Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 09:44:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New Kncminner Jupiter, with 0GH/s after installing 0.99 firmware  (Read 1121 times)
jbssm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 10:43:55 PM
 #1

Hi guys,
I just received the Jupiter, I was setting it up and yes it worked, but since in the manual it said to install the firmware, well I did it.

After that, it starts and I can configure a pool. It connects to the pool, but it doesn't hash... absolutely nothing.

What's happening? Can anybody help.

Thanks.

Donations to the helping fund for victims of alien abduction and zombie contagion are welcome: 13U16ay4Tyvr9ZkQ3wqtReuZGaPE27wt4e
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513028669
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513028669

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513028669
Reply with quote  #2

1513028669
Report to moderator
1513028669
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513028669

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513028669
Reply with quote  #2

1513028669
Report to moderator
1513028669
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513028669

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513028669
Reply with quote  #2

1513028669
Report to moderator
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 10:50:44 PM
 #2

Hi guys,
I just received the Jupiter, I was setting it up and yes it worked, but since in the manual it said to install the firmware, well I did it.

After that, it starts and I can configure a pool. It connects to the pool, but it doesn't hash... absolutely nothing.

What's happening? Can anybody help.

Thanks.

Why don't you post in the dedicated KnC thread? Why did you install 0.99 firmware if it already had 0.99-E installed(that's what i had)? Try hard reset maybe.

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
jbssm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 10:52:26 PM
 #3

I tried but no solutions yet.

And I tried to update it cause I didn't know if 0.99-E is more recent than 0.99 after all in the manual it says to update to the latest firmware so I did :/

Donations to the helping fund for victims of alien abduction and zombie contagion are welcome: 13U16ay4Tyvr9ZkQ3wqtReuZGaPE27wt4e
jbssm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 11:02:50 PM
 #4

I was checking the file /var/log/initc.log and I got this: It says the ASIC board was not found.

Return code = -11
TEST_READ_BBB_SN=OK
TEST_I2C_CONNECT=OK
TEST_LM75_TEST=OK
TEST_TPS65217_TEST=OK
TEST_TPS65217_CONFIG=OK
TEST_FPGA_CONFIG=OK
TEST_FPGA_TEST=OK
TEST_ONBOARD_EEPROM_EMPTY=OK
TEST_GET_SERIAL_NUMBER=OK
TEST_ONBOARD_EEPROM_WRITE=OK
TEST_MMC_REFLASH=OK
TEST_I2C_MUX_PROBE=OK
TEST_ASIC_BOARD_FOUND=FAIL
TEST_READ_IOBOARD_SN=OK
TEST_IOBOARD_SN_GOOD=OK
TEST_GET_CGMINER_CONFIG=OK
TEST_WRITE_CGMINER_CONFIG=OK

Donations to the helping fund for victims of alien abduction and zombie contagion are welcome: 13U16ay4Tyvr9ZkQ3wqtReuZGaPE27wt4e
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 12:02:46 AM
 #5

I tried but no solutions yet.

And I tried to update it cause I didn't know if 0.99-E is more recent than 0.99 after all in the manual it says to update to the latest firmware so I did :/

Well 0.99 was posted on 15 November, i don't know how come you thought that 0.99-E for a Jupiter shipped after 25 is older than the one posted on 15 November. Unplug power cable and open your miner and check all cable inside. If not then just e-mail them.

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
jbssm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 12:10:02 AM
 #6

I tried but no solutions yet.

And I tried to update it cause I didn't know if 0.99-E is more recent than 0.99 after all in the manual it says to update to the latest firmware so I did :/

Well 0.99 was posted on 15 November, i don't know how come you thought that 0.99-E for a Jupiter shipped after 25 is older than the one posted on 15 November. Unplug power cable and open your miner and check all cable inside. If not then just e-mail them.

Well, I don't know that. I just upgraded like it says in the manual to the file they provide. Now someone at the KNC forum told me they think the new Jupiters are different and use a different firmware. Well, there is absolutely no info about that in their page, the firmware is just that one and it's completely careless for the guys from KNC to just put a firmware and a device page that makes it completely malfunction.

The cables are fine. In fact everything is fine, I can even access the miner settings... it just doesn't mine.

Donations to the helping fund for victims of alien abduction and zombie contagion are welcome: 13U16ay4Tyvr9ZkQ3wqtReuZGaPE27wt4e
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 12:15:28 AM
 #7

I tried but no solutions yet.

And I tried to update it cause I didn't know if 0.99-E is more recent than 0.99 after all in the manual it says to update to the latest firmware so I did :/

Well 0.99 was posted on 15 November, i don't know how come you thought that 0.99-E for a Jupiter shipped after 25 is older than the one posted on 15 November. Unplug power cable and open your miner and check all cable inside. If not then just e-mail them.

Well, I don't know that. I just upgraded like it says in the manual to the file they provide. Now someone at the KNC forum told me they think the new Jupiters are different and use a different firmware. Well, there is absolutely no info about that in their page, the firmware is just that one and it's completely careless for the guys from KNC to just put a firmware and a device page that makes it completely malfunction.

The cables are fine. In fact everything is fine, I can even access the miner settings... it just doesn't mine.

listen join #kncminer irc channel at freenode. ask the user hno, he's a OrSoC/KnC eng...

cause u need to flas 9.99-E again, and since it is not linked in the knc support page, you need some other source

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 12:19:24 AM
 #8

I tried but no solutions yet.

