Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 10:03:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Images now proxied  (Read 9022 times)
ildubbioso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
November 27, 2013, 10:59:41 PM
 #41

I don't see the pics from imageshack anymore: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=103907.0
1511042595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042595
Reply with quote  #2

1511042595
Report to moderator
1511042595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042595
Reply with quote  #2

1511042595
Report to moderator
1511042595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042595
Reply with quote  #2

1511042595
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511042595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042595
Reply with quote  #2

1511042595
Report to moderator
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 11:31:55 PM
 #42

This was a bad change.
In regards to tracking pixels - if you don't think it's trustworthy, don't click it!

The thing is: YOU DON'T NEED TO CLICK THEM. Just opening the page is enough.

I can offer hosting and bandwidth for an image proxy. Get me the script and I'll install it on one of my servers.

I have a script if you want to use it, it is all in php and probably needs some space to hold some images, but also a mysql server and cron.

I try to put it on github tonight or some time after I test it.

As said: 10TB/month available.

I can even get a domain for it(already have a static IP).

Here if you want it https://github.com/italiano40/image-proxy


If anyone sees an error, or issue, do a pull-request, I tested it as much as I can.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 03:55:08 AM
 #43

Theymos,

One thing you can do is whitelist the common image hosting sites that don't provide viewer IP information upon request of the uploader. If the domain is not imageshack, imgur, etc., then send it through the proxy.

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 04:52:49 AM
 #44

One thing you can do is whitelist the common image hosting sites that don't provide viewer IP information upon request of the uploader. If the domain is not imageshack, imgur, etc., then send it through the proxy.

What's the point of that, though? Such images are proxied fine.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 06:18:37 AM
 #45

One thing you can do is whitelist the common image hosting sites that don't provide viewer IP information upon request of the uploader. If the domain is not imageshack, imgur, etc., then send it through the proxy.

What's the point of that, though? Such images are proxied fine.
This would at least somewhat allow animated gifs.

Raize
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1409


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 04:51:04 PM
 #46

Does weserve.nl delete the logs of served images immediately?

This seems to both eliminate the ability to find IP info of scammers as well as provide a single entity for a state-run organization to target for easy access to user info. I'm not saying it's bad or worse, but is there a reason weserve.nl was chosen? (deleting logs immediately would be a good one).

OrganofCorti's Neighbourhood Pool Watch - The most informative website on blockchain health
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 06:01:12 PM
 #47

It looks like some avatar images are not being proxied.
whiskers75
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


Doesn't use these forums that often.


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 06:05:22 PM
 #48

It looks like some avatar images are not being proxied.
They aren't supposed to be, but hey theymos! Great idea there for you!

Elastic.pw Elastic - The Decentralized Supercomputer
ELASTIC ANNOUNCEMENT THREAD | ELASTIC SLACK | ELASTIC FORUM
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 06:16:00 PM
 #49

It looks like some avatar images are not being proxied.

They are hosted on the forum's server so their would be no benefit to proxing them.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 06:17:13 PM
 #50

They are hosted on the forum's server so their would be no benefit to proxing them.
Not all of them are.

Some people have their avatars set as a remote URL.
whiskers75
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


Doesn't use these forums that often.


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 06:17:32 PM
 #51

It looks like some avatar images are not being proxied.

They are hosted on the forum's server so their would be no benefit to proxing them.
Well, what if I wanted to serve my avatar from http://whiskers75.com/codercat?

Elastic.pw Elastic - The Decentralized Supercomputer
ELASTIC ANNOUNCEMENT THREAD | ELASTIC SLACK | ELASTIC FORUM
rme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
December 03, 2013, 06:18:28 PM
 #52


Still not fixed,

example here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=343912.msg3742796#msg3742796

Mixed content
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 11:19:03 PM
 #53

that's kinda retarded that it breaks gif images. what, was this written by an 8 year old?

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:39:58 AM
 #54

Does anyone know of another reliable HTTPS proxy that would work? I'd prefer that the forum not do this itself, as we'd then need to worry about abuse, legal issues, etc.

If you or anyone wants a image proxy script that doesn't break the gifs and proxies them as well, you can contact me.

I wrote it in an hour so it could use a few more optimizations but it works for the most part.

I'm guessing the proxy actually re-writes gifs which is what breaks them. If it was simply caching them, it would not be an issue. It depends on whether this rewriting is a requirement or not.

If caching/proxy is all that's required, something like Squid should be able to handle it.


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:46:11 AM
 #55

They are hosted on the forum's server so their would be no benefit to proxing them.
Not all of them are.

Some people have their avatars set as a remote URL.

I thought the forum reached out and downloaded them locally if that was the case.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 03:58:56 AM
 #56

Does anyone know of another reliable HTTPS proxy that would work? I'd prefer that the forum not do this itself, as we'd then need to worry about abuse, legal issues, etc.

If you or anyone wants a image proxy script that doesn't break the gifs and proxies them as well, you can contact me.

I wrote it in an hour so it could use a few more optimizations but it works for the most part.

I'm guessing the proxy actually re-writes gifs which is what breaks them. If it was simply caching them, it would not be an issue. It depends on whether this rewriting is a requirement or not.

If caching/proxy is all that's required, something like Squid should be able to handle it.

I am guessing since the site has options to do operations on the images, they only use the first frame from the gif, so they are only caching that part frame of the gif.

Squid would require theymos to setup and he doesn't want to do that. So this would be easier for him, plus this is to eliminate possible pixel tracking and mix-content warnings.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 01:44:18 AM
 #57

My own feeling is that it's not worth worrying about. If people are that paranoid about their privacy, they should take their own precautions. Embedded images are the way the web works. If you don't like them, there's lynx or www or you can disable images or there's probably 1/2 dozen plugins for firefox (There used to be a disable images setting. Is it still there?) or you can use iptables or a configured proxy or probably 50 other solutions.

Frankly I'd just like the animated gifs back. Though I'm not upset that the bandwidth bills have dropped for ChartBuddy.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Permissions.default.image


Quote
Possible values and their effects

1
Allow all images to load, regardless of origin. (Default)
2
Block all images from loading.
3
Prevent third-party images from loading.

And is it not an issue that instead of privacy potentially being (minimally) violated by a forum member, our links have now been handed over en-mass to some company in the Netherlands.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
rme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
December 11, 2013, 06:06:23 PM
 #58

I have find a solution to animated GIFs

Use CoralCDN (http://www.coralcdn.org/) when the image is a gif to make them move.

Just append .nyud.net to the end of the domain.

Example:
http://i.imgur.com/VfUsRPB.gif
http://i.imgur.com.nyud.net/VfUsRPB.gif

http://i.imgur.com/9qq1xOl.gif
http://i.imgur.com.nyud.net/9qq1xOl.gif




Also, the little ICQ status icon below someone profile (when posting in a thread, below his avatar) is loaded in HTTP.
http://status.icq.com/online.gif?img=5&icq=235892831

Please load it with the proxy.

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 01:30:18 PM
 #59

Coral CDN doesn't support HTTPS.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 02:38:19 PM
 #60

And it was 404'ing earlier today.

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!