Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 08:40:02 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't log into pre-owned Avalon Mini.  (Read 535 times)
joelepiano
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 11:15:48 AM
 #1

Hi,

I just got me a used Avalon Mini from Ebay, and I can’t access it over the network.

This is what I’ve tried so far:

Connect a computer with a (known-as-good) ethernet cable. The computer set to 192.168.0.101/255.255.255.0.

  • Trying to open 192.168.0.100 in the browser: Nothing. (I’m on a Mac, I tried with Safari and Firefox.)
  • Trying to ping 192.168.0.100 from the command line. Nothing.

Probably the previous owner has changed network settings, even though he says he hasn’t.

  • Power cycling the Avalon, and during startup, pressing the reset button. Blue LED on ethernet port goes into rapid blinking. This is supposed to be recovery mode. Still, nothing.
  • Reconfiguring my home network to 192.168.0.xxx, hoping the Avalon might DHCP into it, Ethernet or WLAN. Nothing. (My router’s list of devices doesn’t show the Avalon.)

Any ideas?

Is there an extensive manual for this machine other than the tidbits on http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon ?

(I’m new to the forum, so I can’t post to the Avalon User thread, or official Avalon Support thread.)
1537821602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537821602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537821602
Reply with quote  #2

1537821602
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537821602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537821602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537821602
Reply with quote  #2

1537821602
Report to moderator
1537821602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537821602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537821602
Reply with quote  #2

1537821602
Report to moderator
HotSwap
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000


COINMIXER.NET


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 11:22:18 AM
 #2

Look at your router interface to see what ip address it took?

High Volume, Secure Bitcoin Mixer: https://CoinMixer.net
joelepiano
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 11:37:27 AM
 #3

Look at your router interface to see what ip address it took?

As I said, the router doesn't see it, so it’s not on DHCP, I’m afraid. Maybe it’s manually set to some address.
soothaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 515



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 03:51:30 PM
 #4

Literally dealing with the same thing here.

Want increased coin support within AwesomeMiner? Try my free plugin to add support for nearly any coin! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2979494
Want Masternode income stats within AwesomeMiner? Try my free plugin to add support for them! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3047367
terrapinflyer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:05:21 PM
 #5

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=140539.3260
Check in this thread. I see people dealing with the same problems your describing.
soothaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 515



View Profile
November 24, 2013, 02:07:08 PM
 #6

This post is what ended up fixing it all for me.

Had to go into recovery mode, telnet into 192.168.1.1, mount_root, and then fix the /etc/config/network file because it was missing the "ipaddr" section.

Hope that helps!

Want increased coin support within AwesomeMiner? Try my free plugin to add support for nearly any coin! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2979494
Want Masternode income stats within AwesomeMiner? Try my free plugin to add support for them! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3047367
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!