Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 11:37:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: no trace of BTC funds in my electrum wallet  (Read 174 times)
mdeed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2018, 07:20:03 PM
 #1

Hey I'm new to this forum so forgive me if I'm being ignorant to the rules, I transferred funds from Coinbase into my electrum wallet about 10 hours ago and the unconfirmed balance/ any kind of balance is not visible on electrum, block chain says it is done (I think) can anyone help me please? In a bit of a panic lol
1524613045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524613045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524613045
Reply with quote  #2

1524613045
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524613045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524613045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524613045
Reply with quote  #2

1524613045
Report to moderator
1524613045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524613045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524613045
Reply with quote  #2

1524613045
Report to moderator
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 1062

bc1qdj5v2q8p398rdy6sexc0fapk4hcq0p54xz56ez


View Profile
April 16, 2018, 07:31:48 PM
 #2

Can you post the txid and/or the recieving address of the transaction?

Do coinbase say it's confirmed. Does Electrum say "Not Connected", "Syncronising"... or anything at the very bottom (can you screenshot the electrum window and put it somewhere like imgur and link it here)?

What version of electrum are you running and what's your operating system also?

BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1018


View Profile
April 16, 2018, 08:30:16 PM
 #3

If your transaction sent from coinbase and you have TXID it must be shown in your electrum wallet even the transaction still not confirm.

Since you said it's done and confirmed(should be 3 confirmation or more) it should show up in your electrum wallet history.

My guess maybe your electrum wallet is blocked from your internet connection or you use a fake electrum wallet.

Could you share with us if where did you download the electrum wallet?

boy130
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 263



View Profile
April 16, 2018, 08:58:45 PM
 #4

There's a few options on what could be going wrong here, first off did you set up a segwit address or a legacy wallet? If you withdrew before the segwit upgrade the transaction might not have completed. Assuming that's not the case then;

1. Your Electrum might not have synchronized, does it have a green marker in the bottom right corner?
2. You simply entered the wrong address, check your receiving address in your electrum wallet and make sure once of them matches the address you withdrew to on Coinbase
3. You might have opened the wrong type of wallet in Electrum, there are multiple versions of Electrum some of these are for other crypto coins. Please post your transaction ID so we can check the address format

Most likely the transaction simply hasn't been processed by Coinbase yet.

Cobalt9317
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 270


DateCoin - The HOTTEST ICO


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2018, 12:30:55 AM
 #5

Hey I'm new to this forum so forgive me if I'm being ignorant to the rules, I transferred funds from Coinbase into my electrum wallet about 10 hours ago and the unconfirmed balance/ any kind of balance is not visible on electrum, block chain says it is done (I think) can anyone help me please? In a bit of a panic lol

Do you have a multiple wallet in your Electrum? just make sure you open the right wallet that belong to the address you send to.

bob123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 386



View Profile
April 17, 2018, 08:40:45 AM
 #6

The first step would be to check your address in a blockexplorer [1] and check if the transaction has been confirmed already ('X confirmations' or 'unconfirmed').
If it has been confirmed, your coins have arrived.

It mostly is a network/sync issue. Do you see the dot at the lower right corner? Is it red (disconnected) or green (connected)?

What version of electrum are you using? The current one is 3.1.2, you should update electrum if you don't have the current version.


[1] e.g. blocktrail, blockcypher or blockchain.info

mdeed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 08:59:52 AM
 #7

I'm using the latest version of electrum 3.1.2, my transaction ID is 409ee94f6e32a58617eeba5ca44fc185d0aadead32a9ec3fa097e9ec39305714
My receive code is 1QYBTf2tDgyzc6GA8w4ycef7HjWoPgk6j
I've jumped from server to server and even left it on all night with a green dot in the corner, I copy and pasted my receive ID from coin base on to note pad then the same one from my actual electrum wallet directly underneath it to compare all the characters and they're identical.
Coin base says its confirmed and I spoke to them via email and they said it should be in there, Ive checked all my wallets and all of the addresses and the last time I had anything go out of my electrum was on the 12th which was 4 days before I bought these bit coins so I know it can't be theft and the wallet I have open is for BTC/mBTC.
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 723

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:07:06 AM
 #8

Your address: https://blockchain.info/address/1QYBTf2tDgyzc6GA8w4ycef7HjWoPgk6j

shows a balance of just over 0.025 BTC... received in 4 transactions dated: 5th, 9th, and two on the 16th April. There have been ZERO outgoing transactions from that address... so assuming that the address is actually yours, then the coins are safe.

Can you actually see that address displayed in your Electrum on the "Addresses" tab?

