Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:33:10 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Max Temp?  (Read 2063 times)
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 08:33:03 PM
 #21

cards will run just fine as long as it is under 105C.
Know that all modern cards have auto throttle when it gets to danger zone, which is about close to 100C

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
1481149990
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149990

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149990
Reply with quote  #2

1481149990
Report to moderator
1481149990
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149990

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149990
Reply with quote  #2

1481149990
Report to moderator
1481149990
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149990

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149990
Reply with quote  #2

1481149990
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481149990
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149990

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149990
Reply with quote  #2

1481149990
Report to moderator
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 08:36:05 PM
 #22

Radeon gpus in general run hot..
You should worry if you break the 85~90C barrier.

I feel safe below 80. But some ppl do run their cards hotter.
yeah, i am part of that "some ppl".
Used to run my nVidia's at 100C+

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 09:08:16 PM
 #23


how did you set the 6990 to 600 memory?

MISafter burner.... make sure you've "enabled unofficial overclocking"
Hell i could drop it to 300 right now if i wanted, but it crashes when mining

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 09:17:43 PM
 #24


how did you set the 6990 to 600 memory?

MISafter burner.... make sure you've "enabled unofficial overclocking"
Hell i could drop it to 300 right now if i wanted, but it crashes when mining

Hmmm... I'm very puzzled... there have been posts after posts about the limitation of underclocking 6990s
i don't know how you're able to do this.  Which 6990s do you have? maybe yours are some particular brand that allows this...
basically i can set the values using MSI AB or whatever other program, but if you actually lookup the memory speed with say GPU-Z it won't run at the specified memory setting.  On 6990s, for pretty much most people here, you can only set the memory clock by 125 less than the core clock. ex: 930/805, 940/815 etc... etc...

If I try something like 930/600 with MSI, the core speed will be set at 930 but the memory clock will be at the default setting(1250 i think?) according to GPU-Z...

So, i'm very curious whether you could verify what the actual memory speed is reported at when you down-clock it.

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 12:33:51 AM
 #25

I'll go take a screeny in the other room on the mininer istelf, I assume that it's actually dropping the mem clock because when i drop it i loose 12°
I have an MSI 6990

http://imageshack.us/f/12/unlednfw.png/
As you can see here, i can put the mem clock Much lower, Or the core Much higher

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 12:51:16 AM
 #26

I'll go take a screeny in the other room on the mininer istelf, I assume that it's actually dropping the mem clock because when i drop it i loose 12°
I have an MSI 6990

http://imageshack.us/f/12/unlednfw.png/
As you can see here, i can put the mem clock Much lower, Or the core Much higher

Maybe MSI doesn't have this restriction.... I'll have to hunt one down.  Too bad I've sold 5 of them already without trying them... (to pay for 2 sapphire 6990s I kept for myself LOL) Smiley

Appreciate you posting this!

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 03:23:40 PM
 #27

I'll go take a screeny in the other room on the mininer istelf, I assume that it's actually dropping the mem clock because when i drop it i loose 12°
I have an MSI 6990

http://imageshack.us/f/12/unlednfw.png/
As you can see here, i can put the mem clock Much lower, Or the core Much higher

Maybe MSI doesn't have this restriction.... I'll have to hunt one down.  Too bad I've sold 5 of them already without trying them... (to pay for 2 sapphire 6990s I kept for myself LOL) Smiley

Appreciate you posting this!

I am more than certain that it's not my specific cards, Have you gone into MSIa and under the EULA and typed:
[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

Once you do this you can set whatever clocks you want on whatever card you want, NOTE: MISa becomes very "tweaky" after you've done this, (EG: drag mem to lowest, Hit apply, Close misa, Reopen it, And it can go lower)

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 06:19:58 PM
 #28

I'll go take a screeny in the other room on the mininer istelf, I assume that it's actually dropping the mem clock because when i drop it i loose 12°
I have an MSI 6990

http://imageshack.us/f/12/unlednfw.png/
As you can see here, i can put the mem clock Much lower, Or the core Much higher

Maybe MSI doesn't have this restriction.... I'll have to hunt one down.  Too bad I've sold 5 of them already without trying them... (to pay for 2 sapphire 6990s I kept for myself LOL) Smiley

Appreciate you posting this!

I am more than certain that it's not my specific cards, Have you gone into MSIa and under the EULA and typed:
[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

Once you do this you can set whatever clocks you want on whatever card you want, NOTE: MISa becomes very "tweaky" after you've done this, (EG: drag mem to lowest, Hit apply, Close misa, Reopen it, And it can go lower)

Yes, I surely do know how to use and setup/configure MSI AB for OC'ing. was one of the first things I learned when I started with bitcoins...

still, if you look through forums regarding 6990s you will see that people are unable to underclock memmory outside the parameters I mentioned.

I will hunt down an MSI board and see if it behaves differently.  Will post back here, but it may really take a while...

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 06:34:28 PM
 #29

I'll go take a screeny in the other room on the mininer istelf, I assume that it's actually dropping the mem clock because when i drop it i loose 12°
I have an MSI 6990

http://imageshack.us/f/12/unlednfw.png/
As you can see here, i can put the mem clock Much lower, Or the core Much higher

Maybe MSI doesn't have this restriction.... I'll have to hunt one down.  Too bad I've sold 5 of them already without trying them... (to pay for 2 sapphire 6990s I kept for myself LOL) Smiley

Appreciate you posting this!

I am more than certain that it's not my specific cards, Have you gone into MSIa and under the EULA and typed:
[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

Once you do this you can set whatever clocks you want on whatever card you want, NOTE: MISa becomes very "tweaky" after you've done this, (EG: drag mem to lowest, Hit apply, Close misa, Reopen it, And it can go lower)

Yes, I surely do know how to use and setup/configure MSI AB for OC'ing. was one of the first things I learned when I started with bitcoins...

still, if you look through forums regarding 6990s you will see that people are unable to underclock memmory outside the parameters I mentioned.

I will hunt down an MSI board and see if it behaves differently.  Will post back here, but it may really take a while...
Huh., Funny.
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127574
Usin this one

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!