Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:24:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why is the 6770 such a poor performer?  (Read 1197 times)
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 08:45:17 PM
 #1

Was browsing around at cards, and noticed the specs for the radeon 6770 lists it as having 320x4 stream processors clocked at 900MHz at default. This compared to say a 5870 which has 320x5 stream processors clocked at 850MHz. As I've been told that SPs are more or less what makes the hash happen, a quick calc puts a 6770 at 80% of the hashing power of a 5870, or around 330MHash/sec. Why then is it that it looks to be pulling barely 200MHash/sec from the hardware lists?
1480890262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890262
Reply with quote  #2

1480890262
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480890262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890262
Reply with quote  #2

1480890262
Report to moderator
1480890262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890262
Reply with quote  #2

1480890262
Report to moderator
1480890262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890262
Reply with quote  #2

1480890262
Report to moderator
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2011, 08:50:22 PM
 #2

As far as I know, the HD6770 has only 800 stream processors, while HD5870 is having 1600 of them.
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 09:15:55 PM
 #3

Ah, I guess the article I was reading misquoted the number of SPs, that'd make sense then.
bmgjet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 10:47:14 PM
 #4

open up gpu-z and see how many it has.
If where you bought it from stated how many SP it had and was wrong that could be a reason to return it and get another card.

Donations to: 1BMGjetfht9XLkGBYR4TSsuXjrYEKACcow
1stbits: 1bmgjet
300MHash/s 6850 http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/5u6wr/
Overclocked for 6 years and still strong http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1931458 & http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=285337
grod
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 02:37:22 AM
 #5

6770 is the exact same hardware as a 5770, which has the same number of shaders as a 4870.   That being 800.
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 01:49:57 PM
 #6

never uesed a 6770 but i have had one of my 5770 clocked at 1050 core pulling 230mh/s not bad for a card i bought for $60 usd uesed a year ago
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!