Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2024, 08:42:18 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How should I implement p2p selling of online goods?  (Read 129 times)
bpwallace (OP)
Copper Member

Activity: 13
Merit: 0

View Profile
March 30, 2018, 09:51:56 AM

Hi there!

I am not a programmer nor am I as knowledgeable on this subject as I should be. I am in the middle of creating a website and want to implement peer to peer buying and selling without holding any of the crypto myself. In this case users sell something they designed to be used on my website and the buyers gain access to this item either permanently or for a certain time. Is this where smart contracts can help me? How would I go about this and what should I be educating myself on?

Thanks!

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
"There should not be any signed int. If you've found a signed int somewhere, please tell me (within the next 25 years please) and I'll change it to unsigned int." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
starmyc

Activity: 198
Merit: 130

Some random software engineer

View Profile
March 30, 2018, 01:26:02 PM

I'm not sure you need smart contracts. You just need to watch for transactions to complete.

One way to do it: Your seller will have to give its address to receive funds, and your buyer will have to send money to the seller address and to say you which is the transaction id of the transaction. You'll then be able to verify that transaction's value is equal to coins than must be spent and destination address, using a third party api.

Hi, I'm just some random software engineer.