Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2021, 11:21:27 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Help me with my iPod for .05 BTC  (Read 1313 times)
cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 01:19:45 PM
Last edit: October 27, 2013, 07:23:47 PM by cooldgamer
 #1

So I've currently got an iPod touch 4g with a broken power button and is disabled from passcode.  I don't have the computer used to sync, and can't figure out how to put it into recovery mode to restore to factory settings.  Recboot is giving me a ton of missing dll errors.  First person to help me gets .05BTC and my eternal gratitude.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1634426487
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634426487

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634426487
Reply with quote  #2

1634426487
Report to moderator
1634426487
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634426487

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634426487
Reply with quote  #2

1634426487
Report to moderator
1634426487
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634426487

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634426487
Reply with quote  #2

1634426487
Report to moderator
btcpr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 01:40:40 PM
 #2

http://www.ifixit.com/iPod-Parts/iPod-Touch-Gen-4-Volume-Power-Cable/IF146-003

Good Luck!
cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 01:52:49 PM
 #3

Was looking for a software fix, heard there's lots of ways to get it into recovery without cracking it open.  Could jailbreak or go on standard iOS with this battery charger I have that turns it on...  Not looking to fix it, just make it work Tongue

Gordon Bleu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


verified ✔


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 01:57:07 PM
 #4

hold home button 5 seconds when usb plugging in

already tried evasi0n ?

GAWMiners http://gawminers.com/ Gridseed ASICS in stock in USA
ONE YEAR FREE HOSTING AND ELECTRICITY WITH PURCHASE!






AROUSR.COM The Adult Chat Community (21+) We now accept BTCitcoins Smiley               |
Connect with hot girls for chat, talk, trade pics and more!➠Visit http://arousr.com (21+)|
cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 02:02:12 PM
 #5

Was trying tto use http://jaxov.com/2010/05/recboot-iphone-recovery-mode/ to force it into recovery but every time it asked for some new dll until my Mobile Device Support folder looked like http://puu.sh/4ZZiz.png
EDIT:  Looking into evasi0n now, looks like a good shot..
Edit 2: Evasi0n says I need to disable the passcode, so just need to get it into recovery, again... lol

Gordon Bleu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


verified ✔


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 02:17:46 PM
 #6

http://forums.ilounge.com/ipod-classic-legacy-ipods/264221-restoring-ipod-classic-without-itunes-solved.html

maybe this,

GAWMiners http://gawminers.com/ Gridseed ASICS in stock in USA
ONE YEAR FREE HOSTING AND ELECTRICITY WITH PURCHASE!






AROUSR.COM The Adult Chat Community (21+) We now accept BTCitcoins Smiley               |
Connect with hot girls for chat, talk, trade pics and more!➠Visit http://arousr.com (21+)|
cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 02:21:03 PM
 #7

Oddly enough, it's not showing up as a drive, even though iTunes and all the jailbreaking programs are recognizing it (enough to tell me that it's locked).  Looking around for drive management software to format it now..  Running Windows 8 64 bit if it means anything.

Gordon Bleu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


verified ✔


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 02:49:27 PM
 #8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQ0TyrFMyMc



googled for bypass pass ipod 4g


GAWMiners http://gawminers.com/ Gridseed ASICS in stock in USA
ONE YEAR FREE HOSTING AND ELECTRICITY WITH PURCHASE!






AROUSR.COM The Adult Chat Community (21+) We now accept BTCitcoins Smiley               |
Connect with hot girls for chat, talk, trade pics and more!➠Visit http://arousr.com (21+)|
cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 03:00:42 PM
 #9

Trying that out now, as soon as I figure out what firmware it has on it.
Edit: Now it wants DFU mode.  I'm pretty sure they're not the same thing, so getting close!

Gordon Bleu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


verified ✔


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 03:35:16 PM
 #10

if i get this right, DFU Mode should be same as going to restore, by holding Home Button 5-10 Seconds pushed while plugging in USB
but idk if it will work without the Power Button.
   
else i found this
-How to delete your 4 digit code off your ipod

GAWMiners http://gawminers.com/ Gridseed ASICS in stock in USA
ONE YEAR FREE HOSTING AND ELECTRICITY WITH PURCHASE!






AROUSR.COM The Adult Chat Community (21+) We now accept BTCitcoins Smiley               |
Connect with hot girls for chat, talk, trade pics and more!➠Visit http://arousr.com (21+)|
cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 03:44:14 PM
 #11

Doesn't seem to work the normal way without a power button, if I can't do this without cracking it open I just might.  Getting kinda desprate, so I could throw in an extra $5 in Paypal for some guy to do a Teamviewer session and fix it real quick.  Would pay in BTC but don't have more at the moment.

cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 06:11:46 PM
 #12

I've got more btc confirming now, any apple experts on here want to give me a rate for a Teamviewer session?

cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 06:43:04 PM
 #13

http://puu.sh/50boY.png happens every time I try to connect to iTunes, doesn't show up as a device.

cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 07:01:40 PM
 #14

http://puu.sh/50boY.png happens every time I try to connect to iTunes, doesn't show up as a device.

So iTunes recognises your ipod but it won't let you access it?
Pretty much

cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 07:06:16 PM
 #15

Crap... looks like it's back to tinkering with recboot for the rest of the night.  I had seen on apple forums that it would work, but no idea why I can't get it to just do it's job.

cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 05:01:35 PM
 #16

Daily bump, think the problem with Recboot is LibUSB not being on my computer, but you can't install unsigned drivers on Windows 8.  Think I'll make a Ubuntu virtual machine and see where I get.  Also, .05BTC bounty now.

jdebunt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1010


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 09:09:40 PM
 #17

not sure if this'll work to get it in DFU mode ==> http://www.ifans.com/forums/threads/ipod-touch-4g-no-power-button-into-dfu-mode.391814/

edit , or with more images : http://www.ijailbreak.com/how-to/enter-dfu-mode-broken-button-jailbreak-redsn0w-0-9-14b2-windows/

edit 2 : option key in Windows is the ALT key Smiley
Mr. Sway
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 09:14:48 PM
 #18

Haven't jailbroken in a while since Cydia went down for a bit but i remeber them having one also a power down button same stuff happened to me.

I sell cheap Pizza!
moneyboss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 09:27:25 PM
 #19

gl i hope your situation gets fixed its quite sticky
cooldgamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1003


We are the champions of the night


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 09:36:23 PM
 #20

you dont have pairing record so recboot wont work. regardless of drivers or dll
you need to wait for battery to die then hold home whilst charging to force recovery
then restore
simple


I think you still need the power button to do that.

you only need a home button to get into recovery mode.
I actually tried that, didn't work

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!