Bitcoin Forum
July 28, 2017, 04:31:20 AM *
News: BIP91 seems stable: there's probably only slightly increased risk of confirmations disappearing. You should still prepare for Aug 1.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Run 3 PSU's on one Machine...  (Read 684 times)
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 01:57:39 AM
 #1

Saw this today over at HardOCP.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WsWdOMbQF94

Looks interesting, though they're a bit expensive (about $20 each) compared to some other options out there like just shorting out pins or cable adapters.  Still nifty though.
1501216280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501216280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501216280
Reply with quote  #2

1501216280
Report to moderator
1501216280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501216280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501216280
Reply with quote  #2

1501216280
Report to moderator
1501216280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501216280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501216280
Reply with quote  #2

1501216280
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
marvinmartian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 02:56:31 AM
 #2

Saw this today over at HardOCP.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WsWdOMbQF94

Looks interesting, though they're a bit expensive (about $20 each) compared to some other options out there like just shorting out pins or cable adapters.  Still nifty though.

Why not just connect the green and black wires on each power supply?  They can be daisy chained afaik.  I've only had need to try it with two so far.  $20 for an adapter cable is steep.  Decent 500w power supplies can be had for just shy of double that.

"... and the geeks shall inherit the earth."
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 03:11:26 AM
 #3

Since it uses a relay to trigger the power up of the second supply based on power on the first - I wonder what the delay is like? It will bring up second supplies only after first has reached high enough voltage to switch the relay.

I tend to think that jumping green wires is a better approach but this method, though more costly, is a quicker way to setup.

Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 03:57:06 AM
 #4

Since it uses a relay to trigger the power up of the second supply based on power on the first - I wonder what the delay is like? It will bring up second supplies only after first has reached high enough voltage to switch the relay.

I tend to think that jumping green wires is a better approach but this method, though more costly, is a quicker way to setup.

I'm going to bet that most people will be able to setup jumpered green wires in the few days it takes to order an adapter and wait for it to get shipped Cheesy

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 04:00:26 AM
 #5

... as I mentioned http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=32439.0  Smiley

also it only took me half an hour to search through my junk and find some pins, solder them together and then put it all together
Remember to power on the cards before the CPU ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!