Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 03:01:23 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S9 FAN stop, start, stop, start for 500 rpm  (Read 71 times)
Pedro01234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 22, 2018, 08:45:40 PM
 #1

Hi

antminer S9 and fan on it periodically stop and starts, about 5 seconds go and stop 1 second, then 5 seconds go etc.

On web it is showing it has from 300 to 700 rpm.

I replaced it with new fan QFR1212GHE, after that web is showing fan has 30000 rpm (yes 30000) and then 0 rpm and miner stops at all.


What is wrong here, fan or control board? Is my replacement fan QFR1212GHE wrong as replacement for Antminer S9?

thanks

1540306883
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540306883

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540306883
Reply with quote  #2

1540306883
Report to moderator
1540306883
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540306883

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540306883
Reply with quote  #2

1540306883
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540306883
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540306883

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540306883
Reply with quote  #2

1540306883
Report to moderator
1540306883
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540306883

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540306883
Reply with quote  #2

1540306883
Report to moderator
1540306883
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540306883

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540306883
Reply with quote  #2

1540306883
Report to moderator
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1032

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2018, 10:03:53 PM
Merited by OgNasty (1)
 #2

Your fan couldn't detect properly that is why your miner stops.
Put back the old fan and try to perform a hard reset first or reflash it with other firmware before you are going to hardware.

Anyway, to perform a hard reset

Follow this guide https://enforum.bitmain.com/bbs/topics/3957

If hard reset won't work then do reflash your miner, you can download the firmware here https://shop.bitmain.com/support.htm

Pedro01234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 02:48:54 PM
 #3

Ok it was defective fan, fan from other antminer is working fine.

Question: fans are incompatible for Antminer, even if the fan is standard 6000 rpm 2.7A ? As I have QFR1212GHE, I got model number from picture on bitmain's web site, but this fan is not working. It show 30000 rpm and then 0 rpm.

thanks
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 52


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 03:01:41 PM
 #4

Make sure that the fan you are trying to use has the blue pwm fan cable on the end, some versions of fan QFR1212GHE have this cable in one of the middle sockets.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1032

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
April 23, 2018, 08:27:45 PM
 #5

Ok it was defective fan, fan from other antminer is working fine.

Question: fans are incompatible for Antminer, even if the fan is standard 6000 rpm 2.7A ? As I have QFR1212GHE, I got model number from picture on bitmain's web site, but this fan is not working. It show 30000 rpm and then 0 rpm.

thanks

Did you try to reflash it with new firmware? Or hard reset it 2 times?

If this still didn't work you can try to modify the fan speed maybe you just need to adjust it and decrease or increase the speed of your fan.

I found a solution for modifying the fan speed and frequency you can try this method.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2690140.0

Open the images 1 by 1 and edit the fan speed.

Test your miner every time you change the fan speed if there are no changes maybe your fan is not compatible with your miner. So make sure it's compatible on your miner.

Pedro01234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 11:03:16 PM
 #6

Did you try to reflash it with new firmware? Or hard reset it 2 times?

If this still didn't work you can try to modify the fan speed maybe you just need to adjust it and decrease or increase the speed of your fan.

I found a solution for modifying the fan speed and frequency you can try this method.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2690140.0

Open the images 1 by 1 and edit the fan speed.

Test your miner every time you change the fan speed if there are no changes maybe your fan is not compatible with your miner. So make sure it's compatible on your miner.

I did not try flash it, because as I wrote, after using fan from another antminer it is working ok.


Make sure that the fan you are trying to use has the blue pwm fan cable on the end, some versions of fan QFR1212GHE have this cable in one of the middle sockets.

it was black red yellow blue. in some old QFR1212GHE datasheet I read that yellow is PWM so i tried swap yellow and blue, it again not work, with different error in kernel.log - can't set fan speed, or something like that. Still I do not understand why? the QFR1212GHE is not working? it's on bitmain's web site in photo as spare part. Original fan is Martech DF1203812B2UN
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1032

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2018, 12:19:14 AM
 #7

Can you post the kernel.log here and let me review the logs and put it inside the code sample below.

Code:
Copy paste your codes here

Hope that you check the link that I posted above it includes how to modify the fan speed then set the fan speed 75% or lower.
If not your fan might be defective.



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove an unnecessary quote.

Pedro01234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 24, 2018, 10:51:57 PM
 #8

This is strange, because I already wrote 2 times that is was hardware fault of fan, so after replacement all is ok, so I won't flash it, no reason.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!