Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 06:36:17 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: cgmon - mining monitor for Linux - auto restart, reboot, sick gpu, ASIC, &more  (Read 47774 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 12:21:42 AM
 #21

By any chance would this also support sgminer if I just change the directories and exe files it points to to sgminer?  Looking to use this with BAMT 1.3.  Thanks!


I haven't tested sgminer, but it should work.  Remove '--scrypt' from cgmon.tcl since sgminer doesn't use this option.   i.e:
Code:
set cgminer_option1 "--scrypt"
should be
Code:
set cgminer_option1 ""

If you try it and get an error let me know.  It will probably be easy to fix.

Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
1537554977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537554977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537554977
Reply with quote  #2

1537554977
Report to moderator
1537554977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537554977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537554977
Reply with quote  #2

1537554977
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537554977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537554977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537554977
Reply with quote  #2

1537554977
Report to moderator
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 12:25:51 AM
 #22

Jdape, great script!  Thanks.

Question - is there any way to configure smtp authentication in the cgmon.tcl script? Gmail and my ISP (verizon) require authentication (ports 465 or 587).  

Thanks  

I'm glad you find it useful. Smiley   

Currently there's no support for SMTP auth.

Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
MrBobC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 04:10:15 AM
 #23

How can I know it is working?  Is there a way to say if it drops below xx total hashrate to restart it?
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 06:08:07 AM
 #24

The log file cgmon.log shows the status every time the script is run.  To see that it's working, you check the end of cgmon.log:

Code:
tail cgmon.log


Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
MrBobC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 12:24:19 PM
 #25

Oh, okay.  Silly question though, I'm not very adept at Linux (yet), and where would I find that file?
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 03:55:15 PM
 #26

Oh, okay.  Silly question though, I'm not very adept at Linux (yet), and where would I find that file?

It will be in the directory you are running cgmon from.  You can also try 'locate cgmon.log' or 'find / -name cgmon.log'.

Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
MrBobC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 04:17:03 PM
 #27

It says, "BAMT miner couldn't find PHP.  Please install it."  When I type apt-get install php5 it says it is already the newest version.  I am on BAMT 1.3, does this matter?
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 04:44:07 PM
 #28

Do this:

Code:
which php5

Take that result (probably '/usr/bin/php5') and place it into the example command below as appropriate:

Code:
ln -s /usr/bin/php5 /usr/bin/php

Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
MrBobC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:55:07 PM
 #29

which php5 didn't do anything.  I did try whereis php5 and used ln -s /etc/php5 /usr/bin/php but that didn't do anything when the script tried to run.  There was also /usr/lib/php5 and /usr/share/php5, which did not produce any results when I ln -s /usr/lib/php5 /usr/bin/php or ln -s /usr/share/php5 /usr/bin/php.  I did remove the links before creating the new ones with rm.
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 11:00:13 PM
 #30

Sorry, I'm not sure where PHP is locate in BAMT.   Try asking in a BAMT-related forum perhaps?

Once you know where it's at, you can link it to /usr/bin/php.


Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
MrBobC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 01:57:33 AM
 #31

Got it!  I had to apt-get install php5-cli.  Once I did that the files were where you thought they would be, and then I used ln to make the softlink, and then the computer rebooted at the next monitor because it saw a sick/dead gpu, although I don't think there was one... From an earlier post of mine, is there a setting to restart cgminer/pc if hashrate falls below xx?
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 05:04:51 AM
 #32

The next version will send email notification or reboot if a GPU stops outputting accepted shares.  It wont be based on hash rate.

Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
dr00g
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 01:08:42 PM
 #33

Hey, I found this post a while ago, and as I am using sgminer and also wanted some easier customization, I have reworked the script quite a lot.

Still needs a little more work though, then I will be sharing it here.

I highly appreciate your work!
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 06:38:59 PM
 #34

Hey, I found this post a while ago, and as I am using sgminer and also wanted some easier customization, I have reworked the script quite a lot.

Still needs a little more work though, then I will be sharing it here.

I highly appreciate your work!

Cool.  Post it and I'll incorporate your improvements.  Smiley

Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
jdape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 11:02:23 PM
 #35

cgmon 0.1b6 released.

  •    Now checks accepted share outputs.  If no shares in 5 (default) minutes, send email notice and reboot rig.
  •    Moved all log messages to ~$mining_user/cgmon.log instead of the current working directory of whichever user ran cgmon.
  •    Split cgminer_path into cgminer_path and cmginer_exec to support sgminer.
  •    Added support for sgminer 4.0.0.

Fork Networking - VPS, Colocation, Dedicated Servers for Bitcoin & Litecoin. Since 1994! www.forked.net
funkycold
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 11:03:35 PM
 #36

Great work guys! I love cgmon!

I am running 4X R9 280X GPU's on scrypt mining,
a few questions:

1) When i manually disable all my GPU's in cgminer, it still shows as "cgminer running and all GPU's healthy, cgmon 0.1b5"
Any idea's how cgmon can detect sick or Dead GPU's accurately?

2) Do I need to be root user to run cgmon,tcl ? since my rig reboots sometimes and i am not there 24/7, I would like cgmon to make sure cgminer is running at all times. I beleive my rig logs in as user and not root. Will cgmon still run?

Thx
dr00g
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 11:35:55 PM
 #37

If you add it in /etc/crontab as root, it will run by itself yes.

It needs root to be able to reboot.
After a reboot and the cron job runs, it will start cgminer.

Example:
* * * * * root /home/username/cgmon.tcl

That would run it every minute.
funkycold
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 01:51:58 AM
 #38

Yes That crontab suggestion worked thx!

Here are some of the issues im having with the new cgmon 0.16b

1) I cant get Cgminer to start, it shows "cgminer not running, starting..." "cgminer started successfully"
   But nothing happens.

When i remove the cgminer_path "" blank, it works, however it restarts cgminer multiple times....

Question: What should i put in the cgminer_exec and cgminer_path
              Whats the difference between these two fields?


2) I;m also having another problem where even if i disable all my GPU's manually from CGminer i still get all "GPU's running healthy" message from cgmon.

Am I doing something wrong? shouldnt it detect DEAD GPU's and restart cgminer?

Thx
 
MrBobC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 03:39:33 AM
 #39

I have problems with the actual reboot, but this I would think is a BAMT issue.  I am able to fix it by changing the shutdown -r now command to reboot -f.
dr00g
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 02:04:25 PM
 #40

funkycold:

1: I will try to replicate it and come up with a fix.

2: That is part of jdapes code, but I do believe you have to wait at least 3 minute for it to detect it. How long have you tried to wait?


MrBobC:

I haven't tried BAMT myself, but it could have other commands, as you have already figured.
If there is an easy way to detect if the OS is BAMT, which I guess there is (will look into it) it should be easy to implement a fix, so you don't have to change it yourself.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!