Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 08:18:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ubuntu Natty stuck at blank screen before login screen on 6 GPU (HD5850)  (Read 2213 times)
polymorpher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 09:51:04 AM
 #1

Everything was good with my dual 5850 until I added 4 more. Ubuntu Natty simply stuck at a blank screen (without internet connection) after the logo "Ubuntu" is loaded. I tried the following (through recovery mode):

1. Reinstall the driver: tried auto install from Ubuntu, and from the package downloaded from ATI website. Also tried manual install.
2. aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
3. aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=0,1,2,3,4,5
4. In /etc/X11/xorg.conf ServerLayout section, change "RightOf ...screen...1", "RightOf ...screen...2..." .... to "RightOf ...screen...0..." and other layouts (also tried set resolution to 800x600)
5. In /etc/X11/xorg.conf ServerLayout section, change "RightOf..." to 0 0

None of them work, I couldn't enter login screen unless I run "aticonfig --initial -f" which only enables the first device. It doesn't solve the problem.
Of course, all cards can be detected by aticonfig (aticonfig --list-adapters), and atiflash in MS-DOS.

GPU-Z can detect all 6 GPUs on Windows.
Motherboard: GA890FXA-UD7

I think a small change in xorg.conf should be able to fix this - for the moment, I am trying to increase the number of adapters one by one. But it seems Ubuntu couldn't even start with only 2 adapters (aticonfig --initial -f --adapters=0,1)

1511036336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511036336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511036336
Reply with quote  #2

1511036336
Report to moderator
Goat says: "Bitcoin is NOT Illegal in Thailand. There is no law against Bitcoin in Thailand!"
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511036336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511036336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511036336
Reply with quote  #2

1511036336
Report to moderator
1511036336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511036336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511036336
Reply with quote  #2

1511036336
Report to moderator
1511036336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511036336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511036336
Reply with quote  #2

1511036336
Report to moderator
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:03:16 AM
 #2

IRQ error are my guess ? I've had this a few times and had to add a few flags to my boot configuration.

pci=acpi or acpi=noirq
polymorpher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:16:59 AM
 #3

Doesn't work. Since it works with 2 cards, I suspect one of the PCI-E x16 extension cable is defective.

Testing them one by one.
polymorpher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:27:24 AM
 #4

Boot successfully with 3rd card, but get temperature failed only on third card (flashed back to default BIOS), weird.
polymorpher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 11:54:49 AM
 #5

Got it working with 4 cards but with 5th/6th card plugged in the problem persists. I will just try linuxcoin.
polymorpher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 12:58:16 PM
 #6

Now with six cards it boots into scary white vertical lines, how fun is that
polymorpher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 02:09:05 PM
 #7

Now, problem solved - just as I predicted, the problem was my Ubuntu was 32-bit! They should really add some documentation on this, most likely to be a design problem in kernel, not ATI's fault.
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 04:32:36 PM
 #8

Just curious, did you use dummy plugs?

Also did you try Linuxcoin instead?

Thanks

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
polymorpher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 12:18:10 AM
 #9

Just curious, did you use dummy plugs?

Also did you try Linuxcoin instead?

Thanks


No. I can't find anyone to sell me 50~150Ohm resistor in the city I live.
I didn't try Linuxcoin. After all, Linuxcoin is still Linux.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!