Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:28:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: To those with multi-5970 setups: which mobo are you using?  (Read 7627 times)
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
February 21, 2011, 03:10:29 PM
 #41

I guess this is the case. I have tried researching a PSU that supports x4 5970s but haven't really found anything that is conclusive. There just isn't any info out there.

If I had to toss a coin, I'd say that a 1200 Watt Corsair or Antec might do it.  Might.  However, it appears you are using the MSI 890FXA-GD70 motherboard.  Though it has five PCI-E, they appear stacked right next to eachother.  I tried TWO right next to eachother in my MSI Big Bang, which has as many or more slots, and found that putting cards in two adjacent slots caused the heat to go WAY up, perhaps 10-15 degrees on each card, causing malfuncitions.  The clearance between the cards is minimal, so I have no idea whether aftermarket cooling is an option.  I had to space the cards out enough that I don't think I could get a third one in there without more spacing between the slots.  If you get 4 cards in one box working reliably, please say what the trick is.  I noticed about 91 degrees is about where my 315khash begins to fall apart on each core.  Also, I did find that things run well at 99% GPU, but when I get to 100% GPU it falls to about 200khash/second momentarily until it drops to 99% again.  This is due to the increased heat just a couple of degrees above 91 C.  If I turn the clock DOWN, the GPU will cool, stay at 98-99% and give me a consistent 315khash again.  If you get higher numbers, let me know your settings.

What I have done when I tried 3x 5970s was to not screw them into the case, and stick pieces of a plastic drinking straw in between the gpus in order to create room for airflow. ...This is from blog.zorinaq.com. Sorry for the insanely big picture.  Cheesy
The air intake port is on the other end of the cards, so you don't need to put spacers on this end. that will relieve some stress on the PCI-E slots.
1481326094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326094
Reply with quote  #2

1481326094
Report to moderator
"With e-currency based on cryptographic proof, without the need to trust a third party middleman, money can be secure and transactions effortless." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481326094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326094
Reply with quote  #2

1481326094
Report to moderator
1481326094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326094
Reply with quote  #2

1481326094
Report to moderator
1481326094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326094
Reply with quote  #2

1481326094
Report to moderator
Steve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile WWW
March 06, 2011, 07:45:08 AM
 #42

It's not a power supply issue...I'm having the same problem with the same mobo and I have a 1200W PSU.  I've seen others on the asus forums with the same issue too.

(gasteve on IRC) Does your website accept cash? https://bitpay.com
ronaldmaustin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
March 06, 2011, 02:07:35 PM
 #43

It's not a power supply issue...I'm having the same problem with the same mobo and I have a 1200W PSU.  I've seen others on the asus forums with the same issue too.

What brand and model?
Steve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile WWW
March 06, 2011, 08:01:26 PM
 #44

It's not a power supply issue...I'm having the same problem with the same mobo and I have a 1200W PSU.  I've seen others on the asus forums with the same issue too.

What brand and model?

I have the Antec 1200W.

(gasteve on IRC) Does your website accept cash? https://bitpay.com
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 01:58:59 AM
 #45

How have you managed to get your temps so low on such a high clock/vcore? I'm guessing your not running the stock cooler...
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2011, 02:52:47 AM
 #46

OMG, this is devastating o_O. Three disadvantages:
1. When you will be mining like for few months/years, PCIE slots will loosen and get damaged (because the cards are not properly inserted into the slots, they're bent). You will have to buy new motherboard then.
2. The slots will loosen even faster, if you make the case stand vertically. You have to put this horizontally to work.
3. When you start mining, this setup will overheat with 99,9% probability. This is not for serious solutions.

No, it does not overheat. GPU temps are between 65 and 85C. Throttling doesn't happen until ~100C. Shortly after posting this picture I slightly changed my setup by putting the spacers near the end of the card where the fans are, for more efficient cooling, and slightly less pressure on the PCIe slots. This machine has been mining for 2+ months 24/7.

-mrb
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 19, 2011, 01:43:10 PM
 #47

Dingus; With your new Mobo do you have to do the monitor swap trick to get the second card running or does it detect it as another thread? Whats your hash rates? Im getting some random dropouts and all my temps are pretty reasonable.







Dual 5970's on the P55-GD80 motherboard. I get the same temps as this with a 900Mhz clock, but my pc has it's side panel off, facing an open window with a desk fan blowing into it. You should lower your memory clocks to 500Mhz, this will save you a little bit of power and maybe 1-2c temp.
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:05:39 PM
 #48

i have the 890fxa-gd70 board also.

I am using an x3 1000 watt psu. I can run 2 x 5970 and 1 x 5870 no problem. if i take out the 5870 and replace it with a 5970 the motherboard does not recognise all cards.
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!