Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:12:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: guiminer not detecting graphics card  (Read 12260 times)
lordc447
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 10:30:58 PM
 #1

Hey guys!  I'm trying to get myself set up with some bitcoin mining, but I'm having a bit of an issue.  When I run guiminer, the only thing the program can detect is my CPU.  I followed the instructions on this link, here: http://www.iscyspace.com/ , but I'm afraid that the program still cannot detect the card.  I'm running a Radeon HD 6870, and I'd realy really like to get this to work!  Cheesy

Thanks for listening, and any help will be greatly appreciated!
1480810327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810327
Reply with quote  #2

1480810327
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480810327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810327
Reply with quote  #2

1480810327
Report to moderator
1480810327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810327
Reply with quote  #2

1480810327
Report to moderator
1480810327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810327
Reply with quote  #2

1480810327
Report to moderator
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 10:35:23 PM
 #2

That means that the AMD APP SDK is not correctly installed.

Download the latest driver from AMD, then uninstall your current one (programs and features > catalyst manager, right click and when it asks you what to do say "uninstall all AMD/ATI software")

Reboot, then reinstall the driver that you downloaded. Make sure when you install that the AMD APP SDK is checked (custom install will show you the list). Reboot again. Should work now.

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 10:39:52 PM
 #3

Assuming that you are using windows vista/7 that is the right plan with the sdk. If you are on XP make sure to grap the C++ Redis 2008 update.
lordc447
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 11:36:20 PM
 #4

Hello again, and thank you for the quick replies!

I am indeed on windows 7...

jh1523, what do you mean by "programs and features > catalyst manager?"  Sorry; I'm kinda new to this, but I've actually got the AMD Vision Engine Control Center on my computer, so I'm sorta unsure of exactly how to uninstall what you're talking about.  Also, by saying the latest driver from AMD, what do you mean?  Should I reinstall the vision control center?

Sorry for the trouble! Sad
myb87
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 12:24:59 AM
 #5

what jh1523 meant
1- go to control panel> programs and features > uninstall program > select catalyst install manger > uninstall all > restart pc
2- download the drivers http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx
3- install the drivers ( select costume install and make sure AMD APP SDK is checked
4- restart and try guiminer

or

since you got control center already installed, just download the AMD APP SDK from http://developer.amd.com/sdks/amdappsdk/downloads/pages/default.aspx#one
then try guiminer
lordc447
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 02:20:24 AM
 #6

Allrighty; I successfully performed all of the steps you've given me; however, still nothing about my graphics card shows up in guiminer.    I made sure that AMD APP SDK was checked, though it actually said "AMD APP SDK runtime;" not sure if thats important...  So, should I still attempt to download the AMD APP SDK from the second link you've given me?  Sorry; I'm sure this is quite frustruating D:

Is there anything else I could/should do?

Thank you again for your help! Smiley
ian209
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 10:04:41 AM
 #7

Yes, use the second link, download the SDK and install it. Your card should be recognised after.
Also, if you're using more than one card, you'll have to have a monitor attached to each card or a "Dummy VGA plug."
myb87
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 09:48:27 PM
 #8

if he is on 11.7 he doesn't need dummy VGA plugs.

ok make sure that windows is detecting the graphic card
control panel > hardware and sound > device manager> click on the Display adapters
do you see your card there ?
 

orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 10:08:14 PM
 #9

I have exact the same problem, have you solved it yet? If you have, I would be glad if you could send me a PM!
lordc447
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 01:40:10 AM
 #10

Hi again!  Sorry about the forever delay, and potentially bringing back a dead thread, but I'm afraid I've been moving into my new apartment.

Under Display Adapters, I do in fact see my card, but still not showing up in guiminer...

I don't have multiple cards, but my processor is an AMD A6-3650 w/Radeon HD graphics... I was told I could get it to crossfire with my graphics card, but I've yet to get that to work either...But thats a digression.  I already installed the SDK, but I'll give it a shot again, I guess.  I'll post again after I've got the results and can get on again.  Thanks guys!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!