Bitcoin Forum
October 01, 2022, 07:18:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: backup pool doesnt launch  (Read 390 times)
solo5 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 08:53:54 PM
 #1

Hi, im running cgminer ( w scrypt) and i have setup my config file this way expecting it to connect to a different pool when my first one disconnects for whatever reason but it is not launching the second one.
I have noticed only once when i launched miner for first time it auto connected to second one and then back to first one shortly after

Is there something additional needed in config or is this not possible ?

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "pool1",
      "user" : "username",
      "pass" : "password"
        },

        {

                "url" : "pool2",
                "user" : "username",
                "pass" : "password"
   }
                
]

1664608712
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664608712

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664608712
Reply with quote  #2

1664608712
Report to moderator
1664608712
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664608712

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664608712
Reply with quote  #2

1664608712
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1664608712
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664608712

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664608712
Reply with quote  #2

1664608712
Report to moderator
1664608712
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664608712

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664608712
Reply with quote  #2

1664608712
Report to moderator
1664608712
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664608712

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664608712
Reply with quote  #2

1664608712
Report to moderator
kuzetsa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 10:30:06 AM
 #2

Hi, im running cgminer ( w scrypt) and i have setup my config file this way expecting it to connect to a different pool when my first one disconnects for whatever reason but it is not launching the second one.
I have noticed only once when i launched miner for first time it auto connected to second one and then back to first one shortly after

Is there something additional needed in config or is this not possible ?

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "pool1",
      "user" : "username",
      "pass" : "password"
        },

        {

                "url" : "pool2",
                "user" : "username",
                "pass" : "password"
   }
                
]



Yes, there should be more lines than that in your config.

1) While cgminer is running, press "p" to open up the pools menu and then press "s" to select a pool management strategy.

2) After changing the strategy, press any key to get back to the main cgminer screen.

3) From the main cgminer screen, press "s" to open up the settings menu, then "w" to write a correctly formatted config file.

4) If you are under a sub menu, press any key again to get back to the main cgminer screen.

5) press "q" to quit cgminer

6) Look in the new config file. Assuming you're on cgminer 3.8.3 or newer, you should see that your config file looks much more like this:

Code:

{
"pools" : [
{
"quota" : "200;stratum+tcp://primary_pool_used_for_mining",
"user" : "username",
"pass" : "whatever"
},
{
"quota" : "1;stratum+tcp://secondary_pool_used_for_failover",
"user" : "username",
"pass" : "whatever"
}
]
,
"api-mcast-port" : "4028",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"hotplug" : "5",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"no-submit-stale" : true,
"queue" : "3",
"scan-time" : "60",
"shares" : "0",
"load-balance" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/lib/cgminer"
}





That's basically what mine looks like because I use "load balance" mode instead of failover.

This example config always does SOME work on the failover pool, but does most of the work (attempting up to 200 times as much work) on the primary pool. Whenever the primary pool is unavailable, the quota setting on the primary pool is no longer important, and instead the secondary pool will get 100% of the mining.

Either way, I'm pretty sure the answer is:

"yes, you should probably have more lines than that in your cgminer.conf if it's not corrupt"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!