Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:59:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can you mine with a laptop's graphics card?  (Read 1569 times)
mvmacd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 06:30:01 PM
 #1

I am on Ubuntu, and I have a Dell Inspiron 1525.  It has a GM965 Express chipset.  Can I mine with this?  

I made an account at bitcoinpool.com.
I have tried phoenix but it doesn't work.  
This is what it does:

Code:
$ ./phoenix.py -u http://mvm***:*********@bitcoinpool.com:8334 -k poclbm
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./phoenix.py", line 123, in <module>
    miner.start(options)
  File "/home/matt/bitcoin/phoenix-1.50/Miner.py", line 75, in start
    self.kernel = self.options.makeKernel(KernelInterface(self))
  File "./phoenix.py", line 112, in makeKernel
    self.kernel = kernelModule.MiningKernel(requester)
  File "kernels/poclbm/__init__.py", line 132, in __init__
    platforms = cl.get_platforms()
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: invalid/unknown error code
1481367563
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367563

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367563
Reply with quote  #2

1481367563
Report to moderator
I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES I HA(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ TABLES I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481367563
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367563

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367563
Reply with quote  #2

1481367563
Report to moderator
alemaaltevinden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


I'm going to be the first worldleader, be prepared


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 09:27:54 AM
 #2

Are you sure you updated your drivers?

I'm going to be the first worldleader, be prepared >Smiley
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 10:20:35 AM
 #3

Seriously, you are trying to mine with an integrated Intel video chip? Especially one that is as old and hardware-crippled as the 965?
Quote
It has pixel and vertex shaders which only support Shader Model 2.0b features, and the vertex shaders are still only software-emulated.
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_GMA#GMA_3000)

Besides, none of Intel's graphics chips support OpenCL. It won't work.

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 10:28:40 AM
 #4

Can I mine with this?
no, your card sucks

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
fush6644
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 02:19:05 PM
 #5

^
|
|
|
what he said, but more politely  Tongue
Escalus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 03:21:49 PM
 #6

actually, nearly no mining with notebooks is getting you any cash. maybe it will, with some kind of alienware thing, for around 2000+ bucks. but yeah.. besides that.. intel GMA chips are §$%&/.
mvmacd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 12:46:49 AM
 #7

Ok, that's what I was trying to find out, kthxbye
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!