Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 07:10:39 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What is correct way of setup VPS?  (Read 241 times)
wsxdrfv (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 5


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2018, 02:34:55 AM
 #1

If I work at in my desktop's virtualbox,

1. first I should upload to github, then cloned it to VPS, and then compile there and make mycoind file?

2. or I can just copy mycoind file from my desktop to VPS and there I run ./mycoind?

Thanks.
1715065839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715065839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715065839
Reply with quote  #2

1715065839
Report to moderator
1715065839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715065839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715065839
Reply with quote  #2

1715065839
Report to moderator
1715065839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715065839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715065839
Reply with quote  #2

1715065839
Report to moderator
No Gods or Kings. Only Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715065839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715065839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715065839
Reply with quote  #2

1715065839
Report to moderator
1715065839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715065839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715065839
Reply with quote  #2

1715065839
Report to moderator
1715065839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715065839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715065839
Reply with quote  #2

1715065839
Report to moderator
Bratecon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 05:25:54 AM
 #2


Correct way would be to get a VPS from one of the available cloud services and have a local wallet with your coins.

wsxdrfv (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 5


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2018, 06:05:29 AM
 #3


Correct way would be to get a VPS from one of the available cloud services and have a local wallet with your coins.


I already did.

Source compile should be executed there or just move mycoind file to there is enough?
Bratecon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2018, 01:55:54 AM
 #4


Correct way would be to get a VPS from one of the available cloud services and have a local wallet with your coins.


I already did.

Source compile should be executed there or just move mycoind file to there is enough?


If you already have compiled daemon then you can just copy it there. It doesn't matter where you compile it.

andrew1carlssin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 3

#Please, read:Daniel Ellsberg,-The Doomsday *wk


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2018, 02:06:59 AM
 #5

while I on setuping a VPS I always check the switch box clock rate ( I don't know why, may some subconscious thing )  ..

on
IOS

.
!
interface Serial5/0
 no ip address
 clockrate 11xxx26
!
.

Satoshi's book editor; SCIpher - https://pdos.csail.mit.edu/archive/scigen/scipher.html
wsxdrfv (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 5


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2018, 02:53:09 AM
 #6



If you already have compiled daemon then you can just copy it there. It doesn't matter where you compile it.

Ok, thx, then daemon file's put position is not matter? Or should I put daemon file at /root folder?
Sellingaccs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 50

Ask me for Pools, Nodes and Explorers.


View Profile
April 03, 2018, 09:15:23 AM
 #7



If you already have compiled daemon then you can just copy it there. It doesn't matter where you compile it.

Ok, thx, then daemon file's put position is not matter? Or should I put daemon file at /root folder?

Daemon should be ran most probably on startup.
If you browse to your coins source folder, just run "sudo make install". This should make the daemon available system wide, without the need to browse into a path everytime that you restart. If that does not work, just open up your terminal and enter the following:

Code:
crontab -e
@reboot coind -daemon

Then save it, and that should do the work. However for the crontab to work, the daemon needs to be available system wide which is done by the "sudo make install" on earlier step. It is possible to make a init.d script, but it is much more technical.

prjcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
April 04, 2018, 05:43:59 PM
 #8

chmod +x xxxcoind
sudo mv xxxcoind/usr/bin/

if you use this way, you can use xxxcoind in any field.
Sellingaccs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 50

Ask me for Pools, Nodes and Explorers.


View Profile
April 04, 2018, 05:48:29 PM
 #9

chmod +x xxxcoind
sudo mv xxxcoind/usr/bin/

if you use this way, you can use xxxcoind in any field.


I did not even know that. So any executable that is under /usr/bin will be available systemwide without needing to write the complete path?



Been a longtime user of debian and i thought that this needs some kind of alias to achieve.

Edit: There should be a space between coind executable and /usr/bin path.

mattcode
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 282
Merit: 31


View Profile
April 04, 2018, 07:42:46 PM
Merited by Sellingaccs (1)
 #10

It depends. If mycoind is dynamically linked, you need to make sure all of its dependencies are installed on your VPS. You can check which libraries mycoind is dynamically linked to with "ldd ./mycoind". Here's what they are for a recent version of Bitcoin Core:

Code:
matt@bigrig:~$ ldd $(which bitcoind)
linux-vdso.so.1 (0x00007ffe697c4000)
libboost_system.so.1.62.0 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libboost_system.so.1.62.0 (0x00007f849d6e0000)
libboost_filesystem.so.1.62.0 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libboost_filesystem.so.1.62.0 (0x00007f849d4c7000)
libboost_program_options.so.1.62.0 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libboost_program_options.so.1.62.0 (0x00007f849d248000)
libboost_thread.so.1.62.0 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libboost_thread.so.1.62.0 (0x00007f849d020000)
libboost_chrono.so.1.62.0 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libboost_chrono.so.1.62.0 (0x00007f849ce19000)
libdb_cxx-5.3.so => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libdb_cxx-5.3.so (0x00007f849ca34000)
libssl.so.1.1 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libssl.so.1.1 (0x00007f849c7c8000)
libcrypto.so.1.1 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libcrypto.so.1.1 (0x00007f849c335000)
libevent_pthreads-2.0.so.5 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libevent_pthreads-2.0.so.5 (0x00007f849c132000)
libevent-2.0.so.5 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libevent-2.0.so.5 (0x00007f849beea000)
libzmq.so.5 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libzmq.so.5 (0x00007f849bc60000)
libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6 (0x00007f849b8de000)
libm.so.6 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libm.so.6 (0x00007f849b5da000)
libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x00007f849b3c3000)
libpthread.so.0 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0 (0x00007f849b1a6000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6 (0x00007f849ae07000)
librt.so.1 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/librt.so.1 (0x00007f849abff000)
libdl.so.2 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libdl.so.2 (0x00007f849a9fb000)
libevent_core-2.0.so.5 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libevent_core-2.0.so.5 (0x00007f849a7cf000)
libsodium.so.18 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libsodium.so.18 (0x00007f849a569000)
libpgm-5.2.so.0 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpgm-5.2.so.0 (0x00007f849a31c000)
/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00007f849e0ca000)

You need to make sure that they're all the same version as the machine you built it on. If they're different distros, it's probably just easier to build it again on the VPS.



chmod +x xxxcoind
sudo mv xxxcoind/usr/bin/

if you use this way, you can use xxxcoind in any field.


I did not even know that. So any executable that is under /usr/bin will be available systemwide without needing to write the complete path?



Been a longtime user of debian and i thought that this needs some kind of alias to achieve.

Edit: There should be a space between coind executable and /usr/bin path.

It can be anywhere on your $PATH. Try "echo $PATH" in your shell and have a look at all the places it looks for executables. You can append other directories to $PATH and it will search in those too (you can even add . if you're feeling silly).

Code:
matt@bigrig:~$ echo $PATH
/home/matt/.opam/4.06.1/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games

So if I put xxxcoind in any of those directories, I'll be able to run it without typing out the full path.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!