And I tried to update it cause I didn't know if 0.99-E is more recent than 0.99 after all in the manual it says to update to the latest firmware so I did :/

Well 0.99 was posted on 15 November, i don't know how come you thought that 0.99-E for a Jupiter shipped after 25 is older than the one posted on 15 November. Unplug power cable and open your miner and check all cable inside. If not then just e-mail them.

Well, I don't know that. I just upgraded like it says in the manual to the file they provide. Now someone at the KNC forum told me they think the new Jupiters are different and use a different firmware. Well, there is absolutely no info about that in their page, the firmware is just that one and it's completely careless for the guys from KNC to just put a firmware and a device page that makes it completely malfunction.

The cables are fine. In fact everything is fine, I can even access the miner settings... it just doesn't mine.

listen join #kncminer irc channel at freenode. ask the user hno, he's a OrSoC/KnC eng...

cause u need to flas 9.99-E again, and since it is not linked in the knc support page, you need some other source

The explanation can be that the November Jupiters use a different firmware than the Sep/Oct ones. Get 0.99-E firmware and you should be fine. Just chill.

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
jbssm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 12:24:07 AM
 #9

I tried but no solutions yet.

And I tried to update it cause I didn't know if 0.99-E is more recent than 0.99 after all in the manual it says to update to the latest firmware so I did :/

Well 0.99 was posted on 15 November, i don't know how come you thought that 0.99-E for a Jupiter shipped after 25 is older than the one posted on 15 November. Unplug power cable and open your miner and check all cable inside. If not then just e-mail them.

Well, I don't know that. I just upgraded like it says in the manual to the file they provide. Now someone at the KNC forum told me they think the new Jupiters are different and use a different firmware. Well, there is absolutely no info about that in their page, the firmware is just that one and it's completely careless for the guys from KNC to just put a firmware and a device page that makes it completely malfunction.

The cables are fine. In fact everything is fine, I can even access the miner settings... it just doesn't mine.

listen join #kncminer irc channel at freenode. ask the user hno, he's a OrSoC/KnC eng...

cause u need to flas 9.99-E again, and since it is not linked in the knc support page, you need some other source

The explanation can be that the November Jupiters use a different firmware than the Sep/Oct ones. Get 0.99-E firmware and you should be fine. Just chill.

Thanks guys.

Yeah, I also suspect that, but I tried to download it anywhere (even but tying a lot of combinations in the firmware download address like: http://www.kncminer.com/userfiles/file/kncminer-0.99e.bin and similar), and I find no way of getting this November Jupiters firmware.

I'll try to contact hno at #kncminer irc channel

Donations to the helping fund for victims of alien abduction and zombie contagion are welcome: 13U16ay4Tyvr9ZkQ3wqtReuZGaPE27wt4e
CMMPro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
November 28, 2013, 01:14:47 AM
 #10

0.99E is for the November shipment units with the Ericsson VRM's. ("E"=Ericsson)

If you installed 0.99 (not E) on one of these god knows what will happen...they have GE VRM's.
Best case is that they just do not hash which is what I think is happening there.

Get back to 0.99E if that is what you received the unit with.

On the site it only has the 0.99.bin....this is for the older units with GE VRM's.

Why are people updating firmware if the old version is running fine?
I'm running 0.97 on my Saturn and it's running full speed.
If it isn't broke...don't fix it.

Just plug it in and hash the shit out of that unit...make some money.

madsusies
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 03:40:41 AM
 #11

Hi guys,
I just received the Jupiter, I was setting it up and yes it worked, but since in the manual it said to install the firmware, well I did it.

After that, it starts and I can configure a pool. It connects to the pool, but it doesn't hash... absolutely nothing.

What's happening? Can anybody help.

Thanks.
Jesus where you live, it's obvious the 1st gen (till October) didn't have a turbo mode like 2 gen lol now we don't even know if the next firmware will support 2 gen Smiley or if you will waiting to an extra firmware,

Go on #kncminer and ask developers for a firmware to November version Smiley
edgar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile
November 28, 2013, 05:54:25 AM
 #12

good luck getting anything from hno - in #kncminer

i saw he posted the only option for 0die issues is to RMA

BUT RMA is not offered for SINGLE 0die issues....

that was 7 hrs after help request was made - and NON KnC people took their time to help.

but that may not be the usual state of affairs...

the NON KnC cats are priceless!!

sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 08:12:53 AM
 #13

good luck getting anything from hno - in #kncminer

he usually responds if he thinks it's worth responding, after all he's doing it in his free time.  

anyway in this case the only thing he has to do is provide a link for a firmware.

I hope i did it and, more to the point, that re-flashing the firmware fixed the problem.

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 02:43:08 PM
 #14


good luck getting anything from hno - in #kncminer


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=170332.msg3752503#msg3752503

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
jbssm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 03:40:20 PM
 #15

Ok, thanks to hno I put it back to work.

Luckily there is a feature (kind of hidden) where the Jupiter keeps certain factory files.

If anyone else has this problem, follow this:

- login to your Jupiter by ssh
mount -t vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1 /mnt/1
mount -t vfat /dev/mmcblk0p2 /mnt/2
cp /mnt/2/initramfs.bin /mnt/1/initramfs.bin
shutdown -r now
- after it comes back up, if it still doesn't work, do an hard reset and power off/on and then it should finally work

Donations to the helping fund for victims of alien abduction and zombie contagion are welcome: 13U16ay4Tyvr9ZkQ3wqtReuZGaPE27wt4e
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!