If so, you might need to shut down Electrum, then find and delete the "blockchain_headers" file from your Electrum data directory and then restart Electrum and let it resync.

mdeed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:10:25 AM
 #9

I dont have that much money lol I only bought £95 worth of coins, which address? Sorry I'm very new to this D:
bob123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 386



View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:15:17 AM
 #10

Your address: https://blockchain.info/address/1QYBTf2tDgyzc6GA8w4ycef7HjWoPgk6j

shows a balance of just over 0.25 BTC... received in 4 transactions

*0.025 BTC





OP, can you check the 'Address'-tab (relatively at the top of electrum) and check wether the address appears in there.
You might also try to use the console-tab (if not visible: 'View' -> 'Show Console') and type in: listunspent().

This should show 'all' of your UTXO's (in your case: you should see address 1QYBTf2tDgyzc6GA8w4ycef7HjWoPgk6j with your balance).
What is the output of the command?

You can also try to type ismine("1QYBTf2tDgyzc6GA8w4ycef7HjWoPgk6j"). This should return true.

mdeed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:19:26 AM
 #11

the ismine command came back false?
bob123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 386



View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:27:04 AM
 #12

the ismine command came back false?

This is weird.
This means this address is not part of your wallet.

Did you somehow (maybe by accident) create a second wallet file?

And since you have already received 4 payments to your address, did they at any moment show up in electrum?

Did you download electrum from the official site (https://electrum.org/)?


max1501
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:28:24 AM
 #13

 Smiley
mdeed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:29:18 AM
 #14

I've got 3 different wallets I've checked them all they have all come back false D:
bob123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 386



View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:37:26 AM
 #15

Can you check wether you have the correct version of electrum (non-malicious)?

The best would be to check the signature, but using a checksum should be fine too.


Do the following:
  • Press WIN-key + R
  • Type in: cmd
  • Run this command: certutil -hashfile C:\path\to\electrum.exe sha256 (Use the path to (1) the electrum installer or (2) the standalone executable (depending on what you are using))
  • Compare the output to the hashes below


Hash of the portable version:
Code:
d42391fe8069be5ebfab9d3e1e4f4f8dbd0e36d80bc841677d76359510e22b6e

Hash for the installer:
Code:
ab82319dff3bef0604fe173d45d94e3ede7dc3947d41ce59976a0b07c0357c71

HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 723

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 09:49:43 AM
 #16

I've got 3 different wallets I've checked them all they have all come back false D:
Where did you get this "receive ID" from? 1QYBTf2tDgyzc6GA8w4ycef7HjWoPgk6j? Huh

That is the address that you say you got from Electrum:
... I copy and pasted my receive ID from coin base on to note pad then the same one from my actual electrum wallet directly underneath it to compare all the characters and they're identical.
How did you get this "receive ID" from Electrum? Huh

If you copy pasted it from Electrum... it should be displayed in Electrum somewhere... can you take a screenshot of where you got it from?

If you cannot see "1QYBTf2tDgyzc6GA8w4ycef7HjWoPgk6j" anywhere in Electrum, it is possible that you have the "clipboard virus" that alters bitcoin addresses when you try to use copy/paste... As a test, try and copy/paste this address: 1P7S8HoyxjExFFgaGhBkYXhtJhoxe1bNWp into Notepad... see if it displays the correct address.

mdeed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 11:44:13 AM
 #17

I tried to copy and paste the code you just put up and it came up with the same receive ID that I sent my btc to have I been conned? D:
mdeed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 12:10:01 PM
 #18

and Ive been trying to open command prompt for a good couple hours it keeps closing itself Im trying to fix it.
Xynerise
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 176


39twH4PSYgDSzU7sLnRoDfthR6gWYrrPoD


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 01:38:40 PM
 #19

I tried to copy and paste the code you just put up and it came up with the same receive ID that I sent my btc to have I been conned? D:
Yes, that means you have a clipboard malware that changes any BTC address you copy to your clipboard to one of the hacker.

Do a full scan of your system with Malwarebytes -- or better still, backup your important filesz wipe the hard drive and install a *Unix OS.

___________yahoo62278 CAMPAIGN MANAGER________  ◥◥  The Best & Most Popular Manager  ◤◤  ___________
✔ ICO Manager          ✔ Bounty Manager          ✔ Signature Campaign Manager          ✔ Twitter Campaign Manager
█████████████████████████   ADD "yahoo62278" on Telegram & Skype   █████████████████████████
bob123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 386



View Profile
April 17, 2018, 05:32:25 PM
 #20

I tried to copy and paste the code you just put up and it came up with the same receive ID that I sent my btc to have I been conned? D:
and Ive been trying to open command prompt for a good couple hours it keeps closing itself Im trying to fix it.


This indicates that you have a clipping malware which also does restrict your access to the OS (therefore the automatic exit command when starting the command line).

You should do what Xynerise suggested (backing up important data and format your drive) as soon as possible!

It is NOT necessary to install a unix OS. Windows is fine. You just have to take the right security precautions.

1) Install a good AV
2) Never download any suspicious files
3) Keep away from torrents and cracked software, etc..

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!