Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:18:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Run in root? Server X??  (Read 1871 times)
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 06:44:37 PM
 #1

What does this mean??

bit@Bit:~$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active


I just bought a new computer, had a computer shop make it, and went through all the steps but I can't tell what number my GPUs are.  I am mining successfully on my CPU so it works, but why won't my cards show up?

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
1481213932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213932
Reply with quote  #2

1481213932
Report to moderator
1481213932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213932
Reply with quote  #2

1481213932
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 02:20:37 AM
 #2

What does this mean??

bit@Bit:~$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active


I just bought a new computer, had a computer shop make it, and went through all the steps but I can't tell what number my GPUs are.  I am mining successfully on my CPU so it works, but why won't my cards show up?
Try using sudo:
Code:
bit@Bit:~$ sudo aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

teukon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile
August 19, 2011, 05:30:21 PM
 #3

What does this mean??

bit@Bit:~$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active


I just bought a new computer, had a computer shop make it, and went through all the steps but I can't tell what number my GPUs are.  I am mining successfully on my CPU so it works, but why won't my cards show up?

Hmm...  I'm going to assume you really do have an instance of X running.  What's the value of $DISPLAY returned by the terminal window in which you are trying to run aticonfig

Code:
echo $DISPLAY

You should get something like
Code:
:0.0

I've found no way of managing the cards without an instance of X running.  At the very least I need a simple xorg.conf which points out my two cards and to run xinit in the background.  When I ssh into my miner I need to run
Code:
DISPLAY=:0
before aticonfig is fully functional.  sudo will help to an extent but there are still some things you will not be able to do.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!