Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2018, 08:50:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why is the 6770 such a poor performer?  (Read 1260 times)
bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 08:45:17 PM
 #1

Was browsing around at cards, and noticed the specs for the radeon 6770 lists it as having 320x4 stream processors clocked at 900MHz at default. This compared to say a 5870 which has 320x5 stream processors clocked at 850MHz. As I've been told that SPs are more or less what makes the hash happen, a quick calc puts a 6770 at 80% of the hashing power of a 5870, or around 330MHash/sec. Why then is it that it looks to be pulling barely 200MHash/sec from the hardware lists?
1526979053
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526979053

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526979053
Reply with quote  #2

1526979053
Report to moderator
1526979053
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526979053

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526979053
Reply with quote  #2

1526979053
Report to moderator
1526979053
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526979053

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526979053
Reply with quote  #2

1526979053
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1526979053
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526979053

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526979053
Reply with quote  #2

1526979053
Report to moderator
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1002


Waves | 3PHMaGNeTJfqFfD4xuctgKdoxLX188QM8na


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2011, 08:50:22 PM
 #2

As far as I know, the HD6770 has only 800 stream processors, while HD5870 is having 1600 of them.

Sign up for the REWARDMOB ICO and receive 100 RMOB for free! Use the referral 8MIFS57P
https://ticketsale.rewardmob.com
bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 09:15:55 PM
 #3

Ah, I guess the article I was reading misquoted the number of SPs, that'd make sense then.
bmgjet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 10:47:14 PM
 #4

open up gpu-z and see how many it has.
If where you bought it from stated how many SP it had and was wrong that could be a reason to return it and get another card.

Donations to: 1BMGjetfht9XLkGBYR4TSsuXjrYEKACcow
1stbits: 1bmgjet
300MHash/s 6850 http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/5u6wr/
Overclocked for 6 years and still strong http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1931458 & http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=285337
grod
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 02:37:22 AM
 #5

6770 is the exact same hardware as a 5770, which has the same number of shaders as a 4870.   That being 800.
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 01:49:57 PM
 #6

never uesed a 6770 but i have had one of my 5770 clocked at 1050 core pulling 230mh/s not bad for a card i bought for $60 usd uesed a year ago
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!