Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 05:40:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Zeroed balances after restoring wallet  (Read 1130 times)
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 07:29:50 PM
 #1

Hello,
i reinstalled os on my computer and i had to install again Electrum.
I simple copied electrum.dat file and i get again my wallet.

...but in "Receive" tab i noticed that every address has zeroed balance.
Why?

How to fix it?

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
1508262006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508262006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508262006
Reply with quote  #2

1508262006
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508262006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508262006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508262006
Reply with quote  #2

1508262006
Report to moderator
1508262006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508262006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508262006
Reply with quote  #2

1508262006
Report to moderator
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2013, 12:40:42 PM
 #2

Have you waited for the headers to be download and SPV checked?

Try switching servers or restart the client

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
October 29, 2013, 02:12:45 PM
 #3

Have you waited for the headers to be download
What do you mean?

Quote
and SPV checked?
What is it?

Quote
Try switching servers or restart the client
Done, it doesn't fix the problem.


It isn't strange that the number under "Tx" is correct and all balance are 0?


Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2013, 09:51:40 PM
 #4

Can you explain what you've done? You are restoring from which version?

Oh you are not restoring, can you try renaming the electrum.dat and restoring from your seed?

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
October 29, 2013, 10:59:53 PM
 #5

Can you explain what you've done? You are restoring from which version?

Oh you are not restoring, can you try renaming the electrum.dat and restoring from your seed?

Nothing changed Sad


Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
nomnomnom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312



View Profile
October 30, 2013, 02:11:29 AM
 #6

There is another arrow which you can click to expand the change addresses, maybe it's there.
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 02:59:15 AM
 #7

^

Are you sure your balance is zero? You've hidden it. Check the change addresses as mentioned above

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 09:13:06 AM
 #8

There is another arrow which you can click to expand the change addresses, maybe it's there.
Nothing even on change addresses.
Anyway before format my pc every address had its Tx and its own balance.
Now after installed new OS and Electrum again every address had its Tx OK but its balance are zeroed

Are you sure your balance is zero? You've hidden it. Check the change addresses as mentioned above
No, my balance is OK, the problem is that every address don't keep its balance after restoring wallet on fresh install of Electrum.

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Nemo me impune lacessit


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 10:53:43 AM
 #9

https://blockchain.info/address/1B5ifFq3CePUVj2iA5258Z7x7opK3AVdSh
https://blockchain.info/address/1FX2NDMcX1hz8CNi5gvUhsKbSzWZwRqgXM

Don't make us transcribe all of the addresses to show you they're (probably) all zero.

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 06:45:26 PM
 #10


You make me to finally understand!
I was wrong on change addresses, all are zero except 1 that is equals to my actual total balance.
It happened because before formatting my pc i send all my balance to MTGox, just for feel safer, then i withdraw again to my wallet.
Is it for this that all balances have been zeroed?

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Nemo me impune lacessit


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 08:05:40 PM
 #11

Yes, when you withdrew from Gox, you sent BTC to one address in your wallet, not all of them.

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 09:45:26 PM
 #12

Hello,
i reinstalled os on my computer and i had to install again Electrum.
I simple copied electrum.dat file and i get again my wallet.

Today i formatted again and i installed again Ubuntu.
I installed Electrum 1.9 (before i was using 1.8.1) but the previous procedure that i used to restore my wallet now does not work.
Where to i have to put the electrum.dat file now?

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2013, 10:01:40 PM
 #13

Hello,
i reinstalled os on my computer and i had to install again Electrum.
I simple copied electrum.dat file and i get again my wallet.

Today i formatted again and i installed again Ubuntu.
I installed Electrum 1.9 (before i was using 1.8.1) but the previous procedure that i used to restore my wallet now does not work.
Where to i have to put the electrum.dat file now?

If you are updating or the electrum.dat is already in the /.electrum folder the client will turns it into the new wallet structure automatically

If you don't have labels that you would like to keep, you better use the seed to restore in the new 1.9

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
November 04, 2013, 10:13:14 PM
 #14

but the previous procedure that i used to restore my wallet now does not work.

can you explain how it is failing?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 12:10:11 AM
 #15

If you are updating or the electrum.dat is already in the /.electrum folder the client will turns it into the new wallet structure automatically
If you don't have labels that you would like to keep, you better use the seed to restore in the new 1.9
I save the electrum.dat file before formatting and now i don't know where to put it since Electrum 1.9 seems to have changed its structure: now there is a new folder named "wallets" in .electrum hidden folder.
I would keep all my labels... why is better to restore with seed?

can you explain how it is failing?
I tried to copy my backup file to .electrum (as it was before) and in this way Electrum doesn't start.

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/electrum", line 160, in <module>
    gui.main(url)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum_gui/qt/__init__.py", line 92, in main
    wallet = Wallet(storage)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum/wallet_factory.py", line 11, in __new__
    return Wallet(config)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum/wallet.py", line 172, in __init__
    self.fee                   = int(storage.get('fee_per_kb',20000))
TypeError: int() argument must be a string or a number, not 'NoneType'

If i go to see to the folder i see that the electrum.dat has been deleted and a new file named default_wallet results to be created in wallets folder.
Anyway Electrum doesn't start.

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 09:51:15 AM
 #16

if you are in trouble, restore from seed.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 09:54:40 AM
 #17

if you are in trouble, restore from seed.
And what about labels?


EDIT:
I think the problem is that new release of Electrum stores the wallet in "default_wallet" file in "wallets" folder.
So, how to restore the "electrum.dat" file?
Should i open a new topic about this issue?

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 10:23:55 AM
 #18

if you are in trouble, restore from seed.
And what about labels?


EDIT:
I think the problem is that new release of Electrum stores the wallet in "default_wallet" file in "wallets" folder.
So, how to restore the "electrum.dat" file?
Should i open a new topic about this issue?

menu-> file-> open and you can open any file

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 11:53:57 AM
 #19

if you are in trouble, restore from seed.
And what about labels?


EDIT:
I think the problem is that new release of Electrum stores the wallet in "default_wallet" file in "wallets" folder.
So, how to restore the "electrum.dat" file?
Should i open a new topic about this issue?

menu-> file-> open and you can open any file

I can do this action only after i created a new wallet when i run for the first time Electrum (or when i delete .electrum folder).
Anyway i did as you said but nothing is happened.

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 12:04:50 PM
 #20

I created a new topic... i think other users could have the same problem.

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!