Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2019, 08:52:18 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Random Bitcoin Gifts  (Read 514 times)
bg002h
Donator
Legendary

Activity: 1436
Merit: 1005

I outlived my lifetime membership:)

View Profile WWW
December 26, 2013, 04:27:17 AM

I've gotten a few random Bitcoin payments over the past few months I wasn't expecting...I heard that this was going around the community and no one was sure who was doing it or why.

Anyhow, it got me thinking. I'm a physician, a radiology resident (see my npi in my old posts). There are several physicans that work where I'm in training that helped found a hospital in west Africa. They just installed an X-Ray machine and they don't have an ultrasound scanner.

Getting the hospital set up on the internet and getting a PACS (radiology image sharing) network installed could really be useful (volunteer radiologists could read cases remotely). Ultrasound would have a huge impact on patient care and they're not incredibly expensive ($20k ish).  With a reliable internet connection, getting the hospital set up to accept donations in bitcoin wouldn't be a huge stretch (the hospital is aimed to become self sustaining/self funding).

Has anyone done something like this? I think it would be cool to show in a real way how Bitcoin can change and save lives. Pipe dream or do-able? How do I bridge the gap between the real world and digital currency gently (without sounding like a crook or used car salesman)?

Hardforks aren't that hard. It’s getting others to use them that's hard.
1GCDzqmX2Cf513E8NeThNHxiYEivU1Chhe

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator