Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:11:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Moving wallet between computers  (Read 2059 times)
eldorado
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 11:50:20 PM
 #1

Hello all.

I just set up a new computer and attempted to move my wallet (which did contain a balance) from the old computer to the new, with partial success. Here's the rundown:

-I'm on Win7, using the latest version (0.3.24-beta) of the Bitcoin client (on old and new machine)

1. I copied the wallet.dat to the new machine (saved on the desktop for the time being)
2. Installed the bitcoin client
3. Launched the client so it would create the profile in %appdata%
4. Closed the Blitcoin client
5. Went to %appdata% and renamed wallet.dat to wallet.old and then moved in the wallet.dat from the old computer)
6. Restarted Bitcoin. All my transactions appear, but all are grayed out, and show as "0/Unconfirmed", and most importantly, my balance shows 0.00
7. Then, based on another thread I found in this forum (http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5709.0), I deleted the blk0001.dat and blkindex.dat files.
8. Restarted Bitcoin. Still no change from #6 above.
9. Closed Bitcoin again
10. Launched Bitcoin from the command line using the -rescan switch, i.e. c:\Program Files (x86)\....bitcoin.exe -rescan
11. As I type this, it's up to ~113K blocks, but still no balance and everything's still grayed out.

Do I have to wait for all blocks to be rescanned before the balance will show up?
Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I'd hate to lose my balance.
Note: I still have the old computer, so if needed I can grab the wallet.dat from there and start again if it looks like I've completely jacked something.

El D

1480831873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831873
Reply with quote  #2

1480831873
Report to moderator
1480831873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831873
Reply with quote  #2

1480831873
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Bananington
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366


Twinkle twinkle motherfucker, twinkle twinkle.


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 12:44:26 AM
 #2

Hmmm, I'm not certain. But if it was me, I would wait until the blocks were downloaded. I believe you have to download the blocks that contain your transactions to view your balance, so have patience.
jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 02:22:32 AM
 #3

Jack is right, you have to wait until your client download all the blockchain

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
plogank
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 02:33:48 AM
 #4

Nice to know.  Thanks.

I think this info will help me move my wallet to an IronKey.  https://www.ironkey.com/personal

If you like this post a donation would be nice....  1PhCzA9o1jcwHr7PR4mxea8nJYUJWpKAGb

Besides, It'll drive me crazy trying to figure where it came from.
eldorado
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 05:20:02 PM
 #5

Yep, that was it. I just had to be patient. Thanks for the tip, guys.

On a related note, it occurred to me afterward that I could have just as easily installed the Bitcoin client and then sent the balanbce from the old PC to the new PC. Probably would've been quicker.

Thanks again.

El D
twobits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336

Firstbits: 1a6taw


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 05:38:54 PM
 #6

Yep, that was it. I just had to be patient. Thanks for the tip, guys.

On a related note, it occurred to me afterward that I could have just as easily installed the Bitcoin client and then sent the balanbce from the old PC to the new PC. Probably would've been quicker.

Thanks again.

El D

May have been easier, but  it would not have been quicker.  You still would have had to wait for all the block to be downloaded.   

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!