Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2019, 06:48:31 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 ... 288 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridcoin (GRC) - first coin utilizing BOINC - Official Thread  (Read 579689 times)
declensions
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 02:41:08 AM
Last edit: March 07, 2014, 03:30:24 AM by declensions
 #2481

thanks, seems like the miner takes a lot of trouble to set up so i want to know a little more detail

-What's the current network difficulty and where do i find this info?

-I have 3 Mh/s, from what i'm reading it looks like I should be solo mining?  
is CPU mining worth it? I have several i7 quadcore / hexcore cpu's what kind of hashrate would they get in comparison do a 280x GPU?

-On the pool I only see 14 miners? Did there use to be way more at some point? With a market cap of $300,000 I'm kind of confused who is creating all the coins, is everyone just solo mining?=

-Does mining this use the same wattage as normal scrypt mining?

When I sign up, what is "Default GRC address?" I put mine as wutwutinthebutt

C2.1: CfAMDL4FJomN8bLpsPKZz3mBtdQVg7Sgbp
1556218111
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556218111

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556218111
Reply with quote  #2

1556218111
Report to moderator
1556218111
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556218111

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556218111
Reply with quote  #2

1556218111
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Bitcoin_Gambler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 03:52:50 AM
 #2482

thanks, seems like the miner takes a lot of trouble to set up so i want to know a little more detail

-What's the current network difficulty and where do i find this info?

-I have 3 Mh/s, from what i'm reading it looks like I should be solo mining?  
is CPU mining worth it? I have several i7 quadcore / hexcore cpu's what kind of hashrate would they get in comparison do a 280x GPU?

-On the pool I only see 14 miners? Did there use to be way more at some point? With a market cap of $300,000 I'm kind of confused who is creating all the coins, is everyone just solo mining?=

-Does mining this use the same wattage as normal scrypt mining?

When I sign up, what is "Default GRC address?" I put mine as wutwutinthebutt

pool mining hasn't been set up yet because it's more complicated with gridcoin than other coins.
declensions
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 04:05:23 AM
 #2483

Quote

what's that then? someone mind answering my other questions please?  much appreciated!

C2.1: CfAMDL4FJomN8bLpsPKZz3mBtdQVg7Sgbp
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 07, 2014, 04:06:52 AM
 #2484

Pool mining tutorial: https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/7515-tradermans-pool-mining-poolgridcoinus-tutorial/

Quote

what's that then? someone mind answering my other questions please?  much appreciated!
declensions
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 04:27:01 AM
 #2485

ok so there is pooled mining.. i have that tab open.. so is it better to pool mine or solo?

is cpu mining worth it if i have a gpu rig? or does the hashrate from cpu mining pale in comparison?

what is "GRC address" do i leave that blank?

C2.1: CfAMDL4FJomN8bLpsPKZz3mBtdQVg7Sgbp
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 07, 2014, 04:47:23 AM
 #2486

I asked the dev of Boincstats if he would accept GRC donations and as of today Boincstats.com now officially accepts Gridcoin for donations!

Forum Announcement: http://boincstats.com/en/forum/4/9117,1#130269

GRC address for donation: Fv9EeYcoTz9BFUFPVQn6mHS9RMYGM24nze





s4mmy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 08:02:32 AM
 #2487

ok so there is pooled mining.. i have that tab open.. so is it better to pool mine or solo?

is cpu mining worth it if i have a gpu rig? or does the hashrate from cpu mining pale in comparison?

what is "GRC address" do i leave that blank?

Why don't you read the first post? There's a lot of information about the coin and also tutorials how to mine. I think this is the most profitable coin there is available and sure use all your cpu:s:

https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1922-cpu-mining-tutorialtopic/

The idea is that you calculate boinc with cpu and get paid grc (max 150grc/day/pc). Very profitable. You can also solo mine and 3MH would get you quite a good amount of coins per day. Also pool mining is possible it's up to you.

http://explorer.gridcoin.us/
There's network hashrate and stuff..
anonerd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 09:29:04 AM
 #2488

I asked the dev of Boincstats if he would accept GRC donations and as of today Boincstats.com now officially accepts Gridcoin for donations!

Forum Announcement: http://boincstats.com/en/forum/4/9117,1#130269

GRC address for donation: Fv9EeYcoTz9BFUFPVQn6mHS9RMYGM24nze







Glorious! Smiley

Still waisting energy on Proof-of-Work? Use your Rigs for scientific progress!
Member of Gridcoin-Germany - http://uscore.net (en) - http://uscore.de (de) - http://gridcoin.us (ann)
s4mmy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 10:16:48 AM
 #2489

A transaction which i sent from my windows wallet to my linux wallet on 2-27 is still stuck with 0 confirmations. Installing the latest win wallet and rebuilding the blockchain didn't help. Is there a way to resend?

