Bitcoin Forum
September 18, 2018, 10:27:56 PM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon Controler No devices  (Read 97 times)
TopKiller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 27, 2018, 05:23:08 PM
 #1

Hi,

I bought avalon controler + psu +  1 avalon miner 821.
I’m having a problom because under CgMiner status, in Avalon Devices i dont have my avalon 821
The avalon miner have white led and the converter have green and blue lights

Whats the problem?


Tanks,
TopKiller
1537309676
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537309676

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537309676
Reply with quote  #2

1537309676
Report to moderator
Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537309676
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537309676

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537309676
Reply with quote  #2

1537309676
Report to moderator
sarcheer
Copper Member
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 7


View Profile
March 27, 2018, 10:15:26 PM
 #2

I tried using my old controller with my Avalon 821's but had the same problem as you! I discovered that you need to upgrade the controller firmware to the newest version that supports the 8's.

Hope this works for you!

Miners:
DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2, Avalon 821 x 6, Avalon 741 x 16, Innosilicon A4+, L3+ x 3
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1161


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2018, 10:21:59 PM
 #3

OP, have you tried to do a fresh install for the controller OpenWrt firmware?

You can see instructions how to do it in a guide I've made --> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2937129

TopKiller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 11:27:00 AM
 #4

Hi already installed the new firmwares and MM

Firmware: https://canaan.io/downloads/software/avalon821/openwrt/20180305/rpi3-modelb/
MM: https://canaan.io/downloads/software/avalon821/mm/2018-03-06/

Btw I tryed to use your toturial to solve the problem Cheesy
TopKiller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 11:34:11 AM
 #5

I tried using my old controller with my Avalon 821's but had the same problem as you! I discovered that you need to upgrade the controller firmware to the newest version that supports the 8's.

Hope this works for you!

Edit: I already did that, in my controler dashboard it says that i have the 20180305 version witch is the latest
Steamtyme
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 406
Merit: 342

Blokforge Affiliate- see profile


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2018, 02:32:00 PM
 #6

It may be your AUC3 converter, between the controller and the miner. Do you have a spare one by chance? If you do try swapping it out.

I know in the past a few have gone out that weren't flashed for operation.

What do the lights look like on the miner and on the AUC3 converter?

TopKiller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 03:45:25 PM
 #7

It may be your AUC3 converter, between the controller and the miner. Do you have a spare one by chance? If you do try swapping it out.

I know in the past a few have gone out that weren't flashed for operation.

What do the lights look like on the miner and on the AUC3 converter?

Hi

I dont have a spare auc3 converter. The leds are white in the miner and blue + green in auc converter

Tanks
Topkiller
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1161


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2018, 04:06:26 PM
 #8

There has been some issues with the AUC3 Converters with no firmware installed.

Maybe your AUC3 Converter is an unflashed one?

Steamtyme
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 406
Merit: 342

Blokforge Affiliate- see profile


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2018, 04:13:41 PM
 #9


Hi

I dont have a spare auc3 converter. The leds are white in the miner and blue + green in auc converter

Tanks
Topkiller

Where did you buy the miner?

I can't remember if the Converters lights show normal (which is what you described) when it isn't flashed? I would then guess that it is either your converter or the cable to the miner.

I don't know for sure that it matters, but if you are looking at the back did you plug the cable into the port on the left side? Also just make sure the cable is in all the way.
I remember that being the suggested way to do it and to use the right side port for daisy chaining multiple miners.

You might have to reach out to the Distributor you purchased from for a converter or cable. Maybe a support ticket with Canaan as well.

TopKiller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 04:26:21 PM
 #10

Hi.
I have plugged the auc3 cable to the left side
I will talk to cryptouniverse(where i buy the miner) to give me one new conversor

Tanks.
Topkiller
mgoz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 14


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 04:30:15 PM
 #11

I had an 821 that did the same thing. AUC3 lit blue and miner would light white and then stay yellow in idle status. It was a bad AUC cable. I didn't see anything wrong with it or the pin outs and even tried re-pinning, but no luck. Moving the cable around, sometimes the AUC3 would flicker red. Only replacement cable fixed it. Cable wire colors were slightly different than replacement and what I received with 841. Main LED on AUC3 should be lit green when it's properly communicating with controller. Blue only means the AUC3 is initialized, but won't show up in cgminer or detect any miners.
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1161


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2018, 04:38:07 PM
 #12

^ That is a good point. It is always a good idea to check the cable conditions before moving on with the troubleshooting to PCB boards.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1336


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 04:48:32 PM
 #13

cable link

https://www.amazon.com/uxcell-2-54mm-Pitch-Female-Adapter/dp/B00W948IDG/ref=sr_1_3?

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!