKvH
https://ibb.co/e9GCFH

So the things I have done up to now:
- I changed the power unit, again to Bitmain's one from a different miner
- Changed the Ethernet cable

For 12 hours, it is running smoothly, however I have the feeling that it will stop soon again as the temperature of the chips are like
73
72
72

while the rest of the miners have temps like
75
68
67

and second board could once again exceed the temperature of board 1 which is when the hashboard is stopping

Other reason I could think off , if there is dust inside the asic and need to be cleaned however it is within warranty and Bitmain support insist if the problem persist not to open the miner but to send it to them for repair which means that I will lost 1-2 months turnaround time.

Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated !
1547764963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547764963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547764963
Reply with quote  #2

1547764963
Report to moderator
1547764963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547764963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547764963
Reply with quote  #2

1547764963
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547764963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547764963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547764963
Reply with quote  #2

1547764963
Report to moderator
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 56

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile
March 19, 2018, 05:08:34 PM
 #2

Your middle board is failing.

Please confirm your running your power supply at 220V, or otherwise explain how you power your miner.

Try downgrading to the April firmware and see if that helps.

Don't worry about blocking out your userid.  The worst that can happen with that information is that somebody uses your credentials to mine and donates their hash to you while doing so.

I mine bitcoin for a living, and I mine at Kano.is!
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1072

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2018, 06:18:19 PM
Last edit: March 20, 2018, 07:22:18 PM by BitMaxz
 #3

Reducing frequency might help, but you can try to reflash it with other firmware with auto frequency settings like Antminer-S9-all-201704280713-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz

You can try reducing the frequency, if your miner would stay hashing normal its fine.

And honestly, your miner temp is normal than over 100% temp. Your miner still at the safe temperature.

mamacoin5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 20, 2018, 06:51:41 AM
 #4

Thank you ccgllc and BitMaxz for your suggestions.

Yes I am running on 220 V and the other 6 machines which I have are just fine. I will try to reflash with  Aprils firmware but I will will wait till the board stops again as of now it is working ok.

What worries me about the temperature is not the degrees but that middle board temperature is just 1 degree close of the first hashboard ( usually first board is 5-6 degrees warmer than the middle board). And when it exceeds first board in temperature, then it is when it stops . May be there is some automatic precaution set up in Antminer's settings for that..not sure.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 56

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile
March 20, 2018, 01:57:30 PM
 #5

They won't shutdown until well over 100C - your temps are fine.  I think the cutoff is 115C.

I mine bitcoin for a living, and I mine at Kano.is!
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1072

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2018, 07:52:16 PM
 #6

Thank you ccgllc and BitMaxz for your suggestions.

Yes I am running on 220 V and the other 6 machines which I have are just fine. I will try to reflash with  Aprils firmware but I will will wait till the board stops again as of now it is working ok.

What worries me about the temperature is not the degrees but that middle board temperature is just 1 degree close of the first hashboard ( usually first board is 5-6 degrees warmer than the middle board). And when it exceeds first board in temperature, then it is when it stops . May be there is some automatic precaution set up in Antminer's settings for that..not sure.
If that's the case try to reduce the frequency of the hashing board which suddenly stops every time exceeds the temp.

It might reduce the temp, but can be also reduce hashrate.

I don't think if there is an automatic precaution or set up or any from your miner. Maybe it's just a firmware issue because if the program is corrupted or the firmware is corrupted your miner couldn't run properly or some hashing board suddenly stops.

Can you share more details about the system overview of your miner?

  • Hardware  version?
  • Kernel  version?
  • File system version?
  • Bminer version?

Or screenshot of system overview and maybe I can get some idea of what is the problem about your miner if either it's a bug or a hardware issue.

mamacoin5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2018, 11:42:53 AM
 #7

Thank you BitMaxz for taking time to look into this.

Here are the details. Please let me know if I should do additional screenshots.

Hardware Version   16.8.1.3
Kernel Version   Linux 3.14.0-xilinx-ge8a2f71-dirty #82 SMP PREEMPT Tue May 16 19:49:53 CST 2017
File System Version   Fri Nov 17 17:37:49 CST 2017
Logic Version   S9_V2.54
BMminer Version   2.0.0
mamacoin5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 18, 2018, 01:35:40 PM
 #8

Hi guys,

I started the changing firmware process as the hash board once again started to stop.

I found difficult to find this verson Antminer-S9-all-201704280713-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz as Bimain have removed it from support page. I found one on internet however not sure if this is the same to which Bitmaxz is reffering as now after the new firmward


Miner Type   Antminer S9
Hostname   antMiner
Model   GNU/Linux
Hardware Version   16.8.1.3
Kernel Version   Linux 3.14.0-xilinx-gb190cb0-dirty #57 SMP PREEMPT Fri Dec 9 14:49:22 CST 2016
File System Version   Sat Apr 29 20:01:20 EDT 2017
Logic Version   
BMminer Version   2.0.0
Uptime   15


 the machine is working on much higher degrees around 100 and the rear fan does not go bewond 5280  rpm while my other machines which are with November firmware are around 70-80 degrees and the rear fans are blowing with 6120 rpm.

Could you please advise



fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
April 18, 2018, 04:43:09 PM
 #9

There should not be a 20c difference from the firmware alone. I run the older firmware with no heating issues on thousands of miners. What is the ambient temperature of the room these are in?

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
mamacoin5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 19, 2018, 06:26:23 AM
 #10

Around 28C. Yes it was quite strange to me as well. Fanatic26 could you send me a link to older versions firmware that I can use and are tested to work well.
rymannphilippe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 19, 2018, 10:05:12 AM
 #11

I have exact the same problem.

One hash board failed constantly.
First it shows 4.5TH (ideal) but only does around 1.5TH (RT) and drops after minutes or houres.
Not always the same after a reset.

In the boot up phase, the "faulty" board is flashing the red light a lot looooooonger than the other boards.

I have done a few reset und firmware uploads, nothing helped.
Sometimes it show only 15° temp. Sometimes it show normal temp around 75°.
Sometimes it show only 16 ASIC, sometimes all 63.
NEVER seen a X only ooooooo.

The Problem is, after a few houres the hash is only ~50GH and an absolut joke for the power.

I have 220 Volt, tested only the "faulty" board allone and the same happend.
I have chanched the cables and nothing helped.

I have seen a lot of people the same problem but NO HELP found.

Any ideas???
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1072

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
April 19, 2018, 05:43:15 PM
 #12

Did you try to reduce the frequency? If it still not, follow the guide here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3239820.0

My guess your hashing board is defective or damaged, if still under warranty better to send it back to bitmain to fix your hashing board.

Hardware needs a technician to repair and fix the issue, but I heard that there are some members here in the forum that they can fix the issue by reheating the hashing board by using an oven. Never test yet, however, you can try it, but note it could avoid the warranty.

rymannphilippe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2018, 08:00:32 AM
 #13

Thanks BitMaxz

I think also it's the board with some failure.

I tryed 550/600/650 frequency firmware. But only get worse, sometimes no hash from the faulty board.
After my last reset, the board hashes with 2.5Th for 6 houres, now again droped to 0.5.

Thanks all for the help, i think its a faulty board.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!