Code:
"amount" : 213.00000000,
"confirmations" : 0,
"txid" : "edb68888d2b5e5eff4915e24688de39a9800d7e8170af203a9b97bbed2c26de8",
"time" : 1393462079,
"timereceived" : 1393464241,
"details" : [
{
"account" : "",
"address" : "Fyc4GEHpc84SwCdYwE4FtuatuXRyWSeNN5",
"category" : "receive",
"amount" : 213.00000000

I have had similar kind problem. You could try this:

https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1428-technical-support-thread/?p=25340
declensions
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 10:39:24 AM
 #2490

ok so there is pooled mining.. i have that tab open.. so is it better to pool mine or solo?

is cpu mining worth it if i have a gpu rig? or does the hashrate from cpu mining pale in comparison?

what is "GRC address" do i leave that blank?

Why don't you read the first post? There's a lot of information about the coin and also tutorials how to mine. I think this is the most profitable coin there is available and sure use all your cpu:s:

https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1922-cpu-mining-tutorialtopic/

The idea is that you calculate boinc with cpu and get paid grc (max 150grc/day/pc). Very profitable. You can also solo mine and 3MH would get you quite a good amount of coins per day. Also pool mining is possible it's up to you.

http://explorer.gridcoin.us/
There's network hashrate and stuff..

thanks, and i did read. I know what the concept is, but it doesn't answer the questions I'm asking. i wasn't asking how to set it up, I already saw the tutorial.

Still no one answered if solo mining is better than pooled mining for this coin, or no difference?

Does mining this coin have the same power usage as regular scrypt coins? (currently mining darkcoin which uses only 50% of usual wattage and very little heat, so i'm looking for something efficient)

Does it matter what type of cpu you have? or do you get 150 grc regardless of what type of cpu? (I have 3930k and 4770k)

C2.1: CfAMDL4FJomN8bLpsPKZz3mBtdQVg7Sgbp
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442
Merit: 1013


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 11:50:38 AM
 #2491

I asked the dev of Boincstats if he would accept GRC donations and as of today Boincstats.com now officially accepts Gridcoin for donations!


Well done!
s4mmy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 11:54:25 AM
 #2492

ok so there is pooled mining.. i have that tab open.. so is it better to pool mine or solo?

is cpu mining worth it if i have a gpu rig? or does the hashrate from cpu mining pale in comparison?

what is "GRC address" do i leave that blank?

Why don't you read the first post? There's a lot of information about the coin and also tutorials how to mine. I think this is the most profitable coin there is available and sure use all your cpu:s:

https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1922-cpu-mining-tutorialtopic/

The idea is that you calculate boinc with cpu and get paid grc (max 150grc/day/pc). Very profitable. You can also solo mine and 3MH would get you quite a good amount of coins per day. Also pool mining is possible it's up to you.

http://explorer.gridcoin.us/
There's network hashrate and stuff..

thanks, and i did read. I know what the concept is, but it doesn't answer the questions I'm asking. i wasn't asking how to set it up, I already saw the tutorial.

Still no one answered if solo mining is better than pooled mining for this coin, or no difference?

Does mining this coin have the same power usage as regular scrypt coins? (currently mining darkcoin which uses only 50% of usual wattage and very little heat, so i'm looking for something efficient)

Does it matter what type of cpu you have? or do you get 150 grc regardless of what type of cpu? (I have 3930k and 4770k)

Just solo mine because hashrate is not very high. This is regular scrypt. With your cpus I think you will get full credits. 576 blocks are for cpu miners and there are now about 1k? miners so there is some competition already.
asdlolciterquit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 517


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 11:56:27 AM
 #2493

ok so there is pooled mining.. i have that tab open.. so is it better to pool mine or solo?

is cpu mining worth it if i have a gpu rig? or does the hashrate from cpu mining pale in comparison?

what is "GRC address" do i leave that blank?

Why don't you read the first post? There's a lot of information about the coin and also tutorials how to mine. I think this is the most profitable coin there is available and sure use all your cpu:s:

https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1922-cpu-mining-tutorialtopic/

The idea is that you calculate boinc with cpu and get paid grc (max 150grc/day/pc). Very profitable. You can also solo mine and 3MH would get you quite a good amount of coins per day. Also pool mining is possible it's up to you.

http://explorer.gridcoin.us/
There's network hashrate and stuff..

thanks, and i did read. I know what the concept is, but it doesn't answer the questions I'm asking. i wasn't asking how to set it up, I already saw the tutorial.

Still no one answered if solo mining is better than pooled mining for this coin, or no difference?

Does mining this coin have the same power usage as regular scrypt coins? (currently mining darkcoin which uses only 50% of usual wattage and very little heat, so i'm looking for something efficient)

Does it matter what type of cpu you have? or do you get 150 grc regardless of what type of cpu? (I have 3930k and 4770k)

yes, it matter what type of cpu you have, but right now you can earn 150grc even with an old gpu (for example i use an AMD phenom II X4 945...).
To gain 150grc it's important to set your boinc's cpu utilizzation at 100%.

With your hashrate i think is better solo mining, but i may be wrong.

Gpu mining can have a lower power usage as regular scrypt coins. Some times your gpu will enter in sleep mode to save power....someone more expert can tell you how this is works!

I think that this is a really good coin, try it, really!
customminer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 01:28:45 PM
 #2494

Anyone having issues with beacons not being sent when cpu mining?
asdlolciterquit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 517


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 01:38:30 PM
 #2495

Anyone having issues with beacons not being sent when cpu mining?

how much time did you wait? beacons are send every 72 hours..
customminer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 02:04:47 PM
 #2496

Anyone having issues with beacons not being sent when cpu mining?

how much time did you wait? beacons are send every 72 hours..

4 computers, and it's been several days now.
If the 72 hours are reset every time I upgrade to the latest version of gridcoin, that's a complete joke since there are updates every other day.
I'd prefer it to be reverted back to daily beacons - waiting 3 days for a possible beacon is too long to wait to find out if you've set it up correctly.
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 07, 2014, 02:11:45 PM
 #2497

Is your wallet encrypted and password protected? If yes, the beacons will not work!

Anyone having issues with beacons not being sent when cpu mining?

how much time did you wait? beacons are send every 72 hours..

4 computers, and it's been several days now.
If the 72 hours are reset every time I upgrade to the latest version of gridcoin, that's a complete joke since there are updates every other day.
I'd prefer it to be reverted back to daily beacons - waiting 3 days for a possible beacon is too long to wait to find out if you've set it up correctly.
s4mmy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 02:14:20 PM
 #2498

Anyone having issues with beacons not being sent when cpu mining?

how much time did you wait? beacons are send every 72 hours..

4 computers, and it's been several days now.
If the 72 hours are reset every time I upgrade to the latest version of gridcoin, that's a complete joke since there are updates every other day.
I'd prefer it to be reverted back to daily beacons - waiting 3 days for a possible beacon is too long to wait to find out if you've set it up correctly.

I encourage you to write about it to https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1331-new-coin-launch-announcement-grc-gridcoin/page-121

Rob reads that more than bitcointalk. I haven't had any problem but yes I think there should be some way to make sure everything is working with cpu mining. For me the beacons were send in an hour or so when I first started cpu mining. So I think something is still wrong with your configuration :/ Yep maybe encryption!
WinterParker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250


Dock.io


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2014, 02:16:36 PM
 #2499

is there new nodes or something??  I haven't opened my GRC wallet in a couple months, and now I have but the QT wont sync.  So I tried the lastest QT and still no luck.  Can someone help me out?

.
▀ ▀ ▀▀▀
                 ▄█▄
         ▄▄      ███
         ▀██▄    ███
      ▄▄▄▄▄███▄  ███
   ▄███████████▀ ███
 ▄███▀    ▄██▀   ███
▄███     ██▀     ███
███              ███
███              ███
███▄            ▄███
 ███▄          ▄███
  ▀███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███▀
    ▀▀████████▀


          ██                            ██               ▄▄
          ██                            ██               ▀▀
          ██                            ██     ▄▄
  ▄██████▄██    ▄██████▄      ▄██████▄  ██   ▄██▀        ██    ▄██████▄
▄██▀    ▀███  ▄██▀    ▀██▄  ▄██▀    ▀▀  ██ ▄██▀          ██  ▄██▀    ▀██▄
██        ██  ██        ██  ██          █████▄           ██  ██        ██
██        ██  ██        ██  ██          ██▀▀██▄          ██  ██        ██
▀██▄    ▄██▀  ▀██▄    ▄██▀  ▀██▄    ▄▄  ██   ▀██▄   ▄▄▄  ██  ▀██▄    ▄██▀
  ▀██████▀      ▀██████▀      ▀██████▀  ██     ▀██  ███  ██    ▀██████▀

▬▬   WHITEPAPER   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
FACEBOOK        TWITTER        TELEGRAM
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN THREAD   ▬▬
.

Sparood
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 02:28:30 PM
 #2500

Try update command from the console. That worked for me earlier!

Pages: « 1 ... 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 ... 288 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!