Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2017, 04:42:12 PM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why is the 6770 such a poor performer?  (Read 1213 times)
bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 08:45:17 PM
 #1

Was browsing around at cards, and noticed the specs for the radeon 6770 lists it as having 320x4 stream processors clocked at 900MHz at default. This compared to say a 5870 which has 320x5 stream processors clocked at 850MHz. As I've been told that SPs are more or less what makes the hash happen, a quick calc puts a 6770 at 80% of the hashing power of a 5870, or around 330MHash/sec. Why then is it that it looks to be pulling barely 200MHash/sec from the hardware lists?



           ▄▄▄▄▄
     ▄▄█████████████▄
   ▄█████▀       ▀█████▄
 ▄████▀             ▀████▄
 ███▀                 ▀███▄
███▀   █████████████   ▀███
███    ▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀▀    ███
███         ███         ███
███▄        ███        ████
▀███▄       ███       ▄███▀
 ▀████▄     ▀▀▀     ▄████▀
   ▀█████▄▄     ▄▄█████▀
      ▀█████████████▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀
WeTrust.io


             ▄██▄
     ▄      ▐████   ▄▄
   █████     ██████████
    █████████████████▀
 ▄████████████▀████▌
██████████     ▀████
 ▀▀   █████     ██████████
      ▀████▌▄████████████▀
    ▄▄▄███████████████▌
   ██████████▀    ▐████
    ▀▀▀  ████▌     ▀▀▀
         ▀███▀


 ▄████████████████████▄
████████████████████████
██████████ ▀████████████
██████████    ▀█████████
██████████    ▄█████████
██████████ ▄████████████
████████████████████████
 ▀████████████████████▀

                 ▄████▄▄    ▄
██             ████████████▀
████▄         █████████████▀
▀████████▄▄   █████████████
▄▄█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
  ▀██████████████████████
   █████████████████████
    ▀█████████████████▀
      ▄█████████████▀
▄▄███████████████▀
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

  ▄██▄▄                ▄▄██▄
  ████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
  ██████████████████████████
  ██████████████████████████
▄████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████▌
█████▀                  ▀█████▌
████    ███▄      ▄███    ████▌
████   ▐████      ████▌   ████
 ███    ▀██▀      ▀██▀    ███▀
  ▀██▄                  ▄██▀
    ▀▀██████████████████▀▀


1493138532
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493138532

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493138532
Reply with quote  #2

1493138532
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493138532
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493138532

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493138532
Reply with quote  #2

1493138532
Report to moderator
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2011, 08:50:22 PM
 #2

As far as I know, the HD6770 has only 800 stream processors, while HD5870 is having 1600 of them.
bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 09:15:55 PM
 #3

Ah, I guess the article I was reading misquoted the number of SPs, that'd make sense then.



           ▄▄▄▄▄
     ▄▄█████████████▄
   ▄█████▀       ▀█████▄
 ▄████▀             ▀████▄
 ███▀                 ▀███▄
███▀   █████████████   ▀███
███    ▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀▀    ███
███         ███         ███
███▄        ███        ████
▀███▄       ███       ▄███▀
 ▀████▄     ▀▀▀     ▄████▀
   ▀█████▄▄     ▄▄█████▀
      ▀█████████████▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀
WeTrust.io


             ▄██▄
     ▄      ▐████   ▄▄
   █████     ██████████
    █████████████████▀
 ▄████████████▀████▌
██████████     ▀████
 ▀▀   █████     ██████████
      ▀████▌▄████████████▀
    ▄▄▄███████████████▌
   ██████████▀    ▐████
    ▀▀▀  ████▌     ▀▀▀
         ▀███▀


 ▄████████████████████▄
████████████████████████
██████████ ▀████████████
██████████    ▀█████████
██████████    ▄█████████
██████████ ▄████████████
████████████████████████
 ▀████████████████████▀

                 ▄████▄▄    ▄
██             ████████████▀
████▄         █████████████▀
▀████████▄▄   █████████████
▄▄█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
  ▀██████████████████████
   █████████████████████
    ▀█████████████████▀
      ▄█████████████▀
▄▄███████████████▀
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

  ▄██▄▄                ▄▄██▄
  ████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
  ██████████████████████████
  ██████████████████████████
▄████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████▌
█████▀                  ▀█████▌
████    ███▄      ▄███    ████▌
████   ▐████      ████▌   ████
 ███    ▀██▀      ▀██▀    ███▀
  ▀██▄                  ▄██▀
    ▀▀██████████████████▀▀


bmgjet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 10:47:14 PM
 #4

open up gpu-z and see how many it has.
If where you bought it from stated how many SP it had and was wrong that could be a reason to return it and get another card.

Donations to: 1BMGjetfht9XLkGBYR4TSsuXjrYEKACcow
1stbits: 1bmgjet
300MHash/s 6850 http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/5u6wr/
Overclocked for 6 years and still strong http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1931458 & http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=285337
grod
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 02:37:22 AM
 #5

6770 is the exact same hardware as a 5770, which has the same number of shaders as a 4870.   That being 800.
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 01:49:57 PM
 #6

never uesed a 6770 but i have had one of my 5770 clocked at 1050 core pulling 230mh/s not bad for a card i bought for $60 usd uesed a year ago